We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but amazing place in wine country's heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pricey but amazing place in wine country's heart”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

we stayed at this place for 2 nights in january. the inn has beautiful grounds and lovely details and touches that really make it feel like luxury-- delicious soaps, complimentary firewood for your room's fireplace, water and juice in the rooms, robe, slippers, etc.
we reserved a king-bed room with a fireplace and terrace.
the bed was heaven, the fireplace was amazing and i would definitely recommend booking one! in terms of terrace, it was really cold in napa when we were there, so if you are going to go in the winter, I'd say to opt out of the more expensive rooms with a terrace if your looking to cut costs while staying at this place.
the best part of the inn, in my opinion, is the complimentary breakfast. they had tons of options to eat, which is important to us, since we're kosher. they had eggs, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, fruit, etc. and even a little PB&J/sandwich station where we made lunch, since there isnt a vegan or kosher restaurant around for at least an hour.
would def commend staying here and we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: book a room with a fireplace, the hotel provides firewood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliebstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    228
    96
    59
    33
See reviews for
96
692
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH LAKE TAHOE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

There is only one word for the Harvest Inn...Perfect. Friendly, helpful staff; spacious room with bathrobes; beautiful and imaculately kept grounds; delicious free breakfast. My wife and I went here for a romantic getaway and it was great! It was a little more money than we usually pay for a hotel room, but worth every penny!! We can't wait to go back.

Go to the Harvest Inn with someone you love...you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Splurge on a Spa Vineyard room. You get your own outdoor spa with a great view of a vineyard and mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We really loved the Harvest Inn. My husband and I spent two nights there on a recent visit to Napa and were very impressed. Even in January, the grounds were beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed the evening cheese and wine reception on the weekends and were very comfortable in our rooms after several days on the road. I say "rooms" because we had to move for the second night after they started work on a roof at the inn at 7:45am!! I know work needs to get done and we were there in the "off-season," but maybe it could start at 10am or so. At any rate, they were very gracious and moved us to an upgraded room for the second night of our stay. I also had a massage while I was there from their spa service menu and was very happy with the service. I booked it rather last minute, but they were very accommodating. It was a little strange to stand outside waiting for my therapist (they ask you to arrive in your robe if you are staying at the hotel, but there is no inside waiting room, rather you wait by the pool. I am sure that would be fine in the summer, but at 7:55 on a January morning, it was not a great way to prepare for relaxing). The Inn is very centrally located for exploring the Napa valley and we were pleased with the location. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic getaway in Napa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billund, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Our first room was practically 10 meters from the main highway, so the noise was unacceptable, as was trying to get out of the carpark onto said highway!
We asked to move rooms, and the lovely staff helped us out, but there was nowhere on this property we couldn't hear traffic.
The room was lovely, a little small, and the window opened onto the pool, so not very private.
Completely soulless and like sleeping on a highway.
Great location, but unless you sleep like the dead AVOID!

Room Tip: As far from the road as possible, but good luck, as we walked everyemwhere and heard the highway fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notyetfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. I am also surprised to hear that there were noise issues from your room. This is very unusual, as most of guests experience a very quiet and relaxed stay here at the Harvest Inn. Please contact me to discuss your stay and I do look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,

Debbie Greene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in September, in a vineyard-view suite in the Manor House. The suite was quite large - two levels, with the bedroom upstairs, large, luxurious baths both upstairs and downstairs, and a large stone fireplace. The decor is very rustic. Best of all, though, were the large floor-to-ceiling windows opening up to a long balcony with a fantastic view out over the vineyards. The grounds are peaceful and quiet - you'd hardly believe you are right off the main road through Napa Valley. The St. Helena location is good, very convenient to many wineries, and we enjoyed our dinners in town at least as much, if not more, than those we've had in Yountville. I was a bit disappointed in the breakfast, however - we are so used to such excellent breads, croissants, etc. when we visit Napa that the Inn's breads really did not compare well. The balcony and that view, though, more than made up for that.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WDWDolphinFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We've stayed here on a number of occasions with no regrets. Great location, great scenery, especially if you get a vineyard view, definately worth the upgrade. My favorite part is walking thru the beautiful property every morning to the breakfast buffet. It's located near a lot of good restaurants, and within walking distance of a few wineries, when its that part of the day to put the car away.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveling_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Lovely place, very nice accommodations and spa. Beautiful location with friendly staff and great location. I would go back again. The front entrance area is inviting. I didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant because there are so many other great places to eat. The entire area is beautiful and great for couples. It's not a 'family' vacation area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaysaLach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,040 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
676 reviews
16.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,944 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing