We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston SC
1 review
“Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

What a charming Inn! The romantic comfort of the "suite" coupled with the sweet little "extra's" (not to mention the breath-taking grounds) all made memories I shall never forget. The staff was most friendly, accommodating, professional and efficient. My Very Special Friend and I loved the wine and cheese tasting in the charming courtyard and next to the roaring fireplace.....what an ideal location in the heart of many wonderful vineyards! The delicious breakfast on the terrace with such a fabulous vista of the vineyards was the perfect way to begin the day. Harvest Inn, you have my vote. You are a "Five Star" in my opinion and more importantly, I if should ever return to St. Helena, I will definitely book reservations with you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannCharlestonSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear SuzannCharlestonSC,

What wonderful comments! Thank you so very much!

We love hearing from our guests that they appreciate our amenities. From the delicious Wine Country breakfast, to our fireplace suites, we strive to make every guests’ stay memorable. We are happy to hear that you and your Very Special Friend enjoyed yourselves.

Please make sure that the next time you visit, you contact our concierge to reserve visits at some of the unique and beautiful wineries nearby.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you at Harvest Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    226
    90
    58
    33
See reviews for
93
678
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Harvest! Great service and great food each morning for breakfast. We stayed in a vineyard view room near the end of the property, which had beautiful views, but we were close to a side street which was noisy with all of the street construction going on. We would stay a little closer to the middle next time, and we would come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tikiguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear tikiguy123,

Thank you for your great comments! We are very glad that you had a nice stay with us, but our Wine Country Breakfast. Our kitchen staff will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hand made quiches, the extensive selection of pastries, and the fresh brewed coffee.

Although we understand the town and state road repair work may have caused some unusual noise levels, we do pride ourselves on the quaint intimacy that our Inn provides. We are confident that on your next visit you will enjoy the same intimacy for yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and I joined our very good friends for a birthday celebration and they chose a package on line with Jet Blue. All of us looked at the pictures and loved them...hoping that is what we would find when we arrived. The property was perfect! I would recommend the Harvest Inn to anyone traveling to Napa Valley. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were lovely and the location perfect for wine tasting throughout the region. It would be a beautiful place for a wedding celebration...beautiful grounds. We had a complimentary breakfast every morning and is one of the best selections of breakfast goodies. If you are traveling to Napa you need to stay at the Harvest Inn.

Room Tip: Room 201 ... The best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear krose57,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are grateful that you not only chose to stay with us for your birthday celebration, but found the property to your satisfaction. We truly love to offer our guests the best possible experience, so it’s nice to hear when we succeed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harvest Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed two nights at the Harvest Inn in September 2012 (Harvest time!). Getting there was easy, the staff was very helpful and polite. Our Spa Vineyard View room was huge and nicely decorated. It was clean and the king bed was extremely comfortable. We sat in our private hot tub on our private patio and sipped our complimentary wine that first night and it was wonderful! There was a wine tasting both nights that we were there and they had cheese, crackers, and fruit to go with it. There was a wedding Saturday night and it looked like a very elegant event. With such a large crowd, I was expecting some noise that evening but we weren't disturbed at all. The grounds are beautiful (love the koi). We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollers_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear rollers_74,

Thank you so very much for your most gracious comments about your recent experience with us. Fall in the Napa Valley is one of the most beautiful times to be here with the vines heavy with ripe grapes, colorful changing leaves, and the wineries in full harvest swing.

We are incredibly happy that you not only chose to stay with us but had such a wonderful time.

Please think of us again when you are planning your next visit to the Napa Valley! We would love to welcome you back to the Harvest Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Harvest Inn for our 5 year wedding anniversary and we had an amazing time! The staff made our stay so comfortable and had a surprise waiting for us in our room when we checked in. I would tell anyone looking for a place to stay in Napa Valley to stay at Harvest Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear NicoleS88,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a wonderful occasion! We are delighted that you had an amazing time, and that our little “surprise” was waiting for you in your room.

We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for another anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We just stayed two nights at Harvest Inn and we were very impressed. The staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. The entire place inside and out is very well maintained. The grounds were beyond beautiful, with lovely flowers and Redwood trees. We have stayed in many such Inns and this is one of the very best. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was amazing, the shower wonderful. There were no cobwebs on the outside of any of the buildings and not a speck if dust on any surface inside...not on the high up lighting or any of the wood trim anywhere, most unusual... We truly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Harvest Inn to anyone looking for a peaceful, pleasant, and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotrvl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear luvtotrvl_1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel from your recent stay. Your comments and praise are definitely appreciated by all of the staff and management! We are happy to hear that your bed was comfortable, and that you enjoyed our new showers.

Having such a lush property full of trees and flowers can certainly be challenging to keep up, cobweb free, and clean, so are thrilled that the efforts of the team here are noticed.

Harvest Inn looks forward to seeing you back soon, and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

When our reservations at another inn had to be canceled last minute, they kindly put us up at the Harvest Inn which was quite a bit more expensive than our first choice. I have visited St. Helena many times, but never visit this hotel, so I was curious what it was all about.

The good:
The main house is charming and inviting. There were wine tasting and small bites in the early evening on both nights of our stay, so it was a nice way to ease into the night.
The pool and hot tub was large and relaxing.
The grounds are pretty. You can make your way from one building to the next without crossing the parking lot, if you choose.
The room was huge, and included a fireplace and a very comfy bed. It was fairly quiet considering the proximity to a busy road.
It is easy to find on the main road and only a mile from "downtown" St. Helena.

The meh:
The main house is nice, but the bedrooms are dull in their décor. I tend to like something with a bit more personality, and maybe more modern.
The breakfast was pretty good for an upscale motel type of continental breakfast, but that's pretty much all they offer. It is not on par with "bed and breakfast" caliber meals.
The location of the Inn is convenient if you're traveling by car everywhere, but does not provide a charming stroll to downtown restaurants. The walk itself is not long, but it passes car dealerships and other motels and things along the side of a busy road.
My biggest complaint was that the maid service it really aggressive. They entered our room even when we put up a "do not disturb" sign. And then the morning we were leaving, they went in our room while we were at breakfast (9 am on a Sunday?) which made for an awkward wait while they finished up before we could pack our belongings and shower. I couldn't understand why they would even go in there since I would assume they would need to check on things after we left again anyway.

Overall, it is not a bad place to stay, but I don't think it would be particularly memorable either. And for the price to stay there, I would hope for something more.

Pro tip: If you're visiting during 4th of July, there is a fabulous fireworks show across from the hotel. Pick a spot on the front lawn to lay back and enjoy the show.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear CCinCA,

Thank you so much for your comments. We pride ourselves on an ability to meet our guests’ high level of expectations, and when we don’t meet those expectations, we want to hear about it so that we can make your next visit more memorable.

We are pleased to hear you found our property charming and relaxing, however we apologize that the room attendant was aggressive. We will certainly address this behavior with them to ensure that your next visit will be seamless.

Again, thank you so very much for your comments, and for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harvest Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
8.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
8.0 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing