We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From Courtesy To Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From Courtesy To Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I love staying here at the Fairfield Inn, Cal Expo Sacramento because of a myriad of things. Mostly, the comfort of the rooms and beds is comparable to that of the more expensive Courtyard. The amenities are there, and the facility is always clean, well stocked and has the friendliest staff ever!! They are professional, courteous, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. They have gone out of their way to help when they did not have to. There is a train that goes through every once in a while, but not to the point where the building shakes, and it distracts you from sleeping. And, the comfort level of the bed cancels out any quick train noise that may occur. The complimentary breakfast is robust and filling, making one feel like they are getting their monies worth. I am a return customer and will continue to be so. Kudos to the Fairfield Inn Cal Expo Sacramento! Keep It Up!

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms are more quiet for adults with no children which are usually on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GonzoGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    52
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
32
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We are Marriott Rewards Members and we mostly stay at Marriott on all the different point levels. So we are familiar with them and have come to expect a certain standard. We have always found Fairfield Inns to be a good value with excellent rooms and amenities for the price. So with that in mind, I'm sorry to say this property is in need of some serious upgrades. First let me say that the staff was excellent and professional, and they worked hard to accommodated our Gold Member preferences. We always appreciate that attention to details for their preferred members. Makes things nicer and easier for us.

But here are the issues...
I didn't so much mind the old furniture; it's in good shape and clean. But my issue is with the bedding! The mattress was super comfortable, but the quilt is RIDICULOUS! The stuffing has matted into firm, visible balls in the middle of each square of the quilt! It was a crazy, lumpy mess that was totally obvious to see. If we'd gotten into our room earlier than midnight, I would have asked for something different. Thing is, I'm pretty shocked that housekeeping has let a comforter like this be used. It was soooo uncomfortable all night. I had an empty spot of sheeting on my shoulder, but a hard, 4inch matted ball of batting on my face! The whole quilt was like this. Terrible. We eventually looked for a blanket, which we found in a drawer instead of the closet, and it was not in a plastic cover (a normal thing for Marriott).

The towels were clean, but old and thin. More like the towels in a cheapie motel, not normal for a Marriott. Breakfast was the traditional eggs, sausage, waffles, hot oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, fruit, muffins, etc. Works for me on my low carb diet.

Anyway, I'm thankful our room was clean and the mattress was comfortable, but the crazy quilt needs to be thrown out! I would not stay here again until upgrades are made.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uphilldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle
Level Contributor
290 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

If you are sensitive to the sounds of trains and the railroad, you may want to book elsewhere. Although the hotel is sensible enough to leave earplugs in the room, I found the sound disrupting. Property is adequate, rates are reasonable, staff is friendly and there is no getting around a train passing at both midnight and four AM.
My initial review was refused... I find that interesting.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel in another part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idahotraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for the Horse Expo, two nights. Basic breakfast which was fine, clean comfortable beds and the A/C worked well considering it was 108 outside. The A/C is wall mounted and has an up and down arrow for you to press to adjust your thermostat. Didn't find it difficult. Will stay here again when I need to stay in the Cal Expo area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

From the moment we walked in the front door, we were treated with care and friendliness. Everyone on the staff was helpful and made us feel welcome and relaxed. Anytime we needed information or anything else, Anita and Montquia took care of us so willingly. The room was luxurious and had everything we could need. (Thanks Adelia and Lucero for the attention given our room). The breakfast included lots of variety. We were there 4 mornings and had planned on going elsewhere for a couple days for a change of pace. We opted to stay at this hotel each morning because there were so many choices and it was such a pleasant place to be. It was easy to get around Sacramento because of the complimentary shuttle service and Dino and Dennis made sure we got to the places we wanted to see (as well as giving us some great suggestions)! We will definitely stay at this same hotel on a return trip to Sacramento.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were in Sacramento to attend an event at the Cal Expo and chose this hotel over the neighboring Courtyard because of the free continental breakfast. (With kids, you've gotta have quick and easy access to food in the morning!) It's your standard discount hotel continental breakfast with white bread products, well-waxed fruit, sugary cereals and lots of little plastic containers (butter, jam, syrup, cream) that all get tossed in the garbage. ( Lots of waste - something American hotels need to modify.) We had a typical 2 queen bed room on the first floor. The hotel is basically surrounded by parking lots and an office building, so there's no views to be had. A train runs nearby (frequently, although not disruptively) and the I-80 on ramps are about a block away. The A/C worked great, although it's controlled by a wall thermostat with lots of buttons and no instructions. The first night I apparently turned it off and we over-heated (it was 100 degrees outside). Beds were fine. Bathroom was fine, although towels were thin and scratchy. Pool was small with basically no shade (did I mention it was 100 degrees?!) but fine for the kids. Everything looked clean and well kept and there were no surprises.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVMarinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I absolutely loved the Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo! The hotel staff were so kind and helpful. Being at the hotel for state competitions for National History Day, there were many kids at the hotel, but the staff embraced the kids and their families. The complimentary breakfast was a plus for our busy, long days of competing. The pool and hot tub was smothered by the kids but the staff and other visitors did not mind at all! The rooms were very clean and well-sized, only request is a tv guide. All of the kids and families loved the hotel, and thank you Fairfield Cal Expo for a great weekend! Will stay here again for sure. A+++++++++++++++++++

Room Tip: cookies are available in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caltraveler123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
0.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
1.7 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1780 Tribute Rd, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Fairfield Sacramento
Sacramento Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing