We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hit the jackpot with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I had never been to Sacramento before, so I wasn't sure about which Motel to choose. The reason for visiting: The California Railroad Museum. We brought our grandson on the Amtrak. It is an older Hotel, but very well kept up. The price was great, as was the service. The staff wasvery helpful and kind. Even being close to the freeway, we weren't bothered by noise. We were in the perfect location because we didn't have a car for almost a week, so we walked everywhere. The buffet breakfast was excellent, not just continental, but scrambled eggs/ham, sausages, potatoes and make your own waffles. I definitely would recommend the Vagabond Inn to anyone who wants to explore old town Sacramento. We will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, especially 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Vagabond Old Town. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is a nice, clean, friendly hotel that perfectly suited my needs. I traveled to Sacramento to visit relatives and museums. This hotel let me have a base to work from and for that it was perfect. It was quiet, clean, very comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. A warm breakfast and a continental breakfast is included. This makes the already reasonable price look even better. All in all it is just the right place to stay if you don't need lots of amenities and you want to visit the state capitol, museums and Old Sacramento.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayB621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for your review of Vagabond Inn. We are in a good location for visiting musuems as most are within walking distance. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town is a budget motel close to the freeway, so don't expect luxurious rooms or a hot-tub. But for the price paid, the Vagabond in Sacramento offers good service. clean rooms and a nice swimming pool. A small breakfast is included in the room rate. If you don't want to splash out on a expensive place and just want a good spot to spend the night, the Vagabond is a very good option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

I'm glad we were able to meet your needs while in Sacramento. We apprecicate you taking the time to review our hotel. If you're ever in need of a place to stay please remember us.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Not a great hotel, but half the price of the other hotels in the area, and that doesn't include parking (parking is free, you pay—through the nose, everywhere else). The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They are doing some work on the pool area, so I will cut them some slack on the Jacuzzi not being hot and the jets not working. Yeah, if I need to come back for another conference I'll stay here again. Did I (and everyone else) mention the location and breakfast?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannyLiestold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

i'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast. I'm sorry about the spa not working properly. We are working on the pool area. We do have a great location for guests who like to walk and see our great city.Thank You for the review and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We often stay here when visiting Old Sacramento. Rooms are around $90.00 and clean. They also offer free breakfast. We like to have fun and a few drinks and found Sacramento's last old saloon within a crawls distance from the hotel. The place is called River City Saloon and it's right past the parking structure across the street. We also like Fanny Ann's and a drink on the River Boat Delta King when there.

Room Tip: Get on 2nd floor for security reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank You for the review.I'm so glad you enjoyed the breakfast.Its always nice to hear that the staff is making our guests feel welcome.At Vagabond Inn that our goal is to make everyone feel right at home. Please come back and see us when you visit Sacramento again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We chose this hotel because it is close to Old Sacramento and it's price.

It beat expectations. Room is basic but does everything you need-even a microwave. Bed was very comfortable, TV large enough to watch whilst lounging in bed.

Best of all the price includes a buffet breakfast. And it was nice! Fruit, cereals, fruit juice, hot food ...... We really enjoyed it.

Service was excellent.

Great and we'll certainly check out other Vagabond Inns during our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

We welcome all comments from our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit Sacramento and the Vagabond Executive again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

If you're priorities are clean, great location, & modest price, this is the place in near Old Town Sacramento. The room style and size were from another era, but it was spotless and the bed had a duvet. So it just depends on where your priorities are. The only down side, no pun intended, is that the toilet seat is a little too close to the water for a seated man.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsainta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We try and made sure all our guests are comfortable and well taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#18 of 83 in Sacramento
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 83 in Sacramento
1,804 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 83 in Sacramento
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £73 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing