We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, & modest price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 5 April 2013

If you're priorities are clean, great location, & modest price, this is the place in near Old Town Sacramento. The room style and size were from another era, but it was spotless and the bed had a duvet. So it just depends on where your priorities are. The only down side, no pun intended, is that the toilet seat is a little too close to the water for a seated man.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsainta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We try and made sure all our guests are comfortable and well taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Friendly staff, clean, surprisingly spacious rooms and great location make this motel a great place for a one night visit. Very near the Old Town. Basic amenities but as expected bearing in mind the great value. Good breakfast included in price.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Thank You for giving our hotel a review, we welcome all comments and try to give our guests
a postive experience, We hope to see you again when you return to Sacramento.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I wasn't expecting much. The rate was amazing and it was close to all of my downtown appointments. The Vagabond was a pleasant surprise. Rooms was small, but was clean and well-maintained. Security on the outside doors was a plus. Lots of families staying while I was there which means it has a good reputation. Only steps from Old Sac, if that tacky tourist trap is of any interest to you. Complimentary breakfast was extensive. Would stay here again. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bingenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear Traveler,

Thanks for your review. You're exactly right! We offer all that a traveler could need, along with great service. We're so glad we met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you the next time you're in Sacramento. You might want to have a look at the Railroad Musuem in Sacramento, it's quite impressive.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

I have nothing negative to say. Needed a clean room at the right price as close to Old Town Sac as possible. This place fit the bill. Breakfast was average, and that is good.

You get 20% off your meal at Perko's Cafe next door. Food was ok, service very nice. Good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UncleRMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear UncleRMC,

We always try our best to maintain our service and quality. I am so glad our efforts resulted in such positive experience for you. Thanks very much for your comments and hope to see you back soon.

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband rode the train up there from the central valley. The hotel was right across the street from the train station, and right across from Old Town Sacramento. The staff was awesome. So easy to check in and the next day when we checked out they let us leave our luggage behind the counter till our train left later that day. It was a very nice relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tress D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Traveler,

We're thrilled to hear such a wonderful review about our hotel and staff. It is our pleasure to provide you with outstanding service and we always appreciate receiving the positive feedback. Hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

It was very average, close to airport an citys attractions not a vacation stay but good if you need to be in the area or on a business trip.Their breakfast was amazing, a lot of choices and cooked foods, best hotel breakfast ive ever had. The heat in the room was great!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Traveler,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our complimentary hot buffett breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Sacramento.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed one night at the Vagabond Executive, as part of a weekend trip on the Megabus. The hotel is very close to the Museums and Old Sacramento to the west, and just as close to Amtrak to the north. Everything we needed or wanted to see was within walking distance, a bonus, as we had left the car at home.
Check in was quick, in a welcoming lobby, with informative staff.
The room was clean and equipped with a hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge, TV, phone, alarm clock and microwave.
My kids made use of the outdoor pool, even with the outside temperature in the mid 40's (oh to be young), the housekeeper brought them warm towels fresh from the dryer, which was a nice touch.
The fitness room was well equipped, but a little cramped. More than 3 people in the room would be claustrophobic.
The outside patio will be a great extension to the breakfast room when its built in time for the spring weather, which brings me to the highlight of the hotel...
The free breakfast is GREAT value, fresh waffles, bread and bagels with a toaster, cereal, sausages, eggs, potatoes, fruit, yogurt, apple and orange juice and coffee. Its a great way to start the day, and end the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baddersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Traveler,

We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Vagabond Inn for your getaway. We are continuously working on new ways to delight our guests and add value to your stay. We are not only extending the patio area, but it will soon open to an upgraded pool area. Thank you for sharing your kind words about our staff and our free breakfast with other travelers. We appreciate your business and whether traveling by car, Megabus or train, we look forward to seeing you back in Sacramento soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#20 of 83 in Sacramento
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 83 in Sacramento
459 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 83 in Sacramento
294 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £77 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing