We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there before, will be back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Governors Inn Hotel in Sacramento has continued to be one of the best things that has happened to us. We found them years ago and have never turned back. We do not travel too often, however, when ever we find ourselves in the Sacramento area needing lodging it is always the Governors Inn that we turn to. Between the amazing staff, the large rooms and the safe area to leave our vehicle when flying out of town we would not consider going anywhere else. Number one in our book!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Cheryl Z,
Thank you for your incredibly kind review! You are also number one in our book too. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Governors Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We selected the Governor's Inn Hotel based on some earlier reviews and were not disappointed. It was easy to find, is close to downtown, has ample free parking, is notably clean, and has recently updated and roomy decor. The Hotel has all the services and quality of a comparable "big name" chain hotel without all the advertising. Breakfast was also comparable--the usual "continental" items, plus fresh fruit and yogurt, in an extremely clean setting, staffed to keep it so. Hotel price was fair/competitive. Would readily stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morlows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Morlows,
A huge thank you for review on TripAdvisor! Our staff works very hard to exceed the expectation of our guests and we are glad we did so for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Governors Inn and Hotel, and were pleasantly surprised with all the new updates! We arrived late to check in, but had no trouble finding parking and on top of that it was free. The manager Toni also made us feel like we were staying with old friends who were just waiting for our arrival.

Upon entering our room we discovered that the room had been newly updated from top to bottom. It was wonderful to have such a large desk provided for us so our boys had somewhere to draw, and we had somewhere to work. The fitness center was well maintained and offered a good selection of equipment- as well as the outdoor pool was perfect for a morning swim! But what stuck out most to me was the beautiful selection of carpeting that lead you around the hotel. That was one of the first things I noticed- the interior decorator had great taste! Needless to say I had a wonderful time at the Governers Inn and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Deirdre D,
Thank you for your kind mention in TripAdvisor. We have a great team of people who love what they do and are passionate in serving our guests. Ever since the remodel, we have had many guests compliment us on the interior decorations so I am glad you found them to be exceptional too. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Newly Remodeled hotel. Clean and quiet. Pleasant experience overall for our family of 5. I only wish there was an vent fan in the bathroom. The breakfast was ok, but no hot items like eggs. The cleanliness of the room was top notch though. And I appreciated that the fridge was inside the cupboard so it was extra quiet.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank MamaLana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear MamaLana5,
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We very much value our the feedback from our guests. We are glad you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and hotel. Our housekeeping department takes great pride in keeping our rooms and overall facility super clean. Within our Continental Breakfast offering, we offer more traditional items such as orange juice, baked goods, bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt and cereal. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed 6 nights. Hotel van picked us up at the airport. Even took us downtown to the Convention Center. (Close to the American Bike Path--which is very poorly signed). The area was a bit questionable after dark, however, it was that way downtown as well. The light Rail and Greyhound stations are within a half mile and the hotel van will provide transportation. The people, Sarah, George, Heiner, Michael, Pang were very helpful and friendly. The hot tub was hot, the pool a bit too cold to use. Our room was spotless each day we returned. The only mediocre thing was the breakfast. More fruit would have been good, however, we were so happy with the room, we bought our own fruit. Fridge was in the room with a microwave available to use. Breakfast info was posted at front desk and near the always available coffee/tea area. The hallways are long so the side door was handy and near the elevators.

Room Tip: If you are older, ask for a room near the elevators. We had room 205. Opposite the stairs which fit...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Tucson_AZAdventurer,
Thank you very much for you kind review on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate you highlighting the staff that was most helpful to you. We take great pride in our service to our guests and I am glad you mentioned five who you interacted with during your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge these fine staffers. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nice hotel. Very clean. I looked at star wells and they were spotless. Coffee was good and strong in morning. Most places put out the watered down stuff, Governors inn put out the good stuff. A/C in room was good and cold. The McDonald's next door I never heard.
Rates were good. Has van service to and from airport and a few spot to downtown.

They also have a 2 maid policy. This protects maids and also one would not be tempted to lift anything from rooms when cleaning, hate to bring that up but I had in past had things disappear room my room. I am NOT talking about Gov Inn. This happen in a hotel in Gallup NM 20 years ago. I left my lap top sit out the whole time I was @ Gov Inn.

There is a 10 foot wall around parking lot, blocks street noise and keeps foot traffic to a min. Plenty of security cameras.
The elevators were fast.
I did look for things wrong: found nothing.
I had my bike with me and was able to ride over to the start of the bike race that started on Capital street (ATOC) so hotel is close to downtown. That took me about 15 minuets by bike to the other side of downtown. Light rail is close so yo could walk to it.
If you need a bike to rent, check out City Works Bicycle. They had the best deal I could find and I check out most bike shops before coming.
My advice: stay here.
Mark
Tucson

Room Tip: McDonald's next to hotel. I did not hear any traffic from drive though. I did not use room se...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mark S,
Thank You! We so much appreciate your detailed and candid feedback about your stay with us. I loved your advice --- Stay here. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Governors Inn is not a simple motel. It offers that kind of services and attentions usually available in classy and exclusive inns, nonetheless it cannot be considered a dear place. For a competitive rate I got an impeccably clean large room, equipped with fridge, coffee maker, iron board and iron and a good wi fi connection. I really appreciated the kindness and the professionalism of the whole staff ( among the best I ever met ) and I enjoyed the free airport shuttle service as well as the rich breakfast offered every morning from 0630 a.m..The location is good, being located just beside the Richard Blvd exit of the I 5 and within walking distance ( 20 minutes )from Old Sacramento and downtown. Despite the proximity to a main traffic line the Governors Inn offers a quiet and comfortable atmosphere, that I would define without doubt hushed. Guests can count on a large parking lot, an outdoor swimming pool, a valid fitness center, complimentary lobby computer and complimentary coffee and teas. Should I try and think what I would like to be improved I would be in trouble. The only details that could make this place even better could be the availability of an in room microwave ( not a big issue since guests can make use of the one in the breakfast room ) and anticipating at least at 0600 breakfast. Would I stay here again? Yes, without the faintest doubt. Would I recommend it a friend? Yes, no doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear d8889,
Not only did we thoroughly enjoy reading your review, but your photos were fabulous. Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor! We are glad that to have exceeded your expectations and deliver to you outstanding accommodations. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,660 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £90 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing