We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arden Star Hotel(Sacramento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,476)
Filter reviews
1,476 results
Traveller rating
468
446
276
173
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
446
276
173
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treeelephant barmall across the streetwarm cookiesarden fair malllarge hotelstate fairparking feebusiness tripcal exponice staybed was comfortablesacramento areaconferencebanquetrefrigeratorcalifornia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,317 - 1,322 of 1,476 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Wow, I don’t even know where to begin. In a word, this hotel is disgusting. First, I was given no soap with which to take a shower when I got in at 2 am. The next day of my stay, luckily enough, I did get soap, but then noticed that the shower curtain was covered in disgusting black splotches everywhere and smelled heavily of mildew as if someone had used it to clean out the piping to the toilet and hung it back up. Second, the air conditioning was laughable. This is Sacramento. It was 97 degrees outside and I had the air on at 61 and on “high” and it never stopped being anything but sweltering in my room. Third, I called the hotel before I arrived and asked if the internet in the rooms was free and I was assured that it was. As it turns out, however, that was a lie. You must pay for the internet in the rooms. Fourth, I have never slept on a less comfortable bed. I have several sores along my body where springs poked into me all night. Half the channels on the TV didn’t work- no nickelodeon, no comedy central. I wondered about amenities in the hotel, but the book explaining all of that in the room had half the pages ripped out. The pages that were there referred me to a card on my desk that simply wasn’t there. Fifth, the walls are paper thin. If your neighbor is watching gay porn at 3 am on full blast, well, so are you and your kids. Oh yeah, they charge you $8 per day to park in the parking lot of the hotel. Otherwise, you have to park on the street and hike up to the hotel with all your bags. The worst part about that is that there is a huge parking lot in front of the hotel that is chained off and unused. I guess they couldn't find a way to install pay kiosks out front. So, in order to charge everyone for parking, they removed the best parking at the hotel, just to force anyone unfortunate enough to stay here to pay for parking. This is Sacramento and the hotel isn’t in the nicest part of town either . . . I worried all night about my rental car being broken into or stolen. I’ve stayed in lots of hotels in Sacramento and never had one charge for parking. It’s ridiculous to charge for it. I can stay at hotels for half the price and get free parking and free internet and clean shower curtains. Unfortunately, I booked the hotel through hotwire, so I didn’t know what I was getting into. So, avoid “three star” hotels in the arden area if you’re booking on hotwire and stay away from this nightmare of a hotel. I called their "care line" only to be told that because I had booked on hotwire, they could not refund my stay. They offered to move me to another room, but I told them that the problem was obviously with the hotel and so they did nothing for me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davemang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We deeply apologize for the troubles you went through. Please understand that we are looking into the issues that you mentioned, and they will be addressed appropriately. We hope that you'll give us another chance so we may make up to you for the experiences you had. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night recently. I was disgusted by the hair I found everywhere in the bathroom. There was a used Qtip on the floor near the sink and a used wash cloth hanging over the shower curtain bar. There was so much lint and dirt on the carpet I kept my shoes on. The linens smelled clean and I HOPE they were but I won't stay at this hotel again. There was a buildup of soapscum and dirt around the faucet and trash under the desk. What the heck?

Room Tip: Don't stayuntil they clean the place up!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you went through during your stay. Please let us know how we may make it up to you! We hope that you'll join us again soon, so we may show you the world-class-service we hope to portray to each guest. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Recently stayed a long weekend at this Doubletree Hilton property. The location is good if your destination is CalExpo, which is about a 10 minute walk through a residential neighborhood. Basically, you turn right from the lobby and walk down Point West Way, turn left on Response Road, right on Heritage and you’re at CalExpo.

If you need to shop for anything, Arden Fair Mall is within sight in the other direction though across a busy multi-lane roadway. Downtown isn’t too far away though not exactly what I would call convenient and if that was my destination I would probably select from one of the many lodging choices there.

The property is “gi-normous” as the front desk staff who checked me in described and also the TripAdvisor reviewers have commented upon. The guest rooms are in wings that radiate like wheel spokes from the main building which has the lobby and restaurant. Parking is charged and you get a card that lets you out of the gated parking. I believe they charge you for internet access, which seems petty given the prevalent practice in the hotel industry. They have a business center, exercise area, and a pool.

The pool seemed popular especially among children that weekend. The grounds seemed clutter free and I only saw one guest all weekend smoking outside the doors. My check in and check out were problem free and the desk staff was courteous and efficient. Who doesn’t appreciate a warm just-baked cookie upon arrival? They also keep a refreshment station by the front door with lemon water and so forth, which is a blessing on a hot day. The weekend I was there, many guests seemed to be part of a conference or club of some kind.

I did not have any problems with my room which was clean and well kept. Rooms even have a balcony though I didn’t see anyone using them. It wasn’t particularly quiet and from my room I could literally hear every little sound from the halls – the sounds even seemed amplified -- like the ice cubes creaking in the ice machine, the other guests going in and out of the rooms, the staff going about their business and every word of their conversations, the t.v. of a guest down the hall through their room door and mine.

In summary, I recommend this property primarily for access to CalExpo. I wasn’t thrilled with the parking charge, the internet charge, and the hallway-noise-amplifying rooms. However, the location is good, the neighborhood safe, and the physical plant quite nice. If I had future business requiring access to CalExpo, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the front desk staff's directions. They give you a little map of the property with your key card.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J13345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if you encountered issues with noise or if any of the charges seemed unreasonable. We look forward to your return, and hope that you'll join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We chose the Double Tree because of the close proximity to Cal Expo/State Fair. With daily meetings at the Fair it was great to use the free shuttle the Double Tree offers guests. Not only are the shuttle drivers welcoming and friendly but the cookies they tempt guests with are delicious! Overall the staff is excellent. Coming back late one evening we opted to just get a snack rather than a full meal. Even though it was late, the lovely hostess at the coffee bar offered to get us fresh made sandwiches (with big, juicy tomatoes) to take to our room. Another nice touch is the complimentary ice cold lemonade in the lobby, very refreshing when coming in from the 100* heat! Appreciated the very nice Crabtree & Evelyn bath amenities, too. The only negative issue we had was with the noise outside our room. Unfortunately we faced Arden Way, a busy thoroughfare. Next time we'll ask for a room facing the courtyard instead.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Arden Way can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, and especially the cookies. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. We hope to see you again soon, and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Using Hotwire I got a good price but did not know the hotel name or exact location untill it was done with no refund possible. I did not like the location. It was hard to find and traffic was a mess. I also got stuck with a $8 a day parking charge. Staff was less help than at most other hotels. Room was clean but getting my baggage from the parking to an elevator was not the easiest. I had to drag my bags up a short flight of stairs from the parking lot or park in front and drag everything through the lobby and halls and elevators to my room and then go back and park in the lot and still climb the parking stairs to the first floor elevator. Have bad knees for stairs so maybe others would like the exercise of lugging bags up stairs from the parking. Room average but small. No microwave or small refrig. For $158 per night I think that should have been included. First stay at Doubletree but not impressed at all. Average I guess but I do not intend to go back. Did not think it was very kid/family friendly either.

Room Tip: No good advice here
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specialgeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews