We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for Convention centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quality Inn Downtown
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best value for Convention centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am just repeating other reviews but i highly recommend this place if you want clean , friendly basic accommodations. From Sacramento Convention Center. Quality Inn was two blocks away, with many good restaurants nearby. Price was fantastic, Rooms were recently redone. At first glance it might turn you off because it is located off a back alley. Once inside the lobby or rooms is is just fine. The breakfast was very basic but fresh.

Room Tip: Not a big tip because you will discover that if you exit at the opposite end of the lobby you can cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel44jllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    49
    29
    9
    15
See reviews for
20
26
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you are looking for a budget hotel by the convention center, this is definitely the one to pick! There's not a lot to say about the rooms - they are about what you would expect. I was pleasantly surprised to find a mini fridge and a microwave in my room though - which are apparently in all the rooms - and the shower was pretty nice.

What really stood out was the staff. The front desk was very helpful throughout my 4 day stay, and when I ordered an extra blanket it was at my door within 5 minutes. The complementary breakfast included cereal, toast, yogurt, fresh waffles, fresh fruit hash browns and sausage.

The location was also PERFECT, with lots of eating options within a few blocks. I'll definitely be staying here again the next time I have an expo to attend at the convention center!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Attending Granddaughter's weekend volleyball tournament at Sacramento Convention Center. Quality Inn was two blocks away, with many good restaurants nearby. Price was fantastic, especially since needed 2 rooms. Wasn't a 5 star hotel but was clean, newly refurbished and front desk staff were exceptional. Parked car on Friday evening and didn't use it again until ready to leave on Sunday. Also for extra $6 were allowed to leave car in parking area until 6:00 p.m. rather than the normal 12:00p.m. Yes, were some sirens and one noise incidence when bars closed, but nothing you wouldn't expect in downtown area of major city. We will stay here again if have future tournaments scheduled for this area.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on north end, they are furthest from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions now, and have been very happy both times. The rooms have recently been renovated and are very clean and comfortable.

My room was very nice, clean and spacious. The bedding and pillows made for a nice rest and the room was very quiet. The morning breakfast offered a nice variety and was a great compliment to the stay.

The location is also very nice, with restaurants, nightlife and shopping being within walking distance. If you travel for business, the Capital Complex is also close by.

I give this a high rating due to its cost to value ratio. While they may not offer all the amenities of some higher end hotels, what they do offer is very well done.

Room Tip: If you like morning light, I suggest requesting a third floor room. Other than that, their rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Got a room here for one of our occasional jaunts to Sacramento for clubbing. It was cheap and close to Midtown, so it fit what we generally look for.

It was a million times better than we expected!

Frances checked us in and was efficient and friendly. She gave us info about the wifi and breakfast and even got us rooms next to each other.

The rooms were recently remodeled and smelled new. Spotlessly clean and the TALLEST BED EVAR. Very comfy bed. Fridge and microwave.

Wifi actually worked perfectly the whole time we were there. THAT is saying a lot for a cheap hotel.

It got a little loud between 2am & 3am due to other (drunk) hotel guests. But it still felt pretty safe, even for being downtown-ish. Have to use your key to get into the elevator, BTW, so there was no bum urine in it. Elevator was kinda old and creaky, but not terrifyingly so.

The next morning we came down for breakfast and used the WAFFLE MACHINE to make our own waffles. Awesome. Breakfast also included coffee, instant oatmeal/cereal, oranges, yogurt, juice, pastries, sausages & hashbrown patties. Pretty darn good for a cheap hotel breakfast if you are used to the standard "cheese horn".

The young man checking us out was also really nice and efficient. Great staff!

Yeah, this is the ONLY place I will stay from now on in Sacramento!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMStaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at this property. The room we stayed in was renovated and smelled still new. The bed was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Martin was very nice to work with and very accommodating. It is very close to all downtown centers with free parking and hot breakfast! We would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redding
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This place is dirty and smelly. The bathroom had bugars on the walls, long black hairs and there were long hairs on the towels. The bedspread was dirty and gross. The staff was rude and began calling nonstop at 11 am to kick us out on new years day even though we checked in late. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank autumnmeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#37 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.1 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#40 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown

Property: Quality Inn Downtown
Address: 818 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Hotel Sacramento
Quality Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing