We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Wheni I want to get way I love staying at a place that makes me feel special and that appreciates that I choose to stay with them recognizing that I have many to chose from. My time while short was very pleasant it is nice to have hotel staff ask if you need help and then try to really help. Staff was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and good advice about places to eat. I was very comfortable in the large rooms and loved the firm bed. The Governors Inn is a place I would highly recommend if you want that special touch!.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Wow, thank you very much for your thoughtful and kind review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on making sure our staff goes above and beyond in serving our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    227
    80
    18
    16
See reviews for
116
141
46
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The rooms are large & clean. If your ok with mcdonalds you can walk to one faster than you can walk to your room. It's literally in the same parking lot as the hotel. There is a large police station next door as well. Free parking!
The cons:
Room doors are loud when closed. TV's need updated. No bathtub. The shower was clean but not sparkling. Lot's and lot's of homeless people walking around the outside perimeter of the property. I wasn't worried, never felt unsafe, and never saw any questionable characters anywhere near the hotel or in the actual parking lot. I've stayed at Marriott brand hotels that were way worse than this place. Get it for around $50/nt and you'll be happy.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel has a slightly nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your review of the Governors Inn Hotel and appreciate your comments. We are very focused on making sure every guest has a great stay with us. The Sacramento Police Department and a few other city departments are located near our hotel in a newer office building. We love having them as neighbors. We are also excited about the new light rail station that is about to open in the River District. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Another one of our visits to visit family in the area.

I didn't expect much, with this hotel being in an industrial/commercial area right off Interstate-5. Not much ambience in the area.

We had a really good, very large, comfortable, clean and well-decorated room, with a side chair and office desk and good lighting. The lobby is also crisp and clean and upbeat (and large). I've stayed in plenty of places more dated and less clean, with regular and frequent overnights in Sacramento.

Stayed in room 222. I was favorably impressed when approaching the room, going through the expansive lobby, as the hallways are wide and attractive and there is a small lobby down the halls (with vending machines and couches), on every floor (3 floors) right near the elevator, which is not near the lobby. Almost like they welcomed people to walk the halls and also sit and have a soda or snack on each floor. None of those narrow, cheap hallways. Also, there is a fitness center down the hall. The lay-out welcomes people to walk and enjoy.

The entire hotel seemed to have its act together, with newish carpet and bright spaces in the public areas.

Enjoyed the room. It had white plantation shutters (instead of heavy drapes) which was a nice touch. Room had two queens (very comfortable), with updated linens/spreads of well-coordinated colors. Carpet looked quite new. There were beautiful matted fall photos on the wall (can't stand some of the wall decor in some other hotels). Everything in the room looked quite up-to-date, with a fall-colored painted contrast wall. Bathroom seemed recently painted and was spotlessly clean.

Re applicances, it had the standard coffee pot (small) and iron/board and large mirror-door closet --- and an unexpected bar fridge. Also, free wi-fi in the room. Everything worked fine. TV was not a flat screen however.

Continental breakfast (included) was quite simple but they did have the waffle machine.

The hotel is not in the city itself --- it's just off an interstate, so nothing fancy there, re location. But, it was everything we wanted for a comfortable stay. We didn't get a chance to enjoy closeby restaurants or attractions but we'd stay at this comfortable hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect so not sure what to say --- room 222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel. Our staff works hard at making sure out hotel is in tip top shape. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you end up staying here through Priceline name your own price you WILL regret it! If you have an issue they DO NOT CARE ABOUT you. Your better of sleeping in your car. They want a 50.00 hold on your CC for "incidentals" or damage to your room. They are inflexible. This place is NOT a full service hotel so not sure what incidentals they could be talking about. $10.00 in room movies and that is all. Right off the freeway and area is terrible and noise is horrendous.If the people who stay here make so much damage to the room that it is an issue then not the place someone who is not a drug addict from Breaking Bad would want to stay. Sacramento has tons of places and avoid this place like plague. Stick with national chains that has standards and policies. Again all the people I encounted at the desk are the worst customer service I have ever seen and I am a manger at a national retail chain.They call hoteliers the "hospitality industry". Well this would be on exception!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fact150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Overall, this was a really good stay. We bid 49 for a 3 1/2 star room and got this for about 40% less. It was nice and pine fresh and the room was quiet with plantation shutters and thick, new carpet. They have those mini bedspreads that get washed, too, so it looked, felt and smelled really clean.There is a mini fridge, small coffee maker, blow dryer, shampoo, soap, iron and ironing board. Crisp white linens and fluffy pillows atop a quality mattress help, too, of course Their complimentary breakfast bagels were fresh and tasty, and included a variety including Asiago Cheese and poppy seed, in addition to plain w/cream cheese. Also had unlimited fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, waffle maker and more. Though there's no bar, the lobby is spacious and inviting. Looked like they had a (free?) shuttle service to and from the Sacramento Convention Center. We were in town for the National Handmade Bicycle Show. It was very nice to be close to the American River Bicycle Trail and Discovery Park, along the Sacramento River. The staff was very accommodating and didn’t seem to mind the bicycles going up and down the elevators, either (some really enjoyed it!). They even make those cute little pleats in the towels and tissues too! Web signal is strong there and there’s always Mickey D’s free wifi next door. The Rusty Duck, a famous old Sacramento restaurant, then closed, is virtually across the street, as well as a barbecue joint and a really good seafood place, Monterey Bay Canners (Oceanside, Sacramento & Maui). Plenty of free parking in lot, restaurants, streets, etc. The only improvement I can think of would be larger TV screens. Note: The water pressure is amazing, and the remodeled bathrooms of spa quality, but there are no bathtubs in a standard room.

Room Tip: I have always done well with Priceline auctions for weekend getaways in Northern CA. It is fun to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineCtZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Governors Inn Hotel.

As you point out we are indeed located adjacent to the American River Bike Trial, which is considered the crown jewel of Sacramento. The bike trail stretches 32 miles along the American River and is designated as both a state and national wild and scenic river. About 8 million people visit the parkway annually.

Our staff works very hard to ensure every guest has a great experience at out hotel and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Good sized rooms and communal spaces; next to McDonalds; good breakfast and excellent tea and coffee in lobby 24/7. Staff extremely nice and the hot tub was clean (though it could be hotter). Beds were just right, linen clean. Only had a shower so we missed bathing. Could use flat screen tvs but room size and amenities were good. Definitely the best and most secure in the area; very good for business meetings and/or airport which included shuttle and parking for up to 2 weeks.

Room Tip: 2 good sized elevators did a great job; this is a large hotel with huge communal spaces and nice dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamiasMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate you sharing your thoughts about your stay. As we have mentioned in other review responses, our staff works very hard to ensure that each and every one of our guests has a great experience and we are glad you did.

Our shuttle does operate to and from the airport and train station from 6:30 am to 10:30 pm daily. All of our rooms and lobby area were also recently updated and we are glad you enjoyed the space.

We look forward to seeing you again on your return to Sacramento. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroville, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

First booked this place go a good price...
Then came the first room was right across from a ice machine and 7 up machine... A very loud one so we got moved..
Second room very nice ...
Then I asked a made for extra towels ... Guess what I got no towels and my room not cleaned...
I had to clean it ....
The only person whom has a brain here is a nice maintence person by the name of Justin ...
Oh and if you need anything from house keeping after 2 pm you are out of luck...
Then they put a group of dancer in the room over us ... Cause the noise is just horrible....
This hotel has no business keeping it doors open...
I'm stuck here for 3 more days cause the room is paided for ...
This place is so bad Priceline needs to take it off there list
Oh and did I mention it's not safe to go out at night it's in a really bad part of town .. And all the restaurants have gone out of business..

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesokennonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We did make every effort to make your stay with us enjoyable. Our front office and housekeeping staff is extra conscientious as we highly value each of our guests and their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 81 in Sacramento
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing