We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great... some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sacramento
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mostly great... some bad”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed many nights as Le Rivage - and a couple under Westin. No real difference; great rooms. really nice staff. Very pricey for the area and the parking makes is sometimes not worth the cost or hassle. Literally nothing around it; luckily Scott's is a great restaurant. Easy drive to downtown, but not the closest "nice" hotel by far.

Room Tip: Lots fees and add-ons. No quick breakfast or even decent coffee. Rooms are unbelievable and very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackCa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us. We are pleased that you have been a loyal guest for a while now since you have been staying since before our name change. Scott's is a fantastic option for dining and downtown is a very short drive. Don't forget about the shuttle next time you visit, this way you will not have to worry about parking and allow us to do the driving into downtown and back. We do appreciate your business and we look forward to your next stay. And thank you again for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    67
    25
    9
    12
See reviews for
54
80
16
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I've stayed at the Westin twice, on business both times. I prefer staying downtown, since this Westin is a 15 minute drive from most restaurants. It's also right next to I-5, so if highway noise bothers you, it's not ideal. That being said, the rooms are quite large, and their room service menu is very good, just not very extensive.

Room Tip: Request a room with less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review. It is true we are just a short drive outside of the downtown area where of course you will find more eating options and more things to do. However keep in mind that we do have a courtesy shuttle that will take guests to the downtown area and pick you up as well at no charge. Next time you are here just ask if it is available. Again, thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
237 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and staff. The hotel is nice clean and the staff is on top of everything. As expected from a Western hotel. The seafood restraint is outstanding. There are a large variety of fresh seas food and excellent steaks.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank flyerforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your experience. The staff takes great pride in providing excellent service, our goal to have each guest leave our hotel feeling the way you do. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

If you’re in desperate need of a getaway but unable to find the time or the money to GET…AWAY…I have the answer to your prayers! Or what about family coming to town at the last minute and you need a place in a pinch?! I got that place! As a daughter who just lived through a last-minute parental pop-in, I have the Westin Sacramento to thank for a better relationship with my mother!! She needed a hotel in a matter of days and I was scrambling. The Westin Sacramento immediately came to mind since it was a steady fixture on my morning commute. I checked the prices and the rate seemed too good to be true!
Upon further investigation, I was pleasantly surprised when I walked the hotel grounds. Nestled along the banks of the Sacramento River, the Westin Sacramento is a peaceful pitstop for locals and travelers alike. From the walking trail that’s just off the main lobby to the bocce ball courts overlooking the water, this place has the ability to de-stress and re-energize anyone. I was excited for my mom to experience this and even more excited that I got to experience it with her!
And the room definitely did not disappoint! I first noticed the dreamy bed with its puffy appearance and inviting sheets (which definitely felt better than they looked). My eyes then went to the window—or what I thought was a window and actually turned out to be a door to a private balcony! This really couldn’t get any better but, believe me, it did! The bathroom turned out to be almost as big as the room! It came with all the modern amenities you’d expect with a high class hotel but also a few little surprises that made it extra special—one of which being a deep-soaking claw-foot tub!! Who does that?!
After a meal at Scott’s Seafood and a massage at Spa Lale, my mom has declared Westin Sacramento her permanent residence here in Sacramento. And I have to say, I will be spending much for time there myself! If you’re in the mood for a quick vacation (or just a little R&R) do yourself a favor and check out all that the Westin Sacramento has to offer!

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a view of the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is true we do get a lot of "stay-cationers" that are just trying to get away without leaving town. We do our best to provide this kind of experience, one that guests feel relaxed and well taken care of while staying here. We are very happy your mom enjoyed the property and her experience and look forward to her return. Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at this property from Dec. 23-26 primarily because we wanted to be near our son's home where we celebrated Christmas. I believe the nightly rate was $139. We are members of the Starwood Loyalty program and normally receive a number of amenities. Such was NOT the case at this particular hotel. First, I requested a river view room. Even though the hotel was virtually empty, our request was denied (an additional $40 per night was required to be "upgraded" to river view). I should point out that this river is more of a muddy creek than a beautifully landscaped waterfront. The front desk people were superficially nice but most requests went in one ear and out the other. For example, our telephone was not working and when we reported it, front desk agent said it would be taken care of immediately. The "immediately" was the third day of our stay shortly we before checked out. In all fairness, I should mention that Johnny, doorman, was extremely friendly and helpful. Likewise, Mustafa, who was assigned to the front desk, did us a huge favor one evening by finding us a tasty dinner one evening after the restaurant, Scotts, closed early because of the holidays. In total, this Westin property needs some fine-tuning before it can be transformed into an acceptable hotel property. We'll stick with the downtown Sheraton Grand until these deficiencies are remedied.

Room Tip: Insist on a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maltasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I recently stayed with my wife, children, and a couple of their friends. I can't marvel enough about how attentive the staff are and how clean the property is. Everything is well maintained and if I ever needed a couple extra things or items to be sent up to the room, I was promptly attended within 5 minutes from the time I put the phone down.
The front desk accommodated us with adjoining rooms, which I thought would be impossible since it was last minute. Doors were always opened for us and we were greeted with friendly smiles throughout. The restaurant was great as well. Thank you very much for making our stay very comforting and making us, ordinary people, feel like we were VIPS of the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eytsel120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It's reviews like these that keep us going and continuing to put our best foot forward for our guests. Each guest that stays with us is a VIP! We do our best to hire the right people, the people that actually care about others and show it through their hard work and attention to the needs of our guests. We are pleased to have had you as guests and we look forward to the next time you come to visit. Again, thank you for writing and sharing your experience with us and the Tripadvisor world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

The location of this Westin has to be the best in all of Sacramento. On the river and looking across at a yacht harbor surrounded with palm trees. A real oasis!!! The Scott's Seafood Restaurant is great and the outside sitting area is wonderful.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LOCheydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliott W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Sacramento, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The words used in the title of the review speaks for itself. We do our very best to provide outstanding service companied with a fantastic location. Our spot is a small retreat, we get a lot of locals that stay for the weekend because it feels like they have travelled to a land far away. I thank you for your kind words and we will continue to strive to make our property a true "oasis". We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
6.8 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
6.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sacramento

Property: The Westin Sacramento
Address: 4800 Riverside Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95822-1739 (Formerly Le Rivage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#29 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of California’s capital, The Westin Sacramento is a peaceful getaway on the banks of the Sacramento River. Downtown—home to the state capitol and the convention center—and Old Sacramento are just a few minutes away.Treat yourself to a decadent session in our full-service, award-winning spa. Relax by the pool or the river while sipping a glass of wine from a local vineyard. Host a memorable gathering in our 9,000 square feet of meeting and event space.Our 101 luxurious guest rooms and suites ensure a re-energizing stay. The Westin Heavenly Bed® comprises layers of comfort for an uninterrupted night’s rest, while the bathroom offers a deep-soaking claw-foot tub and White Tea by Westin™ amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rivage Sacramento
Hotel Le Rivage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing