We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating staff. Clean rooms. Great Price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here a couple of nights for business. The staff was very kind and accommodating with all my requests. The rooms are spacious and clean (seemed to be recently remodeled). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank want2gosomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors, Public Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thank you so much for kind and generous comments about your recent stay at the Governors Inn Hotel. We strive to exceed every guest's expectation when they stay with us. As you noted, the rooms in our hotel have been recently updated with new carpeting, paint, linens and other upgrades. We have received numerous compliments on our new look. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Governors Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

We booked this hotel hotel through a private party booking service so right off we didn't know what we were going to get. When we got to the hotel we were like it looks ok so we started in. Very very nice! We went up to the room and it was very very nice and spacious. We have a 2 year old and that was a very good feature. He was able to run and jump around as if he was at home. The only thing I think needs improvment in the Contintal Breakfast. We went down expecting a really nice breakfast bar seeing how nice the rest of the hotel is. We were very disappointed :( and thats the only thing I found wrong. I would most definitely book this hotel whenever i'm in Sacremento.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDUBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors, Public Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the Governors Inn Hotel. We take great pride in ensuring every guest has a great experience with us. We are always looking to improve our breakfast bar and appreciate your feedback. Last year we added hot waffles and Seattle's Best Coffee to our continental breakfast menu. We also converted two conference rooms to accommodate a larger breakfast area and added a large screen TV. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I reserved this hotel through a blind bid on Priceline.com. I was a little concerned after winning the bid and reading the reviews for this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised after getting to the location. The hotel was clean, well kept, and recently remodeled. They offered a nice breakfast of danishes, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, waffles, instant oatmeal, toast, and cold cereal. It was plenty for a free breakfast! The safty issue seemed to be a concern for others, but I found the hotel to be safe. It closed and locked the back gate at night and had an iron fence around the property. I did not see any homeless as stated in other reviews. The pool was nice, still a little cold for me but my kids enjoyed it. The spa was nice. Overall, I wanted to post since I thought this hotel got a bad rap from previous posts. Oh....and the beds were comfortable, I didnt notice a noise problem since we sleep with the AC on.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdorsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors, Public Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thank you so much for your review of the Governors Inn Hotel. Our owners and staff take great pride in exceeding the expectations of our hotel guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

This place was very clean and quiet (despite being very close to I-5). With free parking, free wireless, and a continental breakfast, it was a fabulous value for the money! The shower was spacious and the water pressure great, and I really like having a refrigerator in the room. If you're looking for a place with character that is within walking distance of restaurants, this is not it. But if you're looking for something with just the basics -- but the basics done well -- this is the place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

If you like sleeping in the ghetto than this hotel is for you. It is in a terrible location, police station next door, Super 8 across the street and a ton of homeless people sleeping outside. Certainly did not feel safe leaving the hotel at night.

The rooms are mediocre, there is a distinct smell in the room. Asked to change rooms 2x due to the smell. A/C's were barely working in 2 of the rooms I was placed in.

Stains on the carpets.
Continental breakfast is a joke
Had to ask for towels more than once

Certainly better hotels for the dollar out there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princesstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors, Public Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

I am so sorry that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on striving to deliver outstanding service and satisfaction to each of our hotel guests. The Governors Inn Hotel has recently completed a total room makeover which included new carpeting, paint and other room upgrades. Last year we all so added waffles to our breakfast menu and we now feature Seattle’s Best Coffee. Our lobby area is sparkling with brand new furniture, carpeting and fresh new paint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Reasonable rate, clean room and quiet. The only 2 issues, a housekeeper at 8:30 am (too early) and a meager continental breakfast

Room Tip: Get a room on the quiet side away from mcdonalds
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I ended up at Governor's Inn when I was on a business trip and Sacramento's hotels were all largely booked (an online service put me here). I made 3 noise complaints between midnight and 1:30 am because people were running through the halls yelling and slamming doors. I was appalled at how the night clerk handled it. "They're drunk," he said. I called again and pointed out that it's really inappropriate to do nothing. Only then did he call security. Ridiculous.

The renovations are nice for a motel although blankets were inadequate.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multimolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,660 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £90 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing