We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was visiting Sacramento on business and wanted to be close to downtown and Old Town. I chose the hotel on a travel website. The hotel was easy to find and centrally located. When I checked in, the desk person was great. You can tell he took pride in his position as well as the hotel. I had a room on the 2nd floor. The room was nice and the bed was great. I had enough room to store 2 expensive bicycles inside instead of leaving them on the racks. The TV was great and the free wi fi worked well. Even though the hotel is located adjacent to Interstate 5, the room was quiet. The air conditioner worked well and was quiet. It wasn't like some more expensive hotels I have stayed where the air sounded like a washing machine running all night. The room was very clean. The breakfast was good. I walked to Old Town and had dinner with friends. My business meeting was at 9:30 am . The hotel desk manager was happy to give me an extended check out time at 1:00pm. The pool area was going through a remodel, but was still open.
I will stay there again when I am in Sacramento. I have stayed at 5 star hotels. This one although not a 5 star beat several of them out, hands down. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the north side. Second or third floor is good because you don't have foot tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let other travelers know about our hotel. We appreciate knowing how our guest felt about there stay. The young man at the desk is Julio. He has been with us for 9 years and really takes good care of our guests. Thank you again and hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    381
    137
    55
    29
See reviews for
234
257
102
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Free shuttle service, a serious breakfast, reliable wifi, nice rooms, and everything else you might need in a hotel for an outstanding value.

It's still a little rough around the edges but people like Dennis and the outstanding extra amenities make it more than worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raykluender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for wonderful comment about your stay and Dennis our Shuttle driver. I'm very glad that you enjoyed our valued amenities and wonderful service. We are still in the process of updating the Hotel and would like you to see the new features the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We thought this was an excellent tourist hotel in Sacramento for the following reasons:

Clean and updated, albeit smallish, but very affordable rooms; well-maintained swimming pool and hot tub; very helpful front desk; refer and microwave; a very comfortable bed; free parking; you can walk to most major attractions (Railroad Museum, Delta King, State Capitol, CA History Museum, Crocker Art Museum, Old Town, Chinatown, the riverfront); there's a well equipped workout room; a hot tasty breakfast every morning and delicious freshly baked cookies every afternoon, but if you want a change, try Perko's Grill next door. You will get 20% off your entire bill by showing them your room key. We ate there twice and loved it.

It's an older property that gets a workout because of the above reasons, but the staff is trying very hard to keep this place nice. We recommend it and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back on the south side next to Chinatown; we watched Chinese elders do tai chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comment about our property. We very glad to that you enjoyed our clean rooms, Amenities, property location and our On site restaurant Perko's Grill. The Chinatown center is a great Historical section in Downtown Sacramento and provides a nice area to walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Vagabond Inn for my girlfriends birthday. We wanted to go to a nice dinner in downtown Sacramento and follow up the evening with a baseball game at the river cats. The price and location of the hotel fit our budget perfect, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a very nice hotel with very clean and comfortable room. The rooms had their own fridges, microwaves, and were clean and tidy. The customer service was excellent, from the front desk allowing us to check in early, to the wonderful customer shuttle the hotel offers taking us both to dinner downtown, picking us up, and dropping us off at the river cats stadium. The shuttle service just added to the amazing value, and our driver, who must be mentioned, Dennis, was an all around awesome person, very customer oriented, helpful, great personality, and I wish I had more money to give him an even bigger tip. The hotel is a wonderful value, with great customer service, and the managers at the hotel should know Dennis is the man, and deserves a raise. Because of his service and his attitude, accompanied by his hard work, I will recommend your hotel to anyone and everyone who is thinking of staying in old town.
Thanks guys!!!

Room Tip: I couldn't say, we only stayed in the one room on the third floor, It was very nice, so I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh6-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you very much for writing a wonderful comment about Dennis, the staff and your stay at our property. I would like to personally thank you for being our valued guest and the opportunity to have provided you and your girlfriend with a convenient and enjoyable stay during the occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was on a one night trip to Sacto and mostly just needed a one night crash pad. Its been years, but I knew the Vagabond was right off of downtown, walking distance to Old Sac so figured I’d make it my crash pad. The rates were competitive to other places in downtown, my AAA rate was applicable which made it even better. I was pleased to see it was fairly well maintained, the front desk area nice, an internet room, and a spacious breakfast area for their hot breakfast and coffee.
The property is older, but appears to have been recently upgraded in furnishings and interior décor. The rooms nicely have a good size fridge and a microwave (darn it if this time I forgot my popcorn, oh well, put it back on my packing list!). The bed was comfortable, well made and clean. The bathroom suffers from the usual older property challenges in fixtures and design, but I’m happy as long as it is clean and functional.
Location is great if you are planning on visiting old Sacramento, Train Museum (one of the best in Calif), or have to connect to the Amtrak station (across the street). I didn’t note too much outside noise, but can imagine a light sleeper might just due to its central location. The Downtown Plaza Mall is down the block with plenty of shopping, a brew pub, and food court, also convenient for the traveler on a budget.
So fine for an overnight stay, and probably good for an extended stay if you are there to see the sights.

Room Tip: South side is NOT facing train station, might be better for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runnner226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Your review of the Vagabond is appreciated. It lets other travelers learn about our hotel and also surrounding areas. Next time you stay ask at the desk about popcorn. We sometimes keep some on hand at the desk and we're always happy to share.
Thank you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was very nervous about staying here on our drive to Palm Springs but the low price was so attractive we rolled the dice. It wasn't the nicest hotel that I've stayed at but it definitely wasn't the worst. The hotel is quite old reminiscent of the 60's when I used to travel with my family as a kid. The rooms are clean and the staff was very nice. The breakfast was basic but better than some that I've had at hotels and paid much more for. All in all it was a good value for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate all comments from our guest and try to make sure our guests have a plesant experience while staying at the Vagabond.Hope you come back while visiting or passing thru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Vagabond is a great place to stay. Clean rooms, nice breakfast, and friendly staff. Short walk to Old Sacramento easy access to "J" street and freeways. I have stayed at several of the hotels in the area and the Vagabond is the best deal. Free wifi, free parking, free shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the nice comments. We know our guests have many choices for lodging in Sacramento, so we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.We are always happy to hear our guests enjoyed the breakfast and other amenities we have to offer. Please come see us again when ever you are in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#18 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#17 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing