We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of El Bonita Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Bonita Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here two nights last week while in town for a wedding. The hotel looks older on the outside but the rooms were very nice. Had a small patio out back as well as a fridge and small coffee maker. Disappointed in the ironing board as it was a tabletop size and no real place to put it. The breakfast was basic coffee, rolls, cereal, and fresh fruit. Did I mention the shower was great! Updated but a little hard to figure out how to use! Overall, very nice and would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    148
    47
    11
    6
See reviews for
49
118
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was looking for a decent place for less in Napa Valley. Ended up trying this place out based on other reviews. I was quite pleased! The room was spacious and comfortable, and well kept/clean. It was a pretty quaint place overall really, and had a cool atmosphere and charm to it in my opinion. Staff was also just fine. Not impressively friendly or anything, but not rude either. They didn't really engage me at any point at all, from check in to check out, but they certainly weren't bothersome in any way. If they had wowed me as well, i would have been over the top about this place. As it is now, I really enjoyed my stay and gladly will stay here again next time i'm in the area. It was very pleasant and enjoyable, overall!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NATHANHOUSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endwell, NY
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

For the money, the accommodations were excellent! What kept this from being a 5 rating was the poor service at the front desk. We had several instances where they were completely inattentive and bordering on rude. It was not just one person, but it seemed to be the same quality of service no matter who was there. As an example, we had a person in our group have a fairly serious spill on a bike ride and when we got her back to the hotel and at tented to her in the lobby, the people there would not help or even act concerned. If management could address this issue, I would highly recommend this motel for your stay in St. Helena area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is an old-style motel. The rooms are clean and in good condition, but they are basic motel rooms. Nothing fancy. The location is convenient. The breakfast was very basic -- the bare minimum, but the coffee was pretty good. The motel is right on the road and it is loud. These things don't usually bother me, but when the traffic starts rolling by -- around 5 am -- it is pretty hard to sleep. The price is pretty reasonable, for an upscale destination.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank onekbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. As others have mentioned, this lodging is probably the least expensive in the St Helena. We arrived at the beginning of the high season (sign said rates went up April 15 th), and the rooms were far less a bargain on Friday and Saturday nights than on week nights.

When I reserved the room in February, I requested a room away from the highway, but this did not happen. The rooms called "pool side" are just yards from State Route 29. We could hear heavy traffic until about 11:00pm each night and it resumed again by 5:30 am. We were pleasantly surprised to find it was quiet enough for sleeping between those hours. 

Our queen bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The maids were great at straightening up the room and refurbishing the supplies. We could have used a note telling us where to find the hair dryer, since it is not in the bathroom. The bathroom was tiny and needs some wall hooks. The shower was okay, but no fan. The bathroom mirror lighting was adequate.
The outdoor areas were pretty and well maintained. The staff we saw were working hard, though they were not very friendly or service oriented.
Next time we attend the Food Enthusiasts Classes at The Culinary Institute of America, we will try lodging at Calistoga. By the time you get through the traffic in St Helena on Rt 29, there is probably not much difference in the time it takes to reach the Greystone CIA campus.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

That I was greeted by a by a hefty woman seated behind the counter eating her late lunch. She did not attempt to welcome me but another petite woman with a French accent came out and provided me with the necessary keys and information. The other woman continued to look at me with crumbs stuck on her lips with a certain disdain. Was I expected? welcomed? wanted? or was I interruprting their daily life?
It seems that this dream is reoccuring since the CIA decides to put me up at the same hotel every time that I am part of a symposium. I dremed that the breakfast was not very good [please dont call the crescents croissants, it is an insult to the French] and that the recpetion area is filled with employees that do not like their job. I attempted to get a cup of coffee the next morning but the buffet was late. The rooms have been remodelled with inexpensive pieces, in fact the desk knob came off as soon as I touched it.
The dream continues......

Room Tip: stay away from the highway and skip breakfast even though it is free
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first time at El Bonita and it will be my "go to" lodging from now on when in Napa. It is a quaint older motel with small rooms and a newly remodeled bathroom. Our room was super clean and comfy. We had a Keurig and a refrigerator in the room. The staff at check-in was gracious and helpful. The price was very reasonable. I definitely recommend this motel!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank calgal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
0.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
3.0 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
1.0 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#5 of 9 in St. Helena
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#7 of 9 in St. Helena
160 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Bonita Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Bonita Motel

Property: El Bonita Motel
Address: 195 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2197
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — El Bonita Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
motel in Napa Valley,within walking distance to several wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your El Bonita Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bonita Hotel St. Helena
El Bonita St Helena
El Bonita Motel St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing