We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quality Inn Downtown
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were looking for a decently priced hotel, last minute, for just one night and this one was perfect. The hotel is basically in an alley so that is not as ideal, but the staff was nice, room was spacious and clean. It was perfect for last minute short stay. Right in the middle of downtown so walking distance to a lot of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    49
    29
    8
    15
See reviews for
20
26
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This property looks a little scary. Everything is barred up and it's outside entrance rooms. Walking distance to good food and things to do, but just old and kinda run down. Surprisingly, when you close your door, the room itself was very clean and apparently updated. I wouldn't want to stay here long though. Rough part of town and very old and rundown exterior. To spend 1 night, it was ok, but that's about all I'd do here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D28martin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

You never know what you're going to get when you use hotels in this price range in rather sketchy parts of town (and this part of town is somewhat sketchy). But the rooms are clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the entire experience satisfactory. If I were to return to Sacramento, I'd not hesitate to stay here again.

There are plenty of very good eating places within walking distance, and the Old Sacramento tourist area is very close. There are multiple national and local coffee places very near. The staff at the front desk was able to offer suggestions.

It's not a perfect hotel, but it's pretty darn good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekinwilliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am just repeating other reviews but i highly recommend this place if you want clean , friendly basic accommodations. From Sacramento Convention Center. Quality Inn was two blocks away, with many good restaurants nearby. Price was fantastic, Rooms were recently redone. At first glance it might turn you off because it is located off a back alley. Once inside the lobby or rooms is is just fine. The breakfast was very basic but fresh.

Room Tip: Not a big tip because you will discover that if you exit at the opposite end of the lobby you can cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel44jllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you are looking for a budget hotel by the convention center, this is definitely the one to pick! There's not a lot to say about the rooms - they are about what you would expect. I was pleasantly surprised to find a mini fridge and a microwave in my room though - which are apparently in all the rooms - and the shower was pretty nice.

What really stood out was the staff. The front desk was very helpful throughout my 4 day stay, and when I ordered an extra blanket it was at my door within 5 minutes. The complementary breakfast included cereal, toast, yogurt, fresh waffles, fresh fruit hash browns and sausage.

The location was also PERFECT, with lots of eating options within a few blocks. I'll definitely be staying here again the next time I have an expo to attend at the convention center!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Attending Granddaughter's weekend volleyball tournament at Sacramento Convention Center. Quality Inn was two blocks away, with many good restaurants nearby. Price was fantastic, especially since needed 2 rooms. Wasn't a 5 star hotel but was clean, newly refurbished and front desk staff were exceptional. Parked car on Friday evening and didn't use it again until ready to leave on Sunday. Also for extra $6 were allowed to leave car in parking area until 6:00 p.m. rather than the normal 12:00p.m. Yes, were some sirens and one noise incidence when bars closed, but nothing you wouldn't expect in downtown area of major city. We will stay here again if have future tournaments scheduled for this area.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on north end, they are furthest from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions now, and have been very happy both times. The rooms have recently been renovated and are very clean and comfortable.

My room was very nice, clean and spacious. The bedding and pillows made for a nice rest and the room was very quiet. The morning breakfast offered a nice variety and was a great compliment to the stay.

The location is also very nice, with restaurants, nightlife and shopping being within walking distance. If you travel for business, the Capital Complex is also close by.

I give this a high rating due to its cost to value ratio. While they may not offer all the amenities of some higher end hotels, what they do offer is very well done.

Room Tip: If you like morning light, I suggest requesting a third floor room. Other than that, their rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#36 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.1 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#40 of 80 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown

Property: Quality Inn Downtown
Address: 818 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Hotel Sacramento
Quality Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing