We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I basically lived here for 2 months”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I basically lived here for 2 months”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I had long-term training in Sacto and was lucky enough to stay here for about 7 weeks last year. I loved it! There are good views of the river, downtown, and beyond. The pool is not spectacular, but it is there. There's self-serve laundry, but it is in a weird location (a unisex bathroom on the second floor). Speaking of location, this place has it! You can walk to almost anything downtown within 20 inutes, and it is basically part of the K-Street mall complex. I stay here whenever I have to travel to Sac for work. It's clean, classy, and all the staff are EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. No free breakfast, but the restaurant is decent. Yes, it's a Holiday Inn. and HI can range wildly in their cleanliness, decor, service, etc... Still, I highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChavaBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    171
    91
    25
    23
See reviews for
59
79
28
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capital Plaza is ideally sited for access to Old Sacramento, Sacramento Downtown Plaza, State Capitol and "Kay" Street Alley. For those up to the walk, the Convention Center is a walkable distance that will contribute to heart health. Hotel and Restaurant staff is helpful and friendly with accommodations that are comfortable and well equipped. Rooms that feature great beds, plenty of room space and free wi-fi connections. I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

No complaints. Front desk was quick to respond to my requests for extra pillows, WiFi worked perfectly, room service delivery was quick & friendly, room was clean & perfectly nice. A bonus is the Starbucks right in back of the hotel. A quirky highlight: The prime rib I ordered via room service was maybe the best prime rib I've ever had. So good I even told the manager about it,so she could pass the compliment to whomever cooked it.

About a 12-15 minute walk to the Capitol, walking distance to a Subway sandwich shop. Taxis available right out front during working hours.

I would stay again & recommend it as a solid, though not WOW!, hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I am so happy with my stay at this hotel.it was clean,friendly service,very close to awesome mall,old sacramento,starbucks coffee.My family(2yr. and 6 yr. old and husband) and I took the Amtrack train to this location and it was a five minute walk to this hotel and a five minute walk to old sacramento.The beds are soft and comfy.our room had an awesome view on the 15th floor,facing the downtown sac./sac river.I totally recommend this hotel and I will be returning.

Room Tip: get a room that faces the city and river on 15 or 16th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 735SharonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is great for a business trip. The location is good- right next to the mall, Old Town Sac, and the Capital building. However, the area is a little sketchy at night. The room was clean and a decent size. The in-room wi-fi was fast and reliable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The fitness center was small, but not very crowded, so there was always a machine available. The bed was not the most comfortable thing I've ever slept on, but it was fine. Overall, it was a clean, relatively expensive, and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nskinner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We were a walk in for a one night stay on a road trip. Check in was okay but not particularly friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable bed and clean. Although the location is great for old Sacramento it is right next to a shopping mall which felt a bit seedy and didn't feel comfortable walking through there. It is a conference centre as well so lots of conference attendees and we found people walking back to their room late at night were noisy and didn't seem to care about the other guests. Although okay, wouldn't return or recommend.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CD323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear CD323,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the rooms.

However, We’re sorry about the noise caused by the conference during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.
We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

For me service is one of the more important aspects of a hotel. Late at night, before going to bed at a foreign spot, I want to be treated like I should be there. One of the girls who work the desk there, Denisha I believe, needs to learn that lesson. She is extremely rude and quit frankly I don't understand how she still works in the service industry. Holiday Inn Corporate should take a look at her.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your comments regarding one of our associates. Our goal is to exceed the guest expectations and I apologize that we were unsuccessful in reaching that goal with you. Your comments will be shared and addressed accordingly. I hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to be of better service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sacramento hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#18 of 81 in Sacramento
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Address: 300 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#30 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing