We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersSilver level
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
“excellent customer service”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We recently spent 4 nights here for Navy ship reunion...my husband has some mobility challenges, staff went out of their way to accomodate his needs.....we had nearly all of our meals there including terrific breakfast buffets...the best part of the stay was the personal touch that staff brought to each guest, from the front desk to housekeeping and dining staff . We would definitely stay there again...

Room Tip: Ask to be on the inside of the building to avoid some freeway noise
See more room tips
Green Features: Attention was paid to conserving natural resources
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pchand, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We were honored to have your reunion at the hotel. We hope you can visit us again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    100
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
56
31
29
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

And a great time was had by all!!! Another one of our great reunions with the USS FLOYD B. PARKS DD884 shipmates and families. This hotel was just top notch from beginning to end. From the gorgeous hotel lobby to the large and spacious hospitality room and on to our sleeping rooms. We were greeted by the wonderful people at the front desk who checked us in flawlessly. Great job Parveen & staff. On to our sleeping rooms where we had plenty of room to spread out and the beds were awesome to rest on. Gave us a really good nights sleep. The restaurant served a great buffet breakfast and our gang took advantage of it daily. Be sure to try the "Turkey With An Attitude" sandwich for lunch....great!!! Of course everything is prepared by "Chef Troy" who is just the best ever. He does all sorts of amazing desserts and especially chocolate!! For our stay there, we worked with Convention Services Manager, Karen Grenz who was one step ahead of us at all times. If she can't do it, it can't be done. Brad Ross is the very best Director of Sales that we have been in touch with. Always, always, he made it possible in every way for us to stay at the Crowne Plaza in Sacramento. And finally, hotel manager, Tom Hagreen did it all including helping to serve our morning buffet to get us all on buses early for our trips and tours. If you are looking for a one stop hotel, this is the place. They will pamper you like you've always dreamed of and make sure you are taken care of completely. There is a neat swimming pool that many of our crew and their families took advantage of daily. They loved it. The lobby of this hotel is extremely spacious and has a media center in it also. Wi Fi is available throughout the hotel which was handy for all of our shipmates. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job on our rooms each day and were very friendly. This hotel is right off the freeway but not surrounded by the noise. Easy to get to and lots of parking. So if you are headed anywhere near Sacramento, please visit this Crowne Plaza on Date Ave and they will take very good care of you. Thank you so very much to all who took great care of our veterans and their families....you are THE BEST!!!.....hugs to all, Bill & Sue Birdsong

Room Tip: All rooms are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soonbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pchand, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Wow! How would you like a job helping us write our next brochure? We were honored to have your group with us. We could not have asked for a nicer group of people. Please, please, PLEASE come back and see us whenever you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel was nice and quiet, well-maintained. Sadly the pool was closed for about 36 hours during our stay because of some maintenance issues and I had really counted on it. I selected this place because it was near my aging mother's house and I flew down to visit her. I didn't want to rent a car and I am strong and it was in walking distance. There are lots of fast food places and chain stores which I do not consider a plus, but some do. There is some open space nearby and even a playground if you know where to look in the neighborhood. Restaurant in the building and a free drink as a welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We're very sorry that the pool was unavailable during your stay. We understand how frustrating that can be. Unfortunately; the work was necessary. We hope the weather will be nice enough for you to use the pool the next time you come to see your mother. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here one night with the hubby. It smells fresh and clean, the bed was comfy as we stayed in an executive king room, nice pool area. Only complaint is the place a $100 deposit on top of what the room is.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ols714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. The $100 deposit is in lieu of having a credit card on file for incidentals. We hope that it wa not an inconvenience for you.
Thanks again and please come see us whenever you're in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

So I had to book this room at last minute to be closer to my dad at the hospital and thinking I would stay at the same hotel as last time I changed my mind when I saw the rates were much lower here. Upon my arrival I recognized that I had been to this hotel before but did not recall it being a Crowne Plaza. My confusion was cleared up by the gentleman at the front desk who said it use to be a Holiday Inn but the changed it a couple of years ago. They did a nice job on the remodel with new everything except the actual structure itself. Staff was well dressed and friendly. Breakfast was decent you have to pay additional but it was hot and fresh, worth the extra if you have 2 people in the room. My only complaints is I housekeeping should pay a little more attention to detail when replacing coffee mugs in the rooms, and they should hire a bellman to take the bags up to the rooms due to fact people don't know how to drive the luggage carts and the walls and elevators were looking kinda of ugly with all the scratches. Overall I was very pleased and would return again especially if the prices stay below 90.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope your father is doing better. We are sharing your comments about the Housekeeping staff with our Executive Housekeeper. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that our staff will be happy to help you with your luggage at anytime. Just let us know at the Front Desk and we'll have someone to you immediately.
Thaks again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

To make a loooong story short...I changed my initial 3 days visit down to 2. Informed FD of the change at check-in, followed all requirements with booking site (Hotels.com) was ashured by FD Rep at check-out that all paperwork was recieved from Hotels.com and Mngr will finish & finalize the change in my stay come Monday then credit can be issued. I returned a week later for a 2nd stay spoke again with same FD Rep re: 1 night credit for the 2 seperate rooms we had booked. Again assured all was fine and that credits to my credit card thru Hotels.com may take some additional time. Well weeks later I get an email from Hotels.com that Crown Plaza has denied the credit request.
I emailed Crown Plaza cust. care and about a month later recieved a call from the General Mngr who basically called me a LIAR and denied the existence of ALL the employees that I spoke with during my 2 stays at the Crown Plaza and denied even the possibility of what I was told by the "ficticious employees" as true. The General Manager has show me by his rudeness and calling me a liar that Crown Plaza just tells their guests WHATEVER they want to hear at the moment to get THEIR $ but does not stand by their word. Finally I was offered 2 free nights at your SAC NE location. Why would I be FOOL enough to believe another employees word from this establishment????

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Pamela L,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guests services.

I am truly sorry for the lapse in service with reference to your reservation issues. We deeply regret the inconvenience this has caused you and the dissatisfaction you have encountered with our level of service. I apologize for the negative impressions you may have had.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Renovated hotel with easy access to the freeway under $100 a night - didn't think it was possible. This hotel proved me wrong. I stayed at this hotel many years ago when it was a questionable Holiday Inn. Crowne Plaza completely renovated the place and apart from the occasional odd color choices in public areas, rooms were comfortable, large and clean. Check-In and Check-out we're quick and easy; staff was pleasant and welcoming. Housekeeping was prompt (perhaps a bit too prompt knocking at 9am) and my room was cleaned well before I returned to it in the afternoon. Plenty of parking and a Starbucks just up the street too. The one drawback was a bit of noise I-80 which is just behind the hotel. Things did quiet down though and particularly when the AC was running, didn't bother me. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you with again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
1.5 mi away
Lions Gate Hotel - A Lexington Legacy Hotel
Lions Gate Hotel - A Lexington L...
#1 of 5 in North Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Sacramento
Ramada Sacramento
#52 of 81 in Sacramento
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
6.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sacramento

Property: Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Address: 5321 Date Ave, Sacramento, CA 95841-2512 (Formerly Holiday Inn Northeast Sacramento)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****The Hotel just finished multi-million dollar renovation*****Centrally located off I-80 and Madison Avenue, the Crowne Plaza Sacramento is situated between downtown Sacramento and Roseville. This Sacramento hotel is just 15 minutes from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and six miles from Cal Expo. The Crowne Plaza is a preferred hotel for McClellan Business Park travelers and those visiting the Natomas Business Park. Join us in our Arbor Grille© for fantastic California cuisine. Enjoy Arbor Grille for your favorite beverage and nightly drink specials. In-room dining is also available. Maintain your exercise regime in our workout room or visit California Family Fitness across the street at a special guest rate. Swim year round in our outdoor pool and relax in the whirlpool spa.Businesses near hotel: Northrup Grumman, Raytheon, Sears, Lowes, SBC, Hewlett Packard. Points of interest near hotel: Thunder Valley Casino, Sunrise Shopping Mall, Galleria Shopping Mall, Arden Faire Mall, American River College, Historic Old Sacramento, Cherry Island, Freedom Park, Maidu Park, Skatetown, Arco Arena, Sacramento State University. Recreation near hotel: Century movie theaters, Haggin Oaks Golf Courses, Scandia Miniature golf and batting cages, Mardi Gras Bowling Lanes, McClellan Aviation Museum, Discovery Museum Science & Space Center. Earn $25 of free gas daily reserve our Gasoline Packages today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing