We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my god”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Oroville, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh my god”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

First booked this place go a good price...
Then came the first room was right across from a ice machine and 7 up machine... A very loud one so we got moved..
Second room very nice ...
Then I asked a made for extra towels ... Guess what I got no towels and my room not cleaned...
I had to clean it ....
The only person whom has a brain here is a nice maintence person by the name of Justin ...
Oh and if you need anything from house keeping after 2 pm you are out of luck...
Then they put a group of dancer in the room over us ... Cause the noise is just horrible....
This hotel has no business keeping it doors open...
I'm stuck here for 3 more days cause the room is paided for ...
This place is so bad Priceline needs to take it off there list
Oh and did I mention it's not safe to go out at night it's in a really bad part of town .. And all the restaurants have gone out of business..

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesokennonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We did make every effort to make your stay with us enjoyable. Our front office and housekeeping staff is extra conscientious as we highly value each of our guests and their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    218
    73
    16
    16
See reviews for
113
132
45
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
austin, tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We found this place on hotwire and thought we got an excellent deal. The lobby was updated and spacious. Our room was also very spacious. I like that they didn't use those heavy and difficult to clean bedspreads (sheets covered the blanket and there was a "bed scarf" at the foot.) Facilities were fine. Breakfast had waffles and was good, except the attendants needed to be more attentive to the supplies and wiping the sticky tables. Staff was fine. The inn is very close to the highway and a short drive from Old and Downtown Sacramento. McDonalds seems to be in their parking lot, but there was plenty of parking remaining. Police station was next door, but the bus station next to that brought some questionable characters to that area. Overall, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank By_the_Sea_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you had a good stay with us. When we renovated the rooms, we wanted to make sure our bedding and bedspreads were comfortable and easy for our guests. We have had many compliments about our choice in our bedding linen and the remodeled rooms.

Also, thank you for your feedback on the breakfast area, we have shared your comments with our breakfast staff -- please know it is a very high priority for us to make sure that items are refilled and tables wiped down.

A few years back, the Sacramento Police department was seeking a new building to house the north area division. They found it in the office building adjacent to us. The building also houses other city offices and the Sacramento River District office. In fact farther down the street, are the California State Lottery and the California Highway Patrol headquarters.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We had a one-night stay at this hotel in early December. We were in town for a graduation and wanted someplace close to downtown and Old Town Sacramento. We were a short ride from downtown. We didn't even have to get on the freeway to get there.
We were pleasantly surprised at how new everything was. The exterior of the hotel isn't great, but the public areas and rooms have been completely remodeled. Our room was quite large (We had a king bed room). The carpet looked brand new, there were plantation shutters on the window, the sofa looked brand new, the bathroom was nicely remodeled. The color scheme was warm and pleasant. All in all, the room was comfortable, clean and more than met our needs.
The continental breakfast was good. Cereals, muffins, juices, yogurt, waffles, etc. There were plenty of choices to fill us up.
The only thing that we could complain about was the heater in our room didn't work. We got up on a chilly morning and tried to get it going, but it wouldn't stay on. We didn't attempt to have it fixed, as we were going to be leaving shortly. We did let the front desk person know and they thanked us for the feedback and apologized.
For the price, this place is worth every penny. (We paid $81. including tax)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Reserved a room here overnight via hotwire. There is a free shuttle from the airport (only from 6.30am in the morning though, not sure what time until at night - recommend supershuttle outside of these hours). It's a little out on it's own, though, with only a mcdonald's and a gas station nearby - so I wouldn't really recommend for travellers on foot. As a single female I did feel a little uncomfortable walking outside at night.

Room was fine - two double beds, small 'shower'room with toilet, and separate sink/wardrobe area which I didn't mind. Staff were nice, but didn't seem to know so much about the local area and were not overtly helpful - ie: I wanted to train to Davis and they didn't know if this was possible or not. I could easily check myself on google though (you can, it's a short 15min $9 trip with Amtrak, but not so regular).

So definitely worth it for the hotwire price, and perfectly fine if you're in Sacramento for business or just driving through.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review. I do apologize for our staff not having the information about the train to Davis. As you mentioned, there is a train that takes you from the Sacramento Train Station to Davis. In addition, we provide a free shuttle service to the Sacramento train station. Our shuttle service runs from 6:30 am to 10 pm at night. I have shared your comments with our front desk staff. It is only with comments like this that we can continue our efforts to provide the best possible stay experience in Sacramento. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I enjoyed the hotel.. I didn't really like the location, but it was very clean and right the freeway. The staff was very plesant. They off a continental breakfast in the mornings and in the evening they give complimentary beverages and snacks. Pretty cool. Overal great stay I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyjones03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Nice location. I had a business meeting in Old Sacramento and this was the best option. Clean, comfortable, and quiet. What more can the business traveler ask?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renobob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. Our staff works really hard to ensure each and every one of our guests has a great stay with us. We are glad you had a great trip and I have shared your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you back at the Governors Inn Hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Most hotels today have decent rooms. What's REALLY important is the staff. I was very pleased with the staff's readiness to accommodate for my personal needs. That made my trip! Thanks Guys!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing