We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“jbudde-st. louis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Florissant, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“jbudde-st. louis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nice location since we were in Sacramento for the 39th Music Festival with largest # of venues in Old Sac. Also liked the free airport transportation.

Room Tip: We like rooms on the inside, back area of property, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank jbudde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear traveler,

We're so glad that our hotel worked for your music getaway. Thank you for leaving your comments andand tip. We hope you'll be back for the 40th Music Festival!

See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    381
    137
    55
    29
See reviews for
234
257
102
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

So it's 1139pm on a Tuesday night and the construction sight literally 10 steps from my room is unbearable!! I can't believe they started construction at 1030!! Who does that next to a hotel?? I reserved this room a week and a half ago an they didn't have the reservation right. I have a service dog and the girl Amanda nearly had a heart attack when I mentioned him. So much for super pet friendly. The other room I reserved for my mother and grandmother- I requested a handicap room, here we go again.. Amanda rather than being polite and just accommodating began talking badly about her fellow employees. Honestly, the room looked and smelled great but the terrible attitude and construction sight at the front door was beyond anything I have ever experienced. I wish I could record these men with their jackhammers!! Stay away from this place for the next few months there are plenty of other hotels on the area for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natigoosepoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while at our hotel. Unfortunately, while we do our best to accommodate our guests at check-in without any difficulties, occassionaly incidents occur. I was glad to hear there were no problems with the rooms you and your party occupied. The city road work underway at the time of your stay is now complete. Again I apologize of any problems that caused.

Providing service and facilities at the best level we can achieve is the highest of our priorities. We are committed to providing our guests the best for the price in our area and a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, NV
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I have reviewed this place before and I still love this hotel. I just wanted to let everyone know the Denny's next door is closed and there is no resturant there at this time. However you are so close to Old Sac there are plenty of other options and the free breakfast at the hotel is good.

We stayed on the pool side this time and enjoyed the pool.

Room Tip: The pool side is a little quiter, but you are still going to hear trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank CarsonCityDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your return visit with us. The hotel staff works hard to provide the best service to all of our guests and we so appreciate getting nice feedback from our guests. We're glad that everything was to your liking and that we could provide service and quality that is a step up from the norm. They are renovating the restaurant in front of the Inn which will reopen July 2, 2012 and I'm confident you'll be able to enjoy it on your next visit.

Hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is your basic inn with all the necessary amenities for vacationers. We liked being close to the Old Town that is highly entertaining for a day in Sacramento (fun shops and restaurants). Clean and a very nice welcoming staff, good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank georgiap947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thanks for letting others know what a great experience you had at our hotel. We work hard to provide an outstanding value and it's always nice to hear from another satisfied guest! We hope you will be back the next time you find yourselves in Sacramento.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Our family had traveled from Washington state to Visalia, CA for a funeral. On the way home, we decided to make the best of a bad situation by taking our teenage sons to Old Town Sacramento. The location of the Vagabond Inn was perfect. We pulled in very late and checked in to our room. The room itself was great. Because of the lower price and the fact that it was an older hotel, we didn't have high expectations, but we were pleasantly surprised to find an immaculately clean room with comfortable beds. We didn't have any problems with noise, and because of its proximity to Old Town, we planned to leave our car in the hotel parking lot while we went sightseeing. In addition, my husband and teenage sons thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

Unfortunately, we had one major problem. Sometime during the night, someone smashed in the back passenger window of our minivan and stole a suitcase and a backpack. Fortunately, we only lost clothes, a few public school textbooks, and my son's makeup homework. The hotel manager was incredibly apologetic, as well as helpful and kind. He not only called the police for us, but he also got us the number of a nearby glass company. In addition, he had his staff vacuum up all the glass and then he refunded cost of our stay. We think we were targeted for our Washington plates, and because the suitcase was visible. I probably wouldn't stay there again just because of that feeling you get when you've been robbed, but I think if your car was visibly empty, you probably wouldn't have a problem. The hotel was clean, included a great breakfast, was close to Old Town and the staff was awesome. Just make sure you don't leave ANYTHING in your car. (Which is probably good advice no matter where you stay!)

Room Tip: Park your car as close to the office as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This Vagabond Inn is centrally located very close to Old Town Sacramento and close to the State Capitol. The Westfield Mall is a block and a half away. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was a nice self serve buffet, we went back for seconds. We will stay at this Vagabond Inn on our next visit to Sacramento.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

The close proximity to Sacramento train station meant that this hotel was perfect for those of us without a car (however, the free parking was an obvious draw for those with vehicles). It is also within 5mins walk of Sacramento Old Town.
Very friendly staff and a typical-to-good breakfast for this sort of hotel. For anyone used to travelling in e.g. Europe, the rooms were pefectly spacious.
The only downside to this reasonably priced establishment is that it is located a good walk away from mid-town (at least 30mins) where most restaurants etc. are located in Sacramento. It is also not advised to walk this route in the dark as it is considered unsafe.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
38 Thank scotexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#18 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#17 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing