We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I arrived early (7AM) on the train from Portland. Amtrak station is walking distance to the Inn! We were cordially greeted and allowed to store our luggage and enjoy the complimentary breakfast, which was fantastic. The staff from beginning to end was wonderful to work with. I would recommend this Inn without hesitation! Thank you Vagabond~!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yehezkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your singing review! We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us, and especially our lovely staff! We do hope we will see you again on your next visit to Sacramento!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a handicapped room because it hurt me to walk so I needed parking next to our room. I was pleased with the accommodations. The room is small but sufficient. The bathroom is large but included a bathtub with fold down seat instead of a roll in shower. For us that was just fine. I love a fold down seat. But wheel chair accessible?

The closet was low inside a large cabinet. Easy access from a wheelchair. The huge cabinet was in need of several REPAIRS to the finish which is cracked and split and not very nice to look at. I was surprised the management would allow that to go this long.

The BED WAS HIGH. Actually a little high for me to sit on easily with my hip hurting and I'm 5'7". It's not the highest bed but in a handicapped room I would think they would have the lower bed for easy access! Just a thought?

The location is awesome close to Old Sac. The Perkos restaurant was good. They give a discount with your key card. But honestly the real kick was the COOKIES at the front desk,!every day baked fresh!!! And their FULL HOT BREAKFAST WAS FANTASTIC! Not rolls and juice...real breakfast! We were impressed.

We love Old Sac and will stay at this Vagabond the next time we are through town!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us. We do have a wheel chair accessible shower in one of our rooms, which can be assigned upon request, advanced notification is appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to see you again on your next visit to Sacramento!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Nice and clean. No complaints, except we were in the first room by the breakfast area. Not recommended if you want to sleep in. As if the people talking werent enough, someone started taking the aluminium cans out of the trash, Clash, bang, clash, bang . . . you get the idea. Overall a nice inexpensive place a real short cab ride from Old Town.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and do apologize for the unfortunate noise level you had to endure in the morning. We do hope you will come stay with us again on your next visit to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very clean, excellent shuttle, delicious breakfast, everything is very good. Next visit, I will choose this hotel. And rooms on the south side are quieter, corner suites are large and sunny, higher floors have less A/C unit noise.

Room Tip: Very clean, excellent shuttle, delicious breakfast, everything is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jianjun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your singing review! We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us, and that you intend to come stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sacramento!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I would definitely stay here again. Free shuttle to and from the airport, good continental breakfast (eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, freshly made muffins, etc.), and friendly staff. The rooms were clean and the hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MirandaRedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your singing review! We are elated to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us, and that our staff, shuttle and complementary full hot breakfast was able to improve it for you. We do hope you will come visit us again on your next trip to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Arrived July 2nd on Amtrak's California Zephyr -- excellent trip overnight from Denver using roomette and spending our waking hours in the glass-topped lounge car, taking in the dramatic scenery. Highly recommend. Food very good in dining car, too -- included if ticket price if you buy sleeping accommodations.

Hotel is across the street from the train station. (You can see it as you walk out the station's main entrance.) We stayed there once before and were more pleased this time. It's not luxury, but is clean, very conveniently located for Old Town and the world-class CA State RR Museum, has a very friendly staff and free shuttle service to/from the airport/rental cars. Nice small outdoor pool, too. Good breakfast with a terrific staff member in charge. Free WiFi in room, too.

Room Tip: Two-story motel. Room access from outside. Had no concerns for safety. Motel property fenced in. Out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JHF08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our many services and amenities were able to improve the stay for you! We do hope you will come visit us again on your next visit to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This place was a great value and was very quick walk to old town & train station. Loved the fact that just across the street through city parking garage your at the old town shopping area. I was kind of disappointed that we could not check in because the room was not ready but offered us parking in the hotel parking lot. Beds comfy. Slept well and pillows good. Room was clean but could use new carpeting, ours had stains. & burnt marks in vanity area. Fresh paint or fix wallpaper because it was pealing near seams and re caulking of tub enclosure. Could use new vanity area. Black build up sound caulk. Few cracked tiles but at least clean. Over all comfortable stay. Our room was across the pool. Not to bad. Just a pile of cardboard & trash bags in front of our area but finally picked up after 7 pm. The place offered popcorn to snack on. If you want to have a place to lay your head for the night and a convenient place, stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chich68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, our beds and convenient locations included. We do apologize for any inconveniences and do hold ourselves to a high standard of cleanliness and upkeep, if you could contact us with the room number we would love to find all the issues you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 82 in Sacramento
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 82 in Sacramento
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#17 of 82 in Sacramento
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £79 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing