We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel only for one night but everything was really perfect.
The room was very clean, they had a nice shower (no curtain - glass door - which I prefer!).
The pool is not very big but ok. Breakfast is perfect (coffee, orange juice, cereals, milk, toast, bagels, muffins...) and the breakfast lady too :-).
Wifi worked fine, we had a fridge in our room and it is about 5 min to the State Capitol.
Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your PERFECT review! We know that the hospitality business is all about people and our staff team works really hard to give each and every one of our guest a great experience. We are so glad that you found our hotel a great place to stay.

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean with all the usual amenities and good continental breakfast. It is not in a good location to walk anywhere downtown, though. Also, check in was absurdly slow...they seemed understaffed.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and breakfast. Sorry about the slow check-in process. We are accustomed to giving our guests a fast and easy check-in experience. I will share your comments with our front desk team so that we can make the necessary changes to avoid this from happening in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stay at this hotel once or twice a year,. I have stayed here for years. I keep asking for a listing of the TV channels. No one seems to care enought to print out a list for all the rooms. Every hotel I've ever stayed in, has a listing of TV channels for that area. I ask for one, when I was there on June 4, and finally, after two hours of waiting, got one. It was handwritten ! Don't understand why this is such a difficult thing to provide ! Also, a microwave in the rooms would be nice. Other than that, my stay is usually good. My only other complaint was the breakfast selection. Very poor.

Room Tip: request the room you want when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for letting us know about the TV Channel Guide. When we did our room renovations, we emptied all the rooms and never replaced the TV Channel Guide. Please know that we are producing a TV Channel Guide for each of the rooms and sorry that we did not have them available during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Clean & comfortable at a great price. Free continental breakfast. Room even had a refrigerator. Less than 5 miles to downtown & Capitol area. The only draw back is that the location is not in a very nice neighborhood. But very close to freeway. Would definitely stay hear again when in Sacramento.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishsaucegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your review of the Governors Inn Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We get a lot of comments about our location but I must say the city of Sacramento is investing heavily into our area. Caltrans and the City of Sacramento have recently completed a renovation of the freeway interchange, added new traffic lights, improved the intersections, beautified the area landscape, completed a new light rail station and added decorative LED lighting to the freeway underpass.

We are very excited about all the changes and beautification happening in our neighborhood. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you on your return trips to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Governors Inn has easy access off the highway on the north side of Sacramento. The grounds are clean and well-maintained. I had a large room with all the extras except microwave. The room and bath were nicely decorated and very clean. The TV was older style and seemed to have limited channel selection, but the internet was free and fast. Nice comfortable bed and pillows for a good nights' rest. Left the A/C on Fan all night to block any highway noise, but it was surprisingly quiet. I was disappointed in the limited breakfast selections. There is a McDonalds next door and a steak place down the road. Gas station/convenience store across the street. Very friendly, helpful staff and a very reasonable price for a quiet, safe, comfortable night. I recommend staying here and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank texasrepublichistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

We really appreciate your review. Seeing that you are a top contributor to TripAdvisor, we value your candid and detail feedback. Our staff takes enormous pride in ensuring our hotel is clean and well-maintained as you noted. We recently upgraded our free internet service and have received many positive comments on the increased speed. In terms of our continental breakfast, it is a basic menu but we do add and subtract items based on our guests’ feedback.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sacramento!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I felt very safe here as a woman traveling alone. Room (king) was very spacious and comfortable. My only "complaints" are that the window a/c is a bit noisy and there is really nothing for breakfast unless you want processed carbs, But with McDonalds next door, I could pick up an Egg McMuffin and ditch the muffin and I was good to go. Small fridge in room, exercise equipment off the lobby, pool and spa. Easy freeway access. Highly recommended, especially for the great rate I got via Hotel.com; I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, stay on the non-freeway side. Next time, I might ask for a 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you Marcia W for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad you found your king room comfortable. We strive to provide our guests with the best service. Thank you for your feedback on the breakfast. We are always reviewing our menu and making improvements. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is a boutique hotel in a bad physical location but it is just off of I-5 and within minutes of midtown Sacramento. The hotel has a nice size room with a comfortable bed. nice linens and towels. The room was clean and adequate for an extended stay as long as you have a car to get around. Front desk is very friendly. There is free parking and free WIFI in the room. I downgraded the hotel because my room had no flat screen TV, no microwave, and the included breakfast is very basic.....danish, bagels, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juice. The hotel says it has HBO but it was a premium channel at an extra cost. I also was unable to watch Madmen because I could not find the AMC channel. The only restaurant nearby is McDonalds. Not a bad place to stay if you can get a discount and you just want free WIFI and a clean comfortable room. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iceman749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 82 in Sacramento
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £90 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing