We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and easy - great stay for the night...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Ranked #29 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quick and easy - great stay for the night...”
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Booked this last minute on Hotwire, our stay was very pleasant. Free WiFi, comfy bed, clean bath. Location on Downtown Plaza worked ok for us, a little more driving than we'd prefer, but parking was easy in the structure next door, $13 a night with in and outs (valet available for $15/night). The hotel is right by the freeway, up on the 10th floor noise was not a problem. Staff was helpful and efficient, we'd stay again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluestar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    172
    91
    25
    24
See reviews for
61
79
28
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

I spent 3 nights at the Holiday Inn - Capitol Plaza. They recently updated the room I was in with flat panel LCD TV, new bathroom, and a "signature bed". This made the usual 3 star Holiday Inn experience more like a 4 star hotel.

Parking was extremely limited so I elected to pay the valet rather than deal with self-parking (which wasn't free either). The "free high speed internet" ran at dial up speeds, so anyone who really needs high speed access is forced to pay for the upgraded service they offer.

Excellent downtown location, with easy walking access to Old Sacramento, the Railroad Museum and the bike trail that runs along the American River.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

I've stayed in 4 star hotels that weren't this nice. The front desk staff didn't bat an eye when I asked to be moved to a room farther away from the football team that was staying nearby.

I'd stay here any time I was in Sacramento.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominion08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Whenever I travel to Sacramento, which is at least a few times per year, I opt for the Capitol Plaza Holiday Inn. Forget the Sheraton, the Hyatt, etc. - this is the place. Ask for a room AWAY from the freeway, and you'll have blissful quiet (okay, maybe a light traffic hum). I have never had a problem here, and the staff has been very accomodating. Try the tortilla soup in the Cypress Grill Restaurant off the lobby - it's unspeakably good. Great location, walking distance to downtown, with a pleasant mall, the Downtown Plaza, right outside your door - movies, Macy's, a Doubleday Bookstore, etc. are all there. Clean, updated, friendly -and a good deal (especially if you can get the gov't rate!)! I've been going there for years and can't remember a single bad experience. Oh yeah - the old clock radios with their absurdly complicated controls have been replaced and are now much easier to set. A nice touch!

  • Liked — Being able to ask for a quiet room - and more often than not, getting one!
  • Disliked — They could use make-up/magnifying mirrors in the bathroom - a very minor complaint!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kac2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

The hotel is your typical Holiday Inn. However, the hotel gets five stars for 1) location and 2) its staff. As other reviewers have noted, you have direct access to the tunnel to Old Town and the Westfield Shopping Center (Starbucks, Macy's, etc). 5 Blocks away, you have the CA capitol at your feet, which is nice this time of year because the Christmas Tree. However, don't be walking around downtown at night by yourself. It's pretty desolate.

Now, if you are here the first weekend of December, most likely you are in town to run the CIM (California International Marathon). There are other hotels that are Marathon hotels; however, I recommend the Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza. First, they asked at check-in if I would need a late-check out (for a four hour long-distance runner this is awesome). I really just needed about 45 minutes, but they gave me 2 hours. Nice. My friend who stayed at the headquarter hotel told me her hotel was charging $25/hour for a late check out. Not so nice. The bus shuttle to the start was perfect from this hotel. I got on the bus quickly. My friend at the other hotel had to wait 20 minutes outside in the cold and dark before getting on a bus. Lastly, the staff were overall accommodating and making sure that my stay was a restful one. For the amount I paid for that night, I got away with a great deal.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Spotty places around the hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrackingMileage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We booked the railway package with the hotel directly and spent Labor Day weekend at Old Sacramento for the Gold Rush Days. The hotel location is convenient, just outside the side entrance is the walkway into Old Sacramento. Turn the other way and you find the entrance to Westfield Shopping Center.

We were given a room on the 15th floor. However, the key card didn't work and we were assigned another room on the same floor. We were able to see a little bit of Old Sacramento from our window. The room had two comfortable double beds and we were offered a choice of pillow types. The rooms look like they were renovated recently.

The staff are very friendly.

We had take out from the Cypress Grille for dinner which was ok. We had breakfast (which was better) in the dining room and unfortunately, the restaurant was understaffed. On Sunday, they offer a breakfast buffet and the regular menu. Had we known they were understaffed, we would have went the buffet route. Nevertheless, the waitstaff tried their best to serve their customers.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatty_Catty_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn because my husband was at a conference there.
It was a nice hotel, you expect a reasonable quality from Holiday Inn, but it did lack anything special. I think they should rename it "Business Inn", as there was not much to make it a holiday.... which is odd as they must cater for a lot of wives who are there because their husband is on business!! There really wasn't anywhere nice to sit and while away a moment with a cup of tea and a book... just the reception area or the pool.
The rooms were spacious, brilliantly clean, and the bed was very comfortable. There was some road noise from the highway..
The restaurant looked a bit formal, though there was a nice outdoor seating area. I did not try the restauant... it did not look really very inviting.
I had looked forward to relaxing by the pool, but it is hidden away on the 2nd floor, and is small, rectangular, and freezing cold. There are some loungers and chairs, but usually I was the only person up there. It felt an unloved area. Sunshine would be the only reason to go up there!!
The great thing about this hotel is that it is just a moment's walk away from Old Sacramento and the river in one direction, and Westfield mall, with Macy's and a handy Starbucks, in the other direction.
Old Sacramento is charming, dating back to the gold rush, and has wide boardwalks. There is a great restaurant with either a classy indoor area or a lovely outdoor area overlooking the river, with umbrellas to keep the evening sun off. Just lovely.
If we went again I probably wouldn't bother to rent a car... after driving from the airport, you hardly need to take the car out of the garage. You can walk to the Capitol building, the shops, Old Sac and the river. And you can take the train to San Francisco. But if we went again, I think I'd rather choose a hotel I liked and drive to the conference!!
The hotel has so much going for it, but just did not feel like a holiday.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank VancouverStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Address: 300 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#30 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing