We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Clean Place. Nothing Fancy, But The Beds Are Comfortable And The Rooms Are Clean. I Will Definitely Stay Here Again. The Equipment In The Gym Works Well. Could Use More Fruit Choices FOr Breakfast...Only Apples...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OfficerLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear OfficerLisa,
Thank you for staying with us! Glad you found everything met your expectations. Typically we offer a variety of fruit and not sure why we had only apples out this day. I will check on this. We hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Very comfortable place to stay if you have a car. Breakfast only adequate, but there's a Denny's right across the street. Close to freeway and close to town via side streets too. All in all, good value.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharlatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear sharlatra,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Everything as you mentioned is close by and we are among the few hotels that do not charge for parking. The going rate for an overnight car at a downtown hotel is about $20 a night. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, while my husband attended a training seminar in Sacramento. I was a bit worried because many of the reviews were not good. However when we arrived, I was happy to find the King room very large and clean. Other than an odd vanilla odor the room was wonderful. The pool and spa were outside but we enjoyed them. The sherry in the lobby after dinner was a treat. There were some spots on the ceiling in the hallway that showed damage, but the carpets, walls and all the decor was lovely, clean and inviting. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sacramento.

Room Tip: I always recommend staying in a top floor room. It is generally the quietest, and that was exactly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Lisa V,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and the amenities we offer. Our staff works extra hard to keep our rooms clean and refreshed for each of our guests. Also glad you enjoyed a glass of Sherry on your return to the hotel from dinner. Hope you had a good trip and training seminar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you don't want to pay the jackpot for a place in the downtown area this is this is a great alternative. It's close to the freeway so easy to get to and has easy access to old town as well.
The staff was very helpful and check in and out went fast. they served a decent breakfast but nothing fancy. The room was nice and clean. Comfy bed, a nice to have fridge and microwave and a good bathroom. Some decent restaurants across the street. Only disadvantage we had was that we had a room right above the McD and that gave a little noise but nothing serious. Overall it exceeded my expectations

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Close to the freeway, but very quiet. The rooms were clean. The property is slightly worn, but not horrible! The WIFI was non existent. Shower head was horrendous! The breakfast could use some improving also. Would like to see some protein instead of just waffles and pastries. I think with a small "remodel" the place would be great! Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Everyone here was very friendly and helpful. We arrived well before check-in time, and no rooms with one king bed were ready yet; so they upgraded us to a room with 2 queens at no extra charge. We had trouble with the TV and a man was there to help us within 2 minutes. The room was spotless and had modern fixtures, AC,fridge, etc. Beds very comfortable. They served sherry from 4-6 pm in the lobby - an unexpected treat! The cost of the hotel was very reasonable compared to the other hotels in the area. It was easy to reach just off the highway, yet it was very quiet. It's handy to the airport and shuttle service is provided at no charge. I would definitely stay there again, and I have recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear jayper,

Thank you for your banner headline, "Excellent Hotel." Our staff really works hard to give our guests a perfect stay and we are glad we exceeded your expectations. It is always a joy to read about our guests experiences and how we delivered on giving excellent service. We look forward to seeing you and your friends in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked reservations for the annual Sacto Music Fest. This area can be "challenging" in that there are good blocks and not so good blocks.
Governors Inn is right next to the PD, has gas & food within walking distance.
Continental breakfast provided, pretty good, fresh fruit was a bit disappointing for me, they shouldn't be dinged for that.
Room very clean and updated. Beds comfortable & service at the front desk-Tim- was exceptional. We will definitely be booking for next years "Fest".

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear theloki,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! We hope you enjoyed the new and improved Sacramento Music Festival. As you could imagine, it was a busy weekend for us and many of our guests expressed how much they enjoyed staying with us over the three day weekend. There are two new restaurants that have opened up in our neighborhood, Denny's across the street and Krush Burger, a local gourmet burger spot located in the California Lottery Building headquarters. Krush Burger got their start as a food truck operator,as their popularity grew they opened up their new spot on 10th street. Check them out next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,699 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £93 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing