We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have stayed at Governors Inn on several occasions while visiting family in Sacramento. Can't find a better place, for the price or the cleanliness of this hotel, in our opinion, plus they have a good breakfast before heading out for the day. McDonalds is right next door too & a new Dennys Restaurant is "opening soon" across the street.. We will stay here many more times in the future.

Room Tip: We believe the 3rd floor is best and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 664Christine_B13664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear 664Christine_B13664, You said it all! Just a side note we are in the process of upgrading all of our TV to flat screens. Look forward to seeing you in the near future. If there is anything we can help you with on your next visit, please let us know. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here with my husband and daughter for 3 nights. An excellent value! Room was very large and spotless. Easy to get anywhere in Sacramento. I arrived by train from san Francisco and free shuttle arrived promptly. Guess my only minor minor complaint was driver was not super courteous-- did not open unfamiliar van door-- said get in etc. but could be I have been spoiled by southern hospitality. Breakfast has varied choices-- just wish there had been some fresh fruit-- but my daughter loved the FRESH doughnuts. Stay here instead of a large chain--- you'll have lots of space all that you need and save $$$.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Georgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Georgiapeach,
Thank you so much for staying with us. And yes we are very sorry that our driver did not open the van door for you. We certainly strive to deliver the very best in Southern, Eastern, Western and Northern hospitality. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast too. Typically we have fresh fruit on the continental buffet. Hope you had a great trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Nothing negative. Clean and very spacious room, quiet, nice fitness room, large dinning area for breakfast, great pool and hot tub. Less than five minutes to downtown and midtown (by car). We will stay there again on our next trip to Sac.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Nikolas A, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. The comments we receive are very helpful to us as we always want to evolve and improve our services. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

It was a very nice hotel for a businesss trip. I enjoyed my stay, and I would definitely stay there again.The hotel had just been remodeled, and it was very comfy and very clean, but the shuttle service needs to run past 10:30 at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Dana W, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are so appreciative of your comments. In regards to our shuttle service, we are always evaluating the needs of our guests when determining the shuttle schedule. Most nights our shuttle sits idle after 10:30 pm because there is just no demand. But as I mentioned that is one area we continue to monitor and make changes as needed. Thank you so much sharing on TripAdvisor..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel is great. Comfortable, clean and friendly. The room was updated and quiet. Enjoyed a swim and hot tub in a quiet enclosed area. The neighborhood is a little commercial, ( some homeless panhandlers- welcome to CA. )but all goes away inside. The staff bent over backwards to help us and make us feel welcome. This was a short stay but I can assure you I will stay there again. A little warning: The Mc Donalds next door is under remodeling and has some construction noise that stopped by 5. But inside it was quieter! I'm sure this project will be short lived. Hotel is conveniently located off freeway. 10 minutes from airport.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geriwkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Geriwkr, Thank you for your comments. Our Blvd is currently undergoing the biggest renovation in recent memory. The recently completed freeway interchange along with street widening, new LED light art design in the underpass, new light rail station, new Denny's, and a completely renovated McDonalds are just part of the many upgrades being made in the River District. Many of the projects are completed or in their final stages. It is great to see. And you are right to mention that the hotel is pretty well insulated on the inside. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights on our way to San Francisco, the location of this hotel is close to getting on/off the freeways.
The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and clean.

The breakfast area has lots of tables with plenty room. The breakfast has a choice of cereals, breads, fruit and yoghurt.

The pool area is compact and clean with a hot tub.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and pleasant. The lobby is nicely decorate with seating area to relax. At night they put on complimentary sherry and cookies.
There is also complimentary coffee in the lobby.

This hotel was very comfortable and pleasant and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: At the back away from McDonald's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear michelle d,
We are glad that you and your husband had a great two night stay with us. If you did not know, we are in the process of adding new TVs to our guest rooms. We are excited about this addition. Hope your trip was grand. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to San Francisco. Governors Inn Hotel is located in a relatively dicey part of town. But, because of the positive reviews we've read on this hotel we decided to give it a try. The location being near major freeways was a plus. We were able to get a room with a King bed at a very reasonable rate. The interior of the hotel has been updated and looks nice. Our room and bathroom were both clean. With the new carpet and newer bed linens the room was pretty. We had a very quiet night (a Thursday) and a very comfortable bed.
My only negative comments are: the front desk staff upon check-in was less than friendly or warm; and management needs to keep going with the updating. The furniture in our room and in the hallways had seen better days. The caulking around the shower tiles and the wall in our bathroom was missing in large chunks. It would also be a nice touch to have tissues in the room rather than having to use toilet paper to blow my nose.
I would stay at this hotel on a future trip to Sacramento if we were able to obtain a similar rate on a King room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godsbooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,699 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £93 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing