We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, great, but really noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Walking distance to Train Museum, Old Town. Clean, great A/C. Nice pool. Terrific free Continental Breakfast - Belgian waffles! Only stayed one night - good beds - my only complaint was LOTS of freeway and train noise (directly off freeway, across from Amtrak station) , and shouting party-goers late into the night (It was a Saturday night, and we were on the corner room by the stairs facing the Old Town area - interior rooms might be better insulated) Overall a good experience, though. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank kkjimspq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2007

I was in Sacramento for just one night and the Vagabond Inn was great. It's within easy walking distance of Old Town, Downtown, a Dennys, a movie theater, and a mall of sorts. I had plenty to do (even without a car). The complimentary airport shuttle was very convenient, too, although I had some problems finding where to meet the shuttle -- this was probably due more to my exhaustion than the staff's directions, though. The room was very clean, I enjoyed having a refrigerator in the room (leftovers from dinner stayed fresh), and the front desk staff was extremely nice, even arranging for a taxi for me the following morning. I highly recommend staying at the Vagabond Inn. It's not terribly fancy and it might be a bit loud for some (the freeway is right next door, though, so it wasn't a suprise that there was some noise!), but for the price I paid, it was a superb deal! I would stay there again if I ever go back to Sacramento.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
40  Thank calipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2006

Vagabond Inn Executive was very nice, stayed their 2 nights tried to stay a couple of more nights, the office people were not very helpful they wanted to increase the price by more than $25 per night. They would not even discuss it with me. So I went to another nice hotel that I got less expensive and just as nice.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BigD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2006

I normally stay at other places when I have to go to Sacramento. But they were booked so I decided to try the Vagabond again
(I stayed there many years ago). This is an older three story hotel that is very close to Old Sacramento and convenient to shopping and the capital.

The only real negative is this is a noisy hotel. Large single pane windows and location are the reasons. I just ran the fan it didn’t bother me much.

Good things include: Pretty nice free breakfast-Free parking (You pay at the Holiday Inn across the street)-Next door to Denny’s- Free internet computers by office-cookies at check in- USA Today Newspaper-microwave and refer in the room.

The room was pretty much the standard fare, it was fine. I used the exercise room. It’s tiny but has a few decent pieces of equip but has no TV.

Now this is not a fancy romantic place. Nor is it a classy business hotel. But it’s not bad and worked for me. I’ll stay there again if I can’t get in to my first choice. It’s a two star in my view.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
34  Thank Visalia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

We stayed at 3 hotels during our trip to the States last October. This hotel was the worst. Ok so it's fairly cheap for the location but I'll list what bothered me to warn you:
The bathroom smelt of urine although I couldn't find exact source.
The breakfast was a choice of all carbs or carbs & manky fruit. Yeah the waffles are great but not advisable if you're trying to stay slim, they certainly don't constitute a nutritional breakfast.
The street noise was terrible. The hotel is surrounded by busy roads that never sleep, they say Las Vegas never sleeps but that's nothing compared to here.
The doors have those electronic swipe card locks, which is normally ok but not in our room. The keys failed numerous times so we had to keep going to reception to have the keys "re-set". Then, just when I was in a hurry to get changed when getting back from the shops because I needed to be somewhere, my key totally failed, nobody could help me because the battery in the lock had died! I had to wait half an hour for a technician to come but it was too late.
The mattress had been over-used by heavy people, it was like trying to sleep in a bath-tub.
When I peeled back the bedspread on our first night I encountered a short black curly hair on the blanket underneath. Enough said.
Next time I'll pay that bit extra and stay at the Holiday Inn or the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dannikitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stumbled upon this hotel as we were returning back from our trip and found it comfortable and good value. The hotel is right off the highway and is on a busy street but the traffic didn't bother us too much. It is conveniently located close to Old Sacramento which is worth a look.
Nice pool area and patio, plus it has free computers to use with internet access, bonus!
The most surprising part of the stay was the complimentary breakfast! They had waffle makers, which you can make your own, toast, harboiled eggs, fruit, baked goods, cereal, yogurt etc... nice job!
We paid just over $80 for the night and found it to be a great value and good place to stay for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
38  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

Location of this hotel is excellent for visiting the Old Town and for walking to the downtown area. (Kids also loved the Denny's right next door).
Room was a reasonable size and we easily fitted in the rollaway which was provided immediately upon our request.
Pool area is very pleasant with areas for sitting and sunbathing.
The complimentary cookies were lovely as were the waffles our teenagers made themselves for breakfast.
Would stay there again with one caveat - wouldn't necessarily wish to visit Sacramento again - not much to do.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
40  Thank Mawdesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 82 in Sacramento
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#17 of 82 in Sacramento
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £85 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing