We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

My family and I stayed at the Harvest Inn which was convienently located on Route 29 in the heart of St. Helena. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was spacious but the beds were very soft and have seen better days. Also the lighting was a bit dark in the room. The bathroom was clean, nice shower and large bathroom overall. Pools were ok, as was hot tub but one of the pools looked like it hadn't been cleaned that day. Breakfast was very good and plenty to choose from and views from the Country kitchen were wonderful. The Rose Garden looked like it was dying and some of the plantings were wilting and dying as well. Overall a nice place to stay but definitely overpriced for what we got.

Room Tip: If you can get to stay here at a reasonable rate its worth it. Rooms toward back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    227
    93
    58
    33
See reviews for
94
682
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We only stayed at the Harvest Inn for one night, would have liked to stay longer. The room was well-sized and well-appointed. We were located very close to one of the two pools but the room was still quiet. We liked the half-bottle of wine and other refreshments in the room, a nice touch. The grounds are quite lovely, as are the views. We didn't get a chance to use either of the pools but they looked inviting. The location was good, we were able to walk in to St Helena.
Breakfast was fine, not amazing but fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoBackpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

It was my friend's 40th birthday, so being the good friend I am, I booked us four nights at the Harvest Inn. When we arrived my heart melted. Check in was located in the quaintest cottage I have ever seen. As we walked to our room I felt like I was in a fairy tail. The cobblestone path wove in between the beautiful lush foliage and flowers. We had a room overlooking the vineyard, a huge stone fireplace & hot tub outside. Awaiting our arrival was a bottle of champaign and a box of handmade chocolates from the local chocolatier. Our deck opened to the vineyards. We were right on the edge of them and what a site they were.

We had the country breakfast each morning and it was good. The Day we arrived there was a complimentary wine & cheese tasting the wine flowed freely but there wasnt enough fruit & cheese. But we were still happy with our wine.

The only negative thing i can say is that I wasn't too impressed with my massage. Think i will skip the spa service next time

Our room was expensive per night, but totally worth it Overall a great experience and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_vixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Harvest Inn! The rooms are great, the service is attentive and the setting is beautiful. (After all, our room overlooked a vineyard). There's also great wineries and restaurants nearby. Most of all, don't forget to get an outdoor massage. We were with Dee and Stacy, who were amazing. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a spa room and get a hot tub on your patio, preferably overlooking the vine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I visit Napa at least once per year. Although I had noticed the sign driving by many times, I had never considered staying here in the past because I thought it was more of a B&B, and not a full service hotel. This year we were invited to an event in St. Helena, and so it made sense to stay close by. Our other options were booked, and so we reserved one night at the Harvest Inn.

We were pleasantly surprised with the beauty of the property and the nice rooms. We stayed in the newer "Fountain" section and while there was some highway noise outside of our room, we didn't notice any inside. The room was very clean, the bath was elegant and spacious and we enjoyed our gas fireplace. The Inn hosted a Saturday night wine tasting (Chappellet - one of our favorites!). Our bed was very comfortable. We were sad to check out the next day when we had to head back to the bay area for business, but we will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caymus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Caymus2:
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Harvest Inn. We are delighted that you chose the Harvest Inn and look forward to seeing you again when visiting the Napa Valley in the future.
Sincerely,
Debbie Greene, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esher, surrey, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for 1 night in a Fountain King room. Lovely room with front patio to sit and chill and have a glass of wine or coffee in the morning if it's warm enough! A welcome bottle of white wine was left for us on arrival. The grounds are beautiful and people were very friendly. Breakfast is adequate and served in a lovely cottage. The whole atmosphere at the Harvest Inn is peaceful and calm
The concierge had contacted us before we arrived and booked a dinner reservation at Press - stunning! Our only criticism is that he told us we could walk to the restaurant ,which we did, but it was a fairly dangerous walk back in the dark along the road.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacki_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Harvest Inn was recommended by a travel agent and what a great recommendation. There are many lovely accommodations in the area but we felt like we made a great choice.
We splurged for the "vineyard view", which is a King suite. It IS lovely but if you've done it once I don't know that you'd need to do it more than once. We did enjoy the quiet and beauty of the vines, filled with grapes, right off our private patio. We even stayed in one night after being tired from wine tasting and ate right out there on our private patio. So nice.

Service was good. The concierge I spoke to on the phone was great, extremely helpful and made us dinner reservations, as well as helped us with finding a driver/tour guide for day 2 of our visit.
On day one we had already lined something up. Gene (our first day tour guide) showed up promptly at 10:00 and is a sweet older gentleman, very nice and warm. He approaches the concierge and asked her if the hotel had any passes for their guests to enjoy free tastings at any of the wineries. He told her a couple of the wineries we like and would be visiting and she very coldly said, "I don't have passes for THOSE wineries...I only have one, it's for Markham". It's not WHAT she said but the snotty WAY she said it, it irked me. She couldn't have been the same girl I had spoken to on the phone, no way.
Oh, and by the way, we did stop by Markham on our day of tasting since it was free and in the area. Ummm, yeah. There's a reason it's free. When you're tasting the likes of Duckhorn, Joseph Phelps, nickel & Nickel, etc, Markham is not in the same league, sorry. Pass on those free passes.

The breakfast was wonderful! A lovely array of fresh fruit, meat, cheeses, even Brie (yum!) , muffins, toast, bagels, ( and a toaster handy), and lots of spreads for any of your breads. They even had a DELICIOUS quiche!! I always expect just cold stuff on a continental breakfast, but this was really really nice. They even will make you a cappuccino or latte, for a charge of course, and it was also very good!!

The room was large, the bed was comfy. The bathroom was very nice. And the place was very clean. They could use a bigger fridge in the room, we always carry water with us and it hardly held anything. BUT, they do have a service where they bring you complimentary bottled water a couple of times a day. Nice touch.

I must say, one comical thing happened...we were dressed up to go to dinner at Tra Vigne (A MUST if you are in the area!!!) and we walked into the lobby to get someone to snap a picture of us, and walking toward us was this VERY tall guy in a tiny little speedo-like bathing suit, and nothing more. Lol! Have to assume he was European, as that would be no big deal for them at all, but my boyfriend and I had to stifle our snickering until we got outside...it was just so unexpected! There IS a pool, but you'd think one would maybe cover up to walk through the lobby...hahahaha. Too funny. This same guy was at the continental breakfast the next day wearing a bathrobe. I guess he really did feel right at home, haha.

I would definitely recommended this hotel, if you can afford the vineyard view and it's near harvest season, do it. If not, you will still enjoy the place. The VV is not a make or break, just a nice extra, but you do pay a nice bit extra for it.
It's right in the heart of St. Helena, and close to so many wonderful wineries. And, several amazing restaurants too. It is in a GREAT location!

Cheers

Room Tip: As I mentioned, the vineyard view is great but not a must if you don't want to she'll out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlygirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing