We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for a first timer in Sacramento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good for a first timer in Sacramento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was my first time in Sacramento and found the Vagabond to be a very good deal. Price was very good, and lived up to what I expected. The room is comfortable with a nice bed and in general, the room is very good. The outside is not as pretty, and I am not fond of breakfasts in a styrofoam dish, but it was ok. The service was very good, specially Patty at the front desk who went out of her way to assist us and I loved the location of the property, just a door step away to Old Town.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms right next to the pool area and get a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank crpuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your first time visit to Sacramento and our Vagabond Executive Inn. I appreciate your comments on our breakfast supplies; we are continuously working on new ways to delight our guests and add value to your stay.We have begun the process of switching to environmentally friendly dishware to reduce our use of styrofoam.

Thank you, also, for sharing your kind words about our staff, great value, comfortable rooms, and convenient location with other travelers. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you back in Sacramento soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    380
    137
    55
    29
See reviews for
234
257
102
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The best part of this hotel is by far locale and pool. Somewhat noisy because of proximity to freeway, but not too bad. Beds very comfortable, nice pillows, bonus points for providing conditioner. Three out of four lights in room didn't work, and on second day, Internet died despite trying to sign in again. I got a "try again later" from their connection page. Breakfast was pretty marginal. Two of the waffle machines out of three did not have a timer, so no way of knowing when done. They were out of bread by 9:30 and bagels stale. Hot tub was as warm as pool, so not much of a hot tub. But price was right and proximity to old town was great.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank tcwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay. We always appreciate constructive criticism and use it as an opportunity to improve. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our bedding and convenient location, but disappointed that you were unhappy with the breakfast buffet and some of our amenities.

We know our guests expect much more than just a clean room and a comfy bed. We are continuously working on ways to exceed our guests expectations during their stay, and hope you might consider giving us a second chance to show you what a great hotel we have.

As you'll see by our Trip Advisor rating and the majority of other guest reviews, we do offer a terrific value and guests have left great comments about the breakfast and room accommodations. We will look into all of the issues you have mentioned to determine where we may have gone wrong and what improvements we can make.

Thank you again for your feedback. Hope you'll visit us again and give us the opportunity to "wow" you with our service and amenities.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Friendly front desk staff (Janet & Patty); great breakfast; clean rooms with free wifi; a monthly business stop for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're thrilled to receive your high praises! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for other travelers. I will take great pride in sharing your nice sentiments with the staff. We hope to see you back in Sacramento soon!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The best part of a great overall experience at the Vagabond Inn Old Town Sacto is the wonderful customer service. Patty took the time to know me by name and exhibited the highest level of courteousness when attending to me. The rest of the staff is friendly and accommodating as well. Independent of this, I would like to acknowledge the airport pick up service, great breakfast, and the competitive prices as being contributing factors to my always choosing the Vagabond Inn at Old Town Sacto over other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank El Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Traveler,

We are always delighted to receive great reviews from our guests! Thank you for taking the time to tell other travelers about your positive experience and thank you for giving kudos to our Front Desk Representative, Patty. I will take great pleasure in passing along your kind words.

We're so glad we exceeded your expectations, as that is always our goal, and we hope to see you back in Sacramento soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,431 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,063 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location : it is very close to the train station , the old town and the highway and yet the noise level is very acceptable during the night . There is a good choice of restaurants in the Old Town nearby so if someone does not like to walk this neighborhood at night , the Old Town is only a 5 minutes walk from the hotel .
Service at the Vagabond Inn was excellent and the breakfast was good ! WI-FI was fast and did work in all parts of the hotel . The price was very good and only the fact that the room was very basic (but clean) did not award a 5 star rating

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We're glad to hear that you found our location convenient. We pride ourselves in our value and the amenities we offer such as free WiFi and an abundant breakfast that are appreciated by so many of our guests. I'm happy you had a comfortable stay. Please note that we are constantly updating and improving all aspects of the hotel and we hope that the location and services we offer bring you back again, soon.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nice location since we were in Sacramento for the 39th Music Festival with largest # of venues in Old Sac. Also liked the free airport transportation.

Room Tip: We like rooms on the inside, back area of property, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank jbudde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear traveler,

We're so glad that our hotel worked for your music getaway. Thank you for leaving your comments andand tip. We hope you'll be back for the 40th Music Festival!

See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

So it's 1139pm on a Tuesday night and the construction sight literally 10 steps from my room is unbearable!! I can't believe they started construction at 1030!! Who does that next to a hotel?? I reserved this room a week and a half ago an they didn't have the reservation right. I have a service dog and the girl Amanda nearly had a heart attack when I mentioned him. So much for super pet friendly. The other room I reserved for my mother and grandmother- I requested a handicap room, here we go again.. Amanda rather than being polite and just accommodating began talking badly about her fellow employees. Honestly, the room looked and smelled great but the terrible attitude and construction sight at the front door was beyond anything I have ever experienced. I wish I could record these men with their jackhammers!! Stay away from this place for the next few months there are plenty of other hotels on the area for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natigoosepoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while at our hotel. Unfortunately, while we do our best to accommodate our guests at check-in without any difficulties, occassionaly incidents occur. I was glad to hear there were no problems with the rooms you and your party occupied. The city road work underway at the time of your stay is now complete. Again I apologize of any problems that caused.

Providing service and facilities at the best level we can achieve is the highest of our priorities. We are committed to providing our guests the best for the price in our area and a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#18 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#17 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing