We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I go every year to the Sacramento Music Festival and wanted to stay close to the event to avoid over tiring my family. Tried to get a room at other hotels and everything was booked. I thought for the price I was booking something similar to a bargain hotel. Everything was top notch and my family enjoyed the stay. Housekeeping was fantastic. Will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Mary b.,
Thank you for your kind and generous feedback! We value our guest comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the music festival. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    222
    74
    17
    16
See reviews for
114
134
46
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have family in Elk Grove and have stayed at a chain site there for years. Because we were attending a graduation at the Arena north of Sacramento, I decided to look for something closer to that venue. After reading Trip Advisor, this was our choice!
Using the hotel's website, we found a better deal than any of the booking services. Booking was easy too.
Upon our arrival, Deiter took good care of us and placed us on "the quiet side" of the facility. The room was spacious, clean, and had excellent lighting in the sink area. The shower and toilet are behind another door, and make it easy for one to get ready apart from the other when getting ready in the morning. When showering, the hot water did fluctuate a bit, though it was never icy cool or cool for very long. The room, on the first floor, was quiet too. We had people next to us and never knew it until seeing them leave the morning they checked out. I don't know if there was anyone above us, another indicator of how quiet it was.
Breakfast is a decent continental selection, with yogurt, Belgian waffles, bread rolls, and sweet rolls. There was also some cereal and milk. Orange juice, along with one or two other juices as well as coffee was also available. There were no meats offered, but for the price of the room we felt that was more than fair. There is a lot of seating, eight or nine tables for four, and there is staff working so things do not run low. Everything here is kept clean too.
Another feature we enjoyed was that the windows can be opened! It never got as warm as predicted, so we were able to cool the rooms without using the air conditioner. The window treatments are very nice too.
This will be our new place to stay when we visit the Sacramento area!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter since they are at the back, off the road and do not face the fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmgreen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear tmgreen777,
Thank you for your very detailed review of our hotel! We value and appreciate your comments and feedback. Are staff works very hard to provide each and everyone of our guests a wonderful experience. We are glad you found through Trip Advisor and that we are now your hotel of choice when visiting Sacramento! Thank you. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stateline, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Governors Inn Hotel in Sacramento has continued to be one of the best things that has happened to us. We found them years ago and have never turned back. We do not travel too often, however, when ever we find ourselves in the Sacramento area needing lodging it is always the Governors Inn that we turn to. Between the amazing staff, the large rooms and the safe area to leave our vehicle when flying out of town we would not consider going anywhere else. Number one in our book!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Cheryl Z,
Thank you for your incredibly kind review! You are also number one in our book too. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We selected the Governor's Inn Hotel based on some earlier reviews and were not disappointed. It was easy to find, is close to downtown, has ample free parking, is notably clean, and has recently updated and roomy decor. The Hotel has all the services and quality of a comparable "big name" chain hotel without all the advertising. Breakfast was also comparable--the usual "continental" items, plus fresh fruit and yogurt, in an extremely clean setting, staffed to keep it so. Hotel price was fair/competitive. Would readily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morlows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Morlows,
A huge thank you for review on TripAdvisor! Our staff works very hard to exceed the expectation of our guests and we are glad we did so for you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Governors Inn and Hotel, and were pleasantly surprised with all the new updates! We arrived late to check in, but had no trouble finding parking and on top of that it was free. The manager Toni also made us feel like we were staying with old friends who were just waiting for our arrival.

Upon entering our room we discovered that the room had been newly updated from top to bottom. It was wonderful to have such a large desk provided for us so our boys had somewhere to draw, and we had somewhere to work. The fitness center was well maintained and offered a good selection of equipment- as well as the outdoor pool was perfect for a morning swim! But what stuck out most to me was the beautiful selection of carpeting that lead you around the hotel. That was one of the first things I noticed- the interior decorator had great taste! Needless to say I had a wonderful time at the Governers Inn and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Deirdre D,
Thank you for your kind mention in TripAdvisor. We have a great team of people who love what they do and are passionate in serving our guests. Ever since the remodel, we have had many guests compliment us on the interior decorations so I am glad you found them to be exceptional too. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colbert, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Newly Remodeled hotel. Clean and quiet. Pleasant experience overall for our family of 5. I only wish there was an vent fan in the bathroom. The breakfast was ok, but no hot items like eggs. The cleanliness of the room was top notch though. And I appreciated that the fridge was inside the cupboard so it was extra quiet.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaLana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear MamaLana5,
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We very much value our the feedback from our guests. We are glad you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and hotel. Our housekeeping department takes great pride in keeping our rooms and overall facility super clean. Within our Continental Breakfast offering, we offer more traditional items such as orange juice, baked goods, bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt and cereal. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed 6 nights. Hotel van picked us up at the airport. Even took us downtown to the Convention Center. (Close to the American Bike Path--which is very poorly signed). The area was a bit questionable after dark, however, it was that way downtown as well. The light Rail and Greyhound stations are within a half mile and the hotel van will provide transportation. The people, Sarah, George, Heiner, Michael, Pang were very helpful and friendly. The hot tub was hot, the pool a bit too cold to use. Our room was spotless each day we returned. The only mediocre thing was the breakfast. More fruit would have been good, however, we were so happy with the room, we bought our own fruit. Fridge was in the room with a microwave available to use. Breakfast info was posted at front desk and near the always available coffee/tea area. The hallways are long so the side door was handy and near the elevators.

Room Tip: If you are older, ask for a room near the elevators. We had room 205. Opposite the stairs which fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Tucson_AZAdventurer,
Thank you very much for you kind review on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate you highlighting the staff that was most helpful to you. We take great pride in our service to our guests and I am glad you mentioned five who you interacted with during your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge these fine staffers. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing