We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

I just returned from 3 days at this hotel for business and was curious to know if other traveler's impressions of this place mirrored mine.... and they do. This hotel is old, shabby, hard to find (no sign on the front of the hotel), carpeting was filthy and stained, no wireless internet, and despite a giant empty parking lot you still had to pay for parking. I think it's funny that management posts responses on trip advisor regarding all the bad reviews, yet the hotel is STILL bad. I do have to say that the staff was really nice and the warm cookie at check in was a nice touch and the room was good sized, but i would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTSacramento, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, 18 April 2011
Dear Baskaat-

Thank-you for taking the time to review the DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento! We are a large hotel spread out over 17 acres of land with multiple buildings. I am sorry the hotel was not up to par as expected. We are working on a new signage package for the entrance of the hotel and we have just completed an install of 37" flat screen with Direct HDTV satellite service to all guestrooms. We use these responses as a tool for improvement. Thank-you again for staying at our hotel and we hope that you can make your way here again!

DT Sacramento Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    370
    242
    145
    87
See reviews for
211
131
73
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

I booked this hotel thru Expedia and was pleased with the initial price and location. That was about all that was good. My hotel room heater smelled like burnig plastic all night and my whole family work up with sore throats from it. The hotel tried to triple charge me for internet usage - and you actually had to plug your computer into the wall to receive the internet. (no wireless) The plug was to short to reach the bed, so was inconvenient. When I went to check out - I was notified of a $6.00 per night parking charge for their parking lot - Ok - where else was I supposed to park and we received one incoming phone call for 26 seconds which they charged me $6.07 for - I absolutley hate it when Hotels nickle and dime you for fees they do not disclose. When I complained about the smell in the room, the desk manager was less than helpful.. Won't stay again, even if it was a "good price"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fido1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTSacramento, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, 18 April 2011
Dear Winejunkies-

Thank-you for your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento! I am sorry that our desk manager did not meet your expectations regarding the issues during your stay. We missed our opportunity to WOW you! I wanted to let you know that we have refunded your credit card on file for your incidental charges and you should see a credit in your account in the next 7-10 business days. We hope that you may choose our hotel again in the future, when you travel back to the Sacramento area.

DT Sacramento Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I stayed two nights at this hotel. The first night was for business, the second night my wife drove down to join me in Sacramento so that we could have a nice dinner at Enotria and go to the Crocker.

I actually liked this hotel. The meals I had in the hotel restaurant were all excellent (if pricy), and the staff was always very friendly. The rooms were nice (though no wifi) and 'clean'. Big HD TV. It was quiet and I slept well.

I thought we'd had a great experience... until we got home and my wife complained of several itchy bites on her back. A quick internet search determined that they were certainly from beg bugs. Wonderful. Now our house is probably infested. We tossed all of our clothes in the washer, but our coats and bags can't be washed. God only knows if we'll be itching for months because of this one night. Thanks Doubletree!

Bottom line: If you have any choice whatsoever, AVOID this hotel unless you want bed bugs. In that case, I can recommend it highly. The prime rib is great.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTSacramento, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear ATDunn- We would like to take this opportunity to thank-you for your response! We take these kinds of issues to heart and we will be researching this room. We do have preventive and maintenance procedures in place, should a pest such as this occur. We hope that, should you visit Sacramento again, that you may try our hotel.

Thank-you again~

DT Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I travel quite a bit for work and stay at Hilton brand hotels all the time. This hotel is my least favorite. All the previous Hilton brand hotels I've stayed at usually honor my preferences in my Hilton Honors profile. I like being on a high floor and my room was on the first floor. Granted there are only three floors, but it's a matter of principle.

I called front desk to ask if they had available rooms with flat screen tvs and he informed me that all the rooms still have the old tvs and not all buildings have gotten new tvs. I wouldn't have a problem with the tv if the website didn't show the queen room with a flat screen tv. In my opinion it's false advertising.

In the bathroom, there was an empty soap carton left on the sink and it just didn't feel like the bathroom was cleaned thoroughly. I don't think the carpet was thoroughly vacuumed because when I walked around barefoot when I first got there, I could feel crumbs/debris on the floor.

And the oddest thing, at previous DoubleTree's I've stayed at I usually get a welcome letter in my room thanking me for being a loyal guest and silver member. None of that here, but maybe I was expecting too much.

The front desk associate didn't even acknowledge he had my Hilton Honors number on file, which most do. I don't get the point of this DoubleTree having a Hilton Honors carpet and line when they don't even do anything special for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbg34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTSacramento, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear cmgb34-

We would like to take this opportunity to thank-you for your response! We are extremely disappointed that you have gone unnoticed as a valued guest. We missed our opportunity to WOW you. Currently, our Front Desk team is going through a retraining of our Hilton Honors program to ensure that each and every member is recognized for their status. We hope that when you visit Sacramento in the future, that you might give our hotel a try again, to see our improvement!

Thank-you again!

DT Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

I have stayed at this hotel before and did not have any major problems with service or cleanliness. However, this time was a different story! There was food on the floor when we checked in the room and it was not cleaned up for 3 days ( I had to call the main number for Doubletree Hotels to get any response.) The sheets did not fit the bed (too small), the lighting was poor, and the room was just not clean.
Also, the hotel now charges $6 to park and this is not valet parking!
Hotel checkout receipts that were not ours were slipped under our door and when we requested ours, it took 3 calls to the front desk to finally get the bill delivered. Although the hotel is conveniently located, I would never stay here again and would definitely not recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTSacramento, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the lack of cleanliness and receipt mix-up during your visit here with us. We have forwarded these issues (lighting, parking, cleanliness and service), to the appropriate manger’s to ensure we learn from our mistakes. We hope that when you choose Sacramento again, that you might try our hotel again, so that we can give you the “10” service as expected. We would like to thank-you again for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxnard
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 5 days. I woke un in the morning with itching bites on my neck and legs. My coworker saw bedbugs on her bed and had to have room change. I was awakened to barking dogs in the next room - IN A HOTEL! Other coworkers were also awakended by barking dogs and were on different wings than I was. Another coworker found a mouse in her room. I called guest services to request non feather pillows when I arrived and after many hours and three phone calls, I finally received the pillows, after the time I would have gone to sleep.
I didn't like to pay for parking and then enter my distant wing at the back of the hotel where there were no lights to direct my way - very unsafe. I was in the Sutter... wing. The manager in the cafe was rude and I chose to leave the restaurant.
Most hotels that I stay in have free wireless internet, hated to pay $10 a day for internet.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTSacramento, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for all of the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay! We have let you down and did not uphold our promised “10” service as expected. We will bring these issues (lighting, barking dog, pests) to the attention of the appropriate manager’s, so that we can learn from our mistakes. We would like to thank-you again for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento and we hope to see you again some day, so that we can WOW you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel every year for the past ten years or so. I'm originally from the Sacramento area and when this facility opened as the Red Lion, it was one of the best hotels in the Sacramento area.

We have just returned from a two-night stay and I can honestly say that it will probably be the last. The hotel has now implemented valet parking, so the main parking lot is now off limits to guests who happen to be renting a vehicle. You must pay a $6 per day charge to park far away from your room. The parking lot which is not valet has NO handicapped spaces, and there are only two in the valet area. My wife has a placard due to her arthritic knees, but we weren't able to use it at this hotel.

The rooms are old, but are decent sized. We are Hilton Diamond members, and received an upgrade in the Cal Expo wing. When my wife took her bath, the water wouldn't stay in the tub, and the water was tepid at best. After calling the front desk and asking for a stopper, the engineer finally called back in a half hour telling me that he didn't have any stoppers, and wanted to attempt to repair the tub at 10:00 at night. I told him I'd just put a washcloth in the tub and hopefully it would keep the tub from emptying. So we stayed for two days with lukewarm water and a malfunctioning tub.

On the day we checked out, I went to retrieve our rental car and my parking stub that I had been using would not open the gate so I could leave. I got a "time expired" message on the screen at the gate. I pushed the call button several times and got no response. I parked by car and walked to the front desk. The desk attendant issued me another stub and I walked back to the car. When I inserted this stub into the machine it read "no data" on the screen. Again I pressed the call button several times and got no reply. I made a second trip to the front desk and was given a stub that finally worked.

This hotel needs to be more conscious of the inconvenience it is imposing on its guests for the short term benefit of having valet parking. This hotel hosts dances on Thursday and Saturday nights and possibly the valet parking might be beneficial and profitable for them on two or three nights of the week, but I wonder if the manager ever tried to walk back to his room in the rain or at least tried to operate the call box to see if it was operational? I doubt it.

We always looked forward to our stay in this hotel as it is close to two of our kid's homes. We will be staying at other Hilton family hotels in the area, but not this one. I would not recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cacheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTSacramento, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for all of the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay! We have let you down and did not uphold our promised “10” service as expected. We will bring these issues to the attention of the appropriate manager’s, so that we can learn from our mistakes. We would like to thank-you again for choosing Doubletree Hotel Sacramento and we hope to see you again some day, so that we can WOW you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
6.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Address: 2001 Point West Way, Sacramento, CA 95815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento is a full-service, environmentally friendly hotel in Sacramento, centrally located to all of the exciting attractions and happenings in Sacramento. Located in the Point West Marketplace, our Sacramento hotel is within walking distance to the region's largest shopping mall, Arden Fair, featuring over 165 specialty stores. The Sacramento area welcomes business and leisure travelers with award-winning shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Conveniently located off Business 80, our hotel is just 5 minutes from downtown Sacramento, the State Capitol, Sacramento Convention Center, and Old Sacramento. We are 12 miles from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and provide convenient, ample parking. Boasting some of the largest guest rooms in Sacramento, each of our 448 non-smoking beautifully appointed rooms offers brand new Sweet Dream beds, an ergonomically designed workstation equipped with a two line phone and voicemail, and Internet service. Amenities include a hairdryer, luxurious bath amenities, an iron and ironing board, an alarm clock with MP3 connection, a flat screen TV with a variety of cable channels, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Doubletree
Doubletree Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing