We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
San Lorenzo, California
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Hotel is very well clean and has a easy access from the freeway. But most of all, the staff (Kenn O., Dinno and Brad) went out of their way to make it a well pleasurable trip for our volleyball club visiting from the Bay Area. I fully recommend this Hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    56
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
34
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

When we travel, there's only one hotel we have in mind and that's Marriott. Our stay in Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo was a great experience. Comfortable bed, soft pillows, clean linens and spacious room. Add to the mix the very good service. They acted very quickly when we requested for extra towels. Food was great. All these make them stand out among the rest.
Dinno Perez, the hotel's Chief Engineer, was very gracious to show our way around.
We look forward to our next stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a really great experience. They just redecorated with new carpet and wall paper. The beds were the most comfortable beds I've ever seen in a hotel. The staff was helpful, especially Brendan, the night staff. When we checked in late at night and needed extras pillows, he was so accommodating. Hotel is very clean. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed at this pleasant and cost effective motel after a very unrestful night at the Courtyard across the parking lot. Quiet, clean with an above average breakfast. Desk clerk's and breakfast crew were exceptional in their eagerness to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpd119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When you enter a chain hotel, there are standard amenities you get everywhere, however on rare occassions you get something provided that is really odd. On entering this room, there was the obligatory shampoo, coffee maker, etc and in addition ear plugs. Yes that is correct, disposable foam ear plugs. I thought this is odd. However it didn't take long to find out why. The hotel (including the Courtyard and Town Place which share the same property) are almost right beside a busy train track and crossing. Its not just the rumble of trains hear day and night, it is the blowing of the horns at the crossing that occurs also. While the ear plugs are a nice thing to offer, if you are a light sleeper in all honesty, you should stay someplace else.

Outside of that, the hotel is undergoing a remodeling, and it was in progress while I was there. It wasn't finished, but it was far enough along to know it is a pretty significant upgrade and modernization. What has been done is very nice and the potential from a facility perspective is good when it will finish. New carpets, wallpaper, upgraded rooms etc. Thus this part of the experience is getting better and has great potential. Breakfast was standard and comparable to other Fairfields, and the employees were friendly.

In fairness I wouldn't stay here again, mostly because of the train noise. The physical plant will eventually be OK, but I'd want a quieter location and they do exist in the Sacramento area. So given a choice I'd find another location. I know that might seem a little harsh, especially since the hotel can't control the noise, but it is what it is.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC30319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne S, Operations Manager at Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. You mentioned you were shocked to see earplugs in our rooms; they are there in an effort to make your stay more comfortable in the event you are a light sleeper. Unfortunately, we have no control over the trains blowing their whistle and by law they have to make their presence know when they come to a public crossing.
We are sorry to hear that this made for a bad experience and would encourage you to give us another try. The rooms on the south side of the hotel tends to hear the least amount of train noise.
Thank you for your compliments regarding our renovation, we are very pleased with the results as well.
Sincerely,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel was built in 1979 and last renovated in 2006. The age shows everywhere. Furniture is outdated, carpets in rooms are dirty (new in hallways), bathrooms extremely small, windows not soundproof, walls between rooms very thin. The building is close to a busy railway and the trains blow their horns all day and night. It is hard to get a room without loud train noise - even for Marriott Platinum members, as I experienced just a few days ago. For what you get the room rate is too high in relation to other options in Sacramento. Compared with the more modern Fairfield Inn & Suites hotels the Cal Expo property is definitely below average. I can not recommend it. If you need to stay in this (unattractive) area, go for the Courtyard or Towne Place next door. They are newer and better hotels while the train noise is less intrusive.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel has less train noise but no rooms with King size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne S, Operations Manager at Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of the Fairfield Inn on Trip Advisor. We're extremely sorry you were so disappointed with our property.
We are in the process of a new face You mentioned we had new carpet in the hallways; since your visit all guest rooms have had new carpet installed and we are currently adding new wallpaper to the guest rooms. New furniture for our lobby and a Market will be the next phase of our renovation. We hope you have a chance to come back and experience all the positive changes.
We wish we had power over the train noise, but by law they are required to sound their horn at a public crossing. For future reference, the south side of the building seems to hear the least amount of noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A two day stay included having ants on the walls, the furniture and the desk. An earlier reviewer is correct, we had complimentary earplugs included with the room also. The shower area of the bathroom had peeling wallpaper and the ceiling over the bed was badly stained. The towels were extremely thin and well past their useful life. In addition, the carpet between the beds contained a crushed cookie when we checked in and it was still there after the room was "cleaned" for the second time. If the company wasn't paying for the room we would have left. If another room had been available perhaps we would have at least escaped the ants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobPY3431YU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1780 Tribute Rd, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Fairfield Sacramento
Sacramento Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing