We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting”

Charbay Winery & Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Charbay Distillery Tour and Wine Tasting in Napa Valley
Ranked #69 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Looking for somewhere off-the-beaten-path & refreshingly different in Napa Valley? Come visit this iconic Napa Valley boutique winery, hidden away on Spring Mountain, just minutes from downtown St. Helena. What were you doing when you were 7? If it wasn’t winemaking & distilling alongside your dad, that’s ok! Charbay began its American story in 1983 – when Miles & Susan Karakasevic launched their own dream, following in this family's European tradition. Since then, the journey has encompassed both wines & spirits that have caught the attention of wine enthusiasts & spirits lovers across the country - and two generations here in the U.S. Grab a rocks glass - your tour begins with an aperitif & 'Distilling 101' where you'll learn the how this 13-generation winemaking/distilling family makes classic Alambic brandy. From there, you'll get introduced to Charbay's classic small-lot wines, as well as Napa Valley's favorite port - made with our 30-year collection of Alambic brandies. Humidor of handrolled cigars available to enjoy on the winery patio. Pair it with your favorite wine or port & enjoy the Napa Valley countryside. Charbay is one of the only wineries in the U.S. that distills its own brandy to create the ports and aperitifs you'll remember. To make a great port, we believe you should add a great brandy. So we pick from our 30-year library of barrel-aged brandies made personally by our family's 12th & 13th Generation Master Distillers, Miles & Marko Karakasevic.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Wine tasting”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

First class experience with the most experienced vintners and distillers in California. The staff is thoughtful and will to answer every question. Great line of wines and spirits.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit for change of pace”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here randomly on the way down from Schweiger. We were greeted by their celebrity dogs at the car. We were welcomed with a small cup of split pea stew. The absolute must try/buy is the green tea aperitif. A glass of it with a splash of sparkling lemonade is perhaps the most refreshing alcoholic beverage we have ever consumed. Great place for a change of pace from wine tasting. Not much scenery or photo opportunities, mostly just a barn-type building and a still. Must visit if in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MistaDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very fun experience!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Like several other reviewers, we wanted something different from the other wineries, so we decided to give Charbay a try. You have to make an appointment, but they were very flexible and accomodating. When we arrived, we were greeted by John, who was very friendly and helpful. The first order of business was to take our photo next to the big stills. Since we got home, my husband has been showing everyone the photo on his phone and explaining about distillation. The wines were tasty and John had some additions which made them into wine "cocktails". It was really helpful and different to have these types of suggestions.

As others have noted, you can't taste the spirits here (due to various laws), but it was a really fun visit anyway. We learned about distilling and tasted some good wines and some different items also (such as the green tea aperitif and the pomegranite wine). And, the location is very pretty and woodsy. They will waive the tasting fee if you buy enough wine, so that is a nice perk, too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shashabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
914 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great place you have to stop in”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

WOW, what a nice place to stop in. Yes you need an appt, but it's not that hard to get one. John helped us out for our visit. He was nice and very informative. He let us try all of there wines. They also sell spirits but no can try. I ended up buying a full case of this and that. The green tee drink is outstanding. I hope the spirits are good. I got a few. Give them a try. You cant go wrong

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love love love Charbay!”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My friend and I recently visited Charbay and had an incredible time. We were running a little bit late and John was gracious and told us just ot take our time and arrive safely. Once we arrived to Charbay among the winding hills we were in for a wonderful surprise. John greeted us by name and this small winery/distillery is not only beautiful but is home to the some of the most delicious wines and spirits. My friend left with a bottle of their green tea aperitif which as we were shown when mixed with a lemon sparkling water and zest from one of their budda's hand lemons was absolutely delicious. I left with a bottle of their 2005 Cabernet which can only be described as knock your socks off good. I highly reccomend this place to anyone coming through this area! You will not be dissapointed. I will be ordering from them in the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charbay Winery & Distillery also viewed

Deer Park, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Charbay Winery & Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing