We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I am sorry to say I had a bad time with the desk managers when I was there. They never ask for our 3a card that could have saved use 10.00$ or more. I beleave it would be to there best to as when you first get to the hotel about the 3-A card or at lease give it to you after you sign in. Also we found out we could of got the room for 45.00$ less from others on line!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Overall, I enjoyed this hotel. I stayed here on business and found that the hotel offered nearly every amenity that I needed. The room was spacious and clean. The bed slept well and the location was ideal. Great value for the price. The downside was their breakfast. Truly a lack of effort on their part. Cold cereal, muffins, breads and the standard waffle with sugar syrup. Most hotels offer sugar free syrup since nearly 30 million Americans are diabetic. To make matters worse, the lone breakfast employee had a tip jar set out on the counter. A tip is something that is given for great service not simply because you are doing the job you get paid to do. I ate their breakfast once and went across the street to Denny's the second day for a real breakfast. I'd probably stay here again, but if you're looking for a hotel with a free breakfast, keep looking. You'll be very disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NonnahsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear NonnahsS,

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed your room and hotel facilities. We are sorry that the continental breakfast did not meet your expectations. Because it is continental we do try and rotate different options into the breakfast. As you mention, there is a brand new Dennys across the street from our hotel that is open 24 hours and provides more substantial meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

2nd stay here and I will stay here again. I booked on Priceline for Nov. 27 and got a great price at $50/night. My room is much larger than typical motel rooms.

Good Continental breakfast! Nice lobby. Excellent value for the price, couldn't be happier. Older property that has been updated quite successfully.

McDonalds next door. Denny's across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freckles99201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed one night there, I had a great time. hotel is located in a good place.Their room was spacious and clean I had a great and comfortable bed.Also, tube was acceptable.
There is no microwave in rooms.
the worst thing is their internet.
Break fast is Ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

As a stopover on my trip further south, the Governor's Inn was excellent with pleasant staff, nice decor, and exercise room with quality TRUE equipment. The room rate was very reasonable for this hotel which I will definitely remember if my travel plans take me near Sacramento again.

Room Tip: Room on the east side, away from the I-5 side of the hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Linda B,

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing a 5 star rating. Our staff is a hard working team who strive to exceed expectations of our guests. I am glad we did so with you. We really hope your travels bring you back to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel isn't much to look at from the outside, but is quite nice inside. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated, and very clean. The staff are friendly. The location is great for jumping in the car and getting onto the highway, but not good if you want to walk around (McDonalds and Dennys are the only things nearby).

A few complaints (and why they didn't get another star) - the continental breakfast was pretty lame, was served with cutlery and tableware straight from a prison ward, and was served in a room with Headline News on so loudly that conversation was impossible. The cage of parakeets in the front lobby was filthy (they should either keep it clean or not bother to have it). And my shower was either hot or cold but not in-between no matter how carefully I adjusted the control.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel because it is close to the Sacramento airport and I was flying out the next day. My car window was broken, my laptop and other items stolen. When I told the night clerk, his lack of concern was upsetting. I was told someone would call me to let me know if they found these items - I had to call them. I will never stay at this hotel again - not only due to lack of security, but the uncaring attitude towards their customer.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs interior room if you are a woman traveling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 82 in Sacramento
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £91 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing