We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here one night before a flight out of SMF. Very friendly check in, easy parking and great room. Beds were super comfy!!
Very close to Downtown Plaza and Old Sacramento. We had to leave before breakfast was served....so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierramountaingirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed only one night as we went to a concert in Discovery park...within walking distance of this park and probably close to Old town as well. Nice clean comfortable stay, probably will stay again for future events.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christym72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

One night stay. Got a great price on Hotwire for Admissions Day festivities at the Capitol Building.

I asked about bus service to Downtown and was advised that the hotel runs a shuttle to the Convention Center. Very convenient even though we finally decided to drive in to town. The gentleman at the desk was polite and proficient.

Our room was on the first floor and looked out on shrub landscaping. No view, but it was private and no light to bother us at night.

The room itself was very spacious and the bed was comfortable and had beautiful bed linens. The place was also spotless and I love the shower not being in a bathtub.

The breakfast room was large and uncrowded. I thought that the bagel selection was fantastic. I had a cheese bagel that I would rate as one of the best bagels I have ever had. Highly unusual for a hotel free breakfast. I would love to know who supplies their bagels.

Didn't want to forget that the coffee available in the lobby was mindblowing. Peets Coffee and well brewed.

Don't let the reviews about the neighborhood scare you off. There might be some homeless around, but I didn't feel at all threatened.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel was a step up from the usual hotels one finds close to an airport. The room was large and walls were thick enough not to hear other guests. The lobby was attractive. The continental breakfast was good. I was very pleased, especially given the reasonable nightly rate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 74Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nicely designed. It's right priced and only 5 minutes from downtown Sacramento. And only 15 minutes from the Airport. Has a nice pool and jacuzzi. No bath tub just a shower stall but very clean. No mold or mildew. The mattress was clean. The Continental breakfast was very nice. Was there for a wedding and extended to a vacation. I would definitely go back again if I were in that area. About 1 1/2 from San Fransico.

Room Tip: If possible over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had to stop in Sacramento for a business meeting. This is a real switch from our usual fun road trips. We were clueless where to stay in the area so of course I went to my fellow TA contributors for advice. Nice job! The hotel is better looking the the review pictures. The young lady behind the front desk was very helpful and polite. We told her we needed to meet with an associate in the morning and asked for recommendations. She thought the lobby was a good spot and it was! There are plenty of seating areas for small get together/meetings. Complimentary coffee in the lobby as well. Even our local was impressed. Our room was equally nice. No tubs, only showers. And we did leave a note to the manager...please, more power outlets for our tablets, phones etc. There was only one accessible plug on the desk and I'm not fond of charging my electronics on the bath counter. Also, word of advice...The continental breakfast closes up at 9am! Don't sleep in. The wireless worked great. Our room was overlooking the 5 and a fast food drive thru, but with the window closed, we didn't hear a thing. Our king room also had a sofa, am grateful for a place to sit instead of the bed. We would return to this hotel. Nice, clean, professional and at an amazing price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear ochummingbird,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind and wonderful review of the Governors Inn Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read and respond to our guests that had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We will be looking into the electrical outlets to see how best we may add more as the age we live in offers a greater need for charging multiple electronic devices.

Thank you again for taking the time for your review on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you back at our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I loved this hotel and would happily return for another stay. The lobby and the room were beautifully clean. Everything was fresh and elegant. The people at the front desk are genuinely helpful, respectful, and caring.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Norma W,

Thank you for your wonderful words about our employees! They do work hard to deliver outstanding service to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 82 in Sacramento
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £92 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing