We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooooo Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Salt Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sooooooo Clean”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Very clean, modern, new features like carpet, paint, bedding. Lobby was also very clean and comfortable. I appreciated the fast wifi. Free shuttle to and from airport was timely and convenient. Walking distance to restaurants made having a car unnecessary. All around great accommodation at an affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Marilyn C,

Thank you for your review of the Governors Inn Hotel. Our staff takes great pride in delivering a great experience for all those who stay with us. we are glad you found our hotel and that you had a wonderful stay! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    227
    80
    18
    16
See reviews for
116
141
46
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

First time stayed here while in Sacramento, CA. Didn't know what to expect but had very good reviews on trip advisor and price was $75 on www.booking.com
Really, what can you usually expect for $75 in a big city....well, this is the best hotel for the money in a long, long time.
The rooms was very big and bed and everything in the room very, very comfortable.
Hotel was spotless and clean everywhere.
Breakfast was standard but every other aspect of the hotel was outstanding.
As long as the price remains around the same, this will be the hotel of my choice in future visits to Sacramento. I would be surprised if the price and comfort can be beaten anywhere in the Sacramento area. Like a 5 star hotel at 2/3 star rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear ILoveIsrl,

Thank you for your grand review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be outstanding. We truly work hard to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a business trip during April. We found the staff, particularly Heiner, to be very helpful and friendly. The hotel was an easy drive to both Old Town and Mid town restaurants and shopping, either by the easy freeway access or through the city streets. We had a King room that was spacious, clean, newly painted, quiet and very comfortable with a desk, couch, and nice flat screen. We will definitely be staying here again next time we come to Sacramento.

Room Tip: Room 207 had a new, digital air conditioning unit, was quiet, and was very convenient for getting to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear BrettLloyd,

Thank you so much for staying with you and hope your trip to Sacramento successful. We appreciate you taking the time to share on TripAdvisor so others can hear first hand about our wonderful staff and service. We look forward to seeing you when you return to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My sister and I recently had to take an early flight to southern California for business. We live an hour and a half away from the airport so decided our best option would be to spend the night in the area as we are definitely not morning people. I am so glad we picked this hotel, it is right off the freeway so it was easy to get to the airport in the morning. It is also close to Old Town Sacramento so we were able to have a nice evening before our flight. The lobby is large and comfortable, the rooms were also good size with nice amenities and little touches like carefully folded towels. I almost expected to find a chocolate on the pillow it was so nice in the room. I would definitely recommend it and will stay there again if I need to spend the night in Sacramento.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank firstbcso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear firstbcso,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad our hotel was perfect for your stay. On your chocolate on the pillow, that is not a bad idea and we will have to look into maybe doing that on some special nights. We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose Ca
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I always read reviews on hotels before I stay. For some reason this hotel kept popping up. Ok fine some reviews good some not decided to take a chance. So glad I did! The front lobby is attractive & the front desk employee was efficient & courteous. We were starving & she made some suggestions for restaurants right across the street. We were able to park our car near the side entry & near the elevator. The area on first floor is quite big with a built in sofa that looks so inviting to relax tired travelers. And has 2 vending machines for late night munchies. Our room was spacious and clean. Nice muted colors kept the room low lit even with a lamp on. Maybe too dark for some we liked it. A ceiling fan circulated the air in the room as it was a muggy day. Plantation shutters ( a nice diversion from dusty curtains)kept the sun out but with the windows open let in fresh air. We also had the air con running at night. The vanity had granite counters keeping in line with the color scheme. A coffee maker with REAL mugs was a nice surprise! A shower was all we had in our room which was fine. The water pressure was great & the shower itself was very clean as was the rest of the bathroom. Our king bed was comfortable. And a small sofa was also in the room. The area itself is fine. Some reviews were not favorable regarding the area. Its proximity allows access to major freeways a Dennys McDonalds & a gas station. Those are important to us. We aren't buying property here so attractive is not important. The Grovesnor is right next to the police department if that make one secure. It's an industrial area bottom line. And we did not hear any traffic noise at all. We were however facing the PD side of the property not the other side which is closer to the freeway.
We were at the Grovesnor for 2 nights & no complaints. There is a Summerfield also our rates were better. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlene1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear arlene1215,

Thank you for your recent review of the Governors Inn Hotel Sacramento. We really appreciate your high praise of the hotel staff and accommodations. If we can absolutely do anything to make a future visit to Sacramento more enjoyable, please let us know. We are glad you stayed with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Found this place on Hotwire, I would recommended after staying here several times. We gave it a shot and were pleasantly surprised. Nice location, nice staff, clean rooms, spacious rooms, easy on and off freeway access, a couple of restaurants and a Mickey D's all within walking distance. Breakfast was great. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBurnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear SusanBurnside,

Thank you for your recent review of the Governors Inn Hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your kudos on location, nice staff, clean and spacious rooms. As you can see our team works really hard to give every guest a wonderful experience at our hotel. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Sacramento more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This shares a driveway with McDonald's and right next door to the Police Department.

The hotel has been renovated and the rooms are huge. Its very quiet and the housekeeping staff makes an effort to fold your towels in fans and it uses actual coffee cups and glasswares in the room.

Breakfast is very minimal continental but if you want more, there is McDonalds right next door. There is no restaurants within walking distance but there is a mall within 15 - 20 minutes away. Use your Smartphone to look for a popular restaurant like Red Lobsters and you will drive right by a lot of other choices by the mall.

Room Tip: Entrance to the hotel is shared with McDonald's drive way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Sarlye,

Thank you for your recent review of the Governors Inn Hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us. As you mentioned, we do offer a continental breakfast with a range of items including breads, yogurt, hot waffles, fruit, cereal and other items.

Just recently a Denny's opened directly across the street from our hotel. We are also one exit away from Old Sacramento and Downtown which offers an array of good restaurants. Sacramento is also promoting the "farm to fork" where some of our local restaurateurs and chefs are producing great food from crops grown right here in the central valley.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 81 in Sacramento
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing