We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“nice stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2009

During a trip through the West of the USA I stayed in the Vagabond Inn Old Town for one night. It is a nice simple no frills motel close to the historic old town on my way to Lake Tahoe. Their are a few restaurants and pubs close by and a Denny's is next door. The shopping mall is only blocks away. Sacramento is a nice place to stay for a few days. The rooms in the Vagabond are spacious with airco (much needed in Sacramento) and very clean. The price is low and use of the Internet (WIFI and fixed) is free. Only the breakfast could have included a few more items. And it was a pity that the swimming pool was closed. It looked quite attractive on a hot day. The could have been a discount for this slight discomfort. I will recommend this Vagabond in Sacramento to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    383
    138
    57
    29
See reviews for
235
263
102
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This hotel is basic but fine. It is within waling distance of the Old Town Sacramento. staff are friendly, free parking, complimentary breakfast or Dennys is next door. No safe in the rooms. Rooms were clean.


If coming to sacramento for a holiday you only need one night here..................... not much to do. Old Town is worth a wonder as it has quirky shops and some bars. Be warned ............ bars can close at 9pm! There is a Macys here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
35 Thank NLBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

A better than usual motel in an unrivalled city centre location. The Vagabond Inn is so convenient that it is only a couple of minutes walk in one direction to the Old Town, and in the other to Downtown and the modern shopping centre. Plenty of parking on site (you are given a pass on check-in) but would be useful as well for Amtrak arrivals.
So location is the number one selling point, but it’s not a bad property in its own right. Very friendly check-in, good sized clean room with all the usual amenities. Although the motel is rifght by the interstate, this didn't seem to be a problem. No wi-fi, but internet available in the lobby. A very acceptable breakfast in a nice room, looked after by a sweet elderly lady. Best of all after a heavy days sightseeing in August is a pool with a useful number of sun loungers.
Sacramento is a lovely city with somewhat of a European feel, I suppose because all the main attractions are within walking distance. We did the Railroad Museum. State Capitol, Old Town, Shopping Centre and the River Cruise all in one day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
41 Thank Loz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 23 September 2009
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Sacramento and I would like to thank you for staying at the Vagabond and writing a review. Hope you will visit us again when you're in Sacramento

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

If you want to get any sleep, do not allow them to put you in on the Denny's side of the hotel. I was there on Saturday night and had room 203. At about 2:00am I was woken up by LOUD music and LOUD people! Everyone that went drinking in Old Town goes to Denny’s at 2:00am.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobber73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

You could not ask for a better spot. Parking is fee and on site, great continental breakfast (offers more than most inexpensive motels), location is walking distance to Old Sacramento...
Walk through parking garage across the street to access Old Sac near the train museum.
Walking distance to the Crocker Museum. Worth a visit and free from 10-1 on Sundays. Beautiful collection and sweet docents.

Vagabond Inn was excellent value and location was ideal

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
40 Thank milosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

The other reviews are accurate for this Vagabond. Noise can be heard from the freeway and we did hear a late night/early morning train whistle as it passed through the area.

The hotel is close to Old Sacramento and the attractions. The room was what we would expect for the price. The shower did not have a lot of pressure and the showerhead is not mounted high on the wall. If you are six feet or taller, you may need to crouch down a little. The free continental breakfast and waffles were just fine. The pool was also nice and our overall experience was positive. Overall a good choice for a hotel close to the Old Sacramento attractions at an affordable price.

If you have a laptop and plan to use the Internet, you will need to have an Ethernet cable as they do not have wireless Internet. The front desk may have a spare cable if you don't have one. Just remember to return it when you are done or they will charge you $20.00 for a replacement.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank SanDiegoNetworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Thank You for staying with us on your trip to Sacramento and taking the time to write the review. We do welcome all comments from our guests to improve on our services. We
hope you will visit Sacramento and the hotel
again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton. PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here one night, the last of a six day trip to California. I booked the room because it was inexpensive, and we just needed some sleep before leaving from Sacramento Airport in the morning. We came in late at night. The man at the desk was pleasant and helpful. The room was superior to many others I have stayed in for the same price. It was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The proximity of the hotel to I-5 made it an easy 10 minute drive to the airport. If I were visiting Sacramento for several days, I would definitely consider staying at the Vagabond, as it is within walking distance to Old Town Sacramento, the Capitol and other sights.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
41 Thank SteveExton_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#18 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing