We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable for the business traveler, and can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was speaking at a university, who put me up at the Hyatt. Located directly across from the state capitol, this is a sleek and well-appointed hotel.

The lobby has a long bar, with the right combination of privacy and buzz and a well-chosen wine list. The front desk has that international look, fitting for the capital of the seventh largest economy in the world.

Rooms have all the latest conveniences, with flatscreen television, a comfortable chaise lounge for reading (with a reading light, something many hotel designers forget), lots of outlets for the electronics well all burden ourselves with, and a very comfortable bed. Ask for one overlooking the state capital and its dome. I found that free wifi worked in my room.

I thought the buffet breakfast in the lobby lounge looked a bit spare for what they were asking, but there's a Starbucks just outside the hotel's front entrance where you can have caffeine and the chain's regular breakfast. Hotel wifi works there, too.

The front desk and bellhop staff could not have been more helpful, and were knowledgeable about the hotel, the neighborhood and the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, above tree level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations during your stay in Sacramento! I will definitely share your kind words with our Front Desk and Guest Services team. Thank you for posting your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,339 - 1,345 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

The room is nice, typical Hyatt. Beds are comfortable. This time I had quiet room at the end of the hall, probably upgraded because I am a Hyatt Gold Passport member. This is free and worthwhile. Did not receive my morning paper but minor problem. Breakfast is good but very overpriced. We had a working lunch at our meeting which was salad and several hot dishes which were flavorful. We have many vegetarians in our group and they can handle that type of service. Dawson's is of variable food consistency.The restaurant behind the Hyatt-Esquire Grill has had consistently good food. I would recommend it for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have park views but also may have some light/ noise from the driveway. Rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiqueen500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for being a member of our loyalty program, Gold Passport! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your meeting went smoothly. I will definitely share your feeback with our Banquet and Catering teams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for a conference, so my experience is not for the average tourist. The location is great - I had a huge window that overlooked Capitol Park. The leaves were changing, and those, coupled with the palm trees, made for a nice view. The room was big, well-appointed and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and took extra time to go through any questions I had (like helping me figure out transportation choices). The food was very good and they try to use local and organic ingredients as much as possible. The meeting rooms were nice and comfortable. A good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Capitol Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateZ1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review! I'm so glad you had the opportunity to visit while the Capitol Park transitioned in to Fall, it really is a lovely view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Recently enjoyed two nights at the Hyatt Regency in Sacramento. The service was outstanding. Very convenient to everything downtown. The rooms are very comfortable and great to do work in.
Ask for a higher floor with an odd number room, this will give you the views of the church.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd room number on higher floor, overlooking church. Beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your stay! I'm so glad you enjoyed your view of the church and get a little work done. We look forward to having you back as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel will nickel and dime you to death. All the extra charges are unreasonable and unnecessary. The restaurants in the hotel are obviously trying appeal to the Sacramento community and not the patrons of the hotel. The internet access is mediocre at best which is unacceptable when paying $15.00 dollars a day. The parking will cost you $17.00 a day to park your own car. There's a waiting list to have a refrigerator in you room, the air conditioning within the room is very loud and clunky and the street noise is unbearable. You can actually hear conversations that are happening outside the hotel on the street when your window is closed. I will never come back to this hotel or any Hyatt Regency and most importantly I will recommend to my Associates, Family, and Friends to stay clear of this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This is a well run hotel, with an incredibly well trained staff. Little touches like the desk clerk coming around the desk to hand you your key make all the difference in the world.

The breakfast buffet is wonderful, and the early morning service staff was excellent.

The food all around is great, and Dawson's is spectacular.

I agree with other reviewers that the guest rooms are noisy. You can hear what is going on in the next room pretty clearly.

Bedding and linens are very nice.

Enjoyed my stay very much.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank GWM160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for posting your review! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed one night at the Hyatt Regency in August for a business meeting. Enjoyed my stay. Staff was professional and friendly during both check-in and checking-out. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Located very close to the capitol building and within walking distance of several restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationkrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
3.3 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#18 of 82 in Sacramento
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £109 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the street from the California State Capitol and adjacent to the Sacramento Convention Center, our contemporary hotel in downtown Sacramento offers passionate hospitality and inviting spaces where everyone gets the VIP treatment. Designed for the modern traveler, our hotel features spacious rooms and suites, a fitness center, full-service spa, and resort-style pool with a hot tub and cabanas. When you want to explore the area, you're just steps from exciting shopping, theaters, landmarks, and popular attractions, like Old Sacramento and Golden 1 Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing