We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walk to Old Sacramento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Great hotel. Close to Sacramento mall, Old Town, & Amtrak station. Everyone in Sacramento was friendly & helpful. The valet to the maids, & front desk people are really great! The restaurant made the last nights meal a fond memory. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yell0deere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
areno24, Area Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear Yell0Deere,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the time it takes all of our guests to write to us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to see that we exceeded your expectations while visiting Sacramento. Next time you come to town, if you have not already been, you may want to visit the Ca Railroad Museum in Old Sacramento, (we offer packages that may accommodate your family). We look forward to your next visit. Have a great Holiday Season.

Sincerely,
Aaron Reno
Area Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed here on our drive from LA to Reno. Picked here for the convience of location and access to mall and old Sac. Service was outstanding, cleanliness was great, and was relieved to have picked a hotel that didnt disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimlessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
areno24, Area Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear AimlessJ,

Thank you for taking the time to write to the hotel and share your most recent stay. We hope that you made it safe and sound to Reno and hope that you consider us in the future when traveling to the Sacramento Area.

Sincerely,

Aaron Reno
Area Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Location is good, however...
Don't eat dinner at the Cyprus Grille-worst food I have ever had.
Wireless internet is slower than dial-up. If you want to get any work done, don't stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
areno24, Area Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

Dear ToMoFo,

First I must apologize for not responding to your post earlier. Please not that your comments were shared with our Food and Beverage Team so that we may address any short comings that you may have experienced during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we are sorry that we did not meet the level of satisfaction we strive to achieve with every guest. Thank you again for taking the time to write to us.

Sincerely,

Aaron Reno
Area Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Liked the location - right next to the K Street Mall- there's a nice microbrew restaurant, where they also make their own root beer - delicious. The hotel was clean and quiet, with smooth professional service. I will say the pool was extremely disappointing - at first I thought it was a jacuzzi, it was so small. A concrete deck like a gym pool from the 40's. So don't bother taking your suit if you want to work out. Other than that, very nice accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdctosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We spent one night here before catching the train to Chicago. It was conveniently located next to a large shopping area and old town Sacramento. It was only a four block walk to the Amtrak station.

The room was clean and nice. Breakfast was good. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoefromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
areno24, Area Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2010

Dear JoefromOklahoma,

Thank you for taking the time share your thoughts from your resent stay. We appreciate your business and hope that you had a safe journey to Chicago. We hope that you keep us in mind when traveling to and from Sacramento. If you have any questions or additional concerns please let us know. Have a great summer and we look forward to your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Aaron Reno
Area Revenue Manager
Aaron.Reno@jqh.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Good hotel , convenient location (for shopping that is), good meal at the Cyprus Grill next door.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCTSRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
areno24, Area Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2010

Dear racyandbruce,

Thank you for taking the time to write the nice comments about our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Aaron Reno
Area Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Booked 10 days for a tenant due to construction on a rental unit. Recevied 3 days at AAA rate, other 7 days a full rate, no discount. Inquired via two faxed letters and two phone calls. Was told "too bad". What bad service. There are a lot of choices for hotels in Sacramento, and this old tired property with horrible service is one you should avoid. Owner John would be none too pleased with the "service" his customers are getting, because this customer will not be coming back. Try the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JB-Sacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#17 of 81 in Sacramento
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Address: 300 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#30 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £97 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing