We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Spa Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Sacramento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Sacramento
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Studio City, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Spa Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Functional hotel with a nice restaurant and pleasant staff. It's location is not the best if you have business in downtown, but my husband was there for a meeting so it was nice to have all the amenities (pool, fitness, good restaurant) at hand. Room service was very disorganized - both times we had to call back for missing items, once for cold food and cream that had turned. But they corrected the problems quickly.
We had a room in the 340's and if you have trouble walking a distance I would suggest requesting a room closer to the elevator.
I treated myself to a spa treatment and was so glad I did! Yung(sp) the esthetician was amazing. The spa is nicely appointed, with everything a spa should have.

Room Tip: We had a room in the 340's and if you have trouble walking a distance I would suggest requesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please keep in mind that even though we are not located in the downtown sector, we are quite close and we do offer a shuttle into downtown at no charge. The shuttle service is a first come first serve--the shuttle travels in a 5 mile radius around the hotel which includes downtown, so next time you visit just ask if it is available should you feel the need to venture into downtown. I apologize for the room service issues, I will bring it to the attention of the restaurant, but I am glad they were able to correct the issues quickly. Spa Lale is a sanctuary, the epitome of relaxation. I am glad you were able to utilize the amenities we have to offer and we look forward to your next visit. Again, thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    64
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
51
76
16
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

staff was friendly. really had a long day travelling and only stayed here to drop my head so can't comment too much on the experience. I found it perfectly fine - clean, updated. room service came from scott's and was fine. my colleague took a walk along the water so seemed to be a perfectly serviceable place. windows opened which to me is a major plus compared to all the city hotels I stay in which seal you in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heavybiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for writing this review. Our goal is to ensure a comfortable stay and to provide friendly service to our guests and I am glad we were able to accomplish this with you. I do hope next time you come stay you can actually enjoy the various amenities that we offer. Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to providing you with the same great service and comfortable stay next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I was a little nervous about staying here after the most recent reviews but I have to disagree with the most recent postings. I love this hotel! Every staff person I met was welcoming, friendly and helpful! Jacquelin at the front desk was so helpful and friendly and made us feel so welcomed. Upon checking in she offered to make our dinner reservations. I am glad she did as it was quite busy at the restaurant. I love the decor of the hotel. It is classy and classical. The room was large, quiet (and yes, we were on the I-5 side), the bed super comfortable. My husband stated it feels a little like a resort on the river and we both said that when we book a hotel, this is exactly what we are looking for! I will definitely stay here again anytime I am in Sacramento. We did not need to be downtown so the location was absolutely perfect! Thank you Westin for a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itech425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. Reading your review is quite refreshing after the last couple of reviews, but everyone has their own opinions and they are entitled to them. We do our best to make sure each guest leaves the hotel feeling good about the hotel choice they made and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The parkview rooms are very quiet as our engineering team has gone through great lengths to ensure the peace and quiet on that side of the hotel. Again, thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with the Tripadvisor world and look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I'm speachless with the treatment I recieved at this property. I used a suite night upgrade from SPG because mine are starting to expire. My "suite" is a regular room on the corner. I know that suite designation is up to the property. But I was so shocked in the room that I called the fornt desk to say I think you made a mistake. Response was "does your room have a fireplace?" Said no. Then surly manager told me they consider this regular corner room is a suite. He was rude and then debated with me what a suite is. I really hope NONE of you ever pay for a suite and get room 346. It's over the kitchen. Sitnky! And the I-5 Noise is awful. Also, this location is very far from downtown. So, don't book for business. I'm definately booking my next three meetings back at the Sheraton Grand. They know all about service and style. Also, this "suite" doesn't have a desk. Excuse the ty[pos because I'm writing this from the most uncomfortable table chair/situation for work I've ever encountered from SPG. I will tell you that the only bright spot was that Robert the valet is a superstar. All of the staff should take his demeanor as a hallmark of what service is. I even called my ambassador at SPG to specifically tell them (1) property sucks; and (2) Robert should be GM.

Room Tip: Um, considering 346 is a "suite", forget staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPGwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry that you felt the way you did about the room you were in. In speaking the the manager on duty that you spoke with that evening, you were given 1,000 points for your dissatisfaction with the room and the inability to upgrade you to a different suite as we were sold out. I do apologize that this was not to your satisfaction and I hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Terrible (no) service. Located next to I-5, the rooms are very noisy. If you ask for different rooms staff turns very unfriendly. Rooms are furnished with the latest cheap chic. No mini bar. I will never stay here again and I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GB1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for writing this review. It is always good for us to hear varying opinions of our property. We do our best to serve our guests as best we can and to make sure their stays are enjoyinable, I am sorry the level of service was not up to your standard and that your stay was not enjoyable. Again, thank you for taking the time to write and wish you well in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for my nephews wedding and enjoyed our stay! We had the rehearsal dinner here and it was good! The rooms are large and comfortable with the beds being top notch. The staff was very friendly and helpful ! I would stay here again if in the area!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are preferable !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Congrats to your nephew on his wedding!! We are quite pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Those Westin Heavenly beds are very nice, its like sleeping on a cloud. Did you know that you can purchase at fine retailers like Nordstroms? Again, thank you for writing and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Impressive hotel - great location off I-5 in Sacramento. Usual wonderful Westin quality. The beds are fabulous. I stayed in a room overlooking the river - lovely setting. Dogs are free up to 45 pounds and are also furnished with Westin heavenly beds. The bathroom is amazing with inviting tub. Room service and restaurant provide high quality food.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1canine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Being a new Westin property it is very nice to hear that the Westin quality is there and that guests such as yourself notice that we are not lacking in anything Westin. I am pleased that you had good stay with us and that you have shared your great experience on Tripadvisor. Again, thank you for writing and we look forward to producing the same top notch service and experience next time you come stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
6.8 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
6.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sacramento

Property: The Westin Sacramento
Address: 4800 Riverside Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95822 (Formerly Le Rivage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#29 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of California’s capital, The Westin Sacramento is a peaceful getaway on the banks of the Sacramento River. Downtown—home to the state capitol and the convention center—and Old Sacramento are just a few minutes away.Treat yourself to a decadent session in our full-service, award-winning spa. Relax by the pool or the river while sipping a glass of wine from a local vineyard. Host a memorable gathering in our 9,000 square feet of meeting and event space.Our 101 luxurious guest rooms and suites ensure a re-energizing stay. The Westin Heavenly Bed® comprises layers of comfort for an uninterrupted night’s rest, while the bathroom offers a deep-soaking claw-foot tub and White Tea by Westin™ amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rivage Sacramento
Hotel Le Rivage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing