We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in St. Helena, CA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Armonk, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place in St. Helena, CA”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here from June 14th to June 18th for a wedding that was taking place at a different location. We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms feel almost like small cottages. We had a basic king room and it was big enough for the two of us. Bathroom was well done and spacious. I did hear the people next door talking but I guess that's due to thin walls. Anyway, you get free breakfast everyday and they don't skimp out. It's in a lovely "house" and they have fresh juices (loved the Mimosas on Sunday), eggs, croissants, quiches, toast, bagels, muffins, cereals and yogurts with fresh cheeses. Just lovely. We looked fwd to that every morning. The pool was nice too. The hot tub a welcome upon our arrival. I think the pool was nice enough for this property. I would def stay here again as we both felt relaxed and not bothered by anyone. Check in was a breeze! They also have a hotel bar that serves small plates and some wines. Very nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren111279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    231
    96
    60
    34
See reviews for
97
698
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were reserved in a Vineyard King but got upgraded into one of their Manor suites. It was two huge floors with 2 full bathrooms. We had 2 fireplaces and this huge balcony overlooking the vineyards. It was so beautiful and relaxing. The location of the Inn is excellent. Wineries are equally located to your left and right outside of the Inn. The town of St Helena is close with lots of good restaurant options. The complimentary breakfast is great. Not your ordinary continental breakfast. Lots of fresh fruit, and quiche! You could eat inside or outside overlooking the vineyards. The hotel itself is pricey. Even for Napa. But you really do get what you pay for. Service was excellent and the atmosphere of existing in the midst of the wineries can't be beat. Finally, if you are not an early riser, be sure to put the Do Not Distub sign out. Housekeeping on our last day barged in on us. We had a good laugh over it but beware!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danagrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Danagrill,

You sure are right! The Harvest Inn has some of the closest vineyard views and location of anywhere in the valley!

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Wine Country breakfast, and the fantastic fresh fruit and home made quiche. It is definitely a specialty of ours.

Our location within the surrounding wineries and restaurants is a pure luxury. So much can be done within walking distance.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience, and we hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent a long, enjoyable weekend at the Harvest Inn. To be clear - this was at the end of a business trip, and we really didn't want to do much but relax (e.g., we didn't want to visit wineries). The setting alone will help you to unwind. The gardens are magical - we could have walked around them for hours. The architecture is varied and interesting (several different types of rooms and buildings). Our room (in the Fountain area) was comfortable - not spectacular, but perfectly adequate. Comfortable bed, nice fireplace, very nice bathroom(rooms in this part of the property have a separate tub and shower). We happened to stay during a major weekend event, so I imagine that elevated the rates. Breakfast was included - they had a nice range of home-made goodies. Perhaps a bit heavy on the carbs, but delicious. We also spent time in the lodge - there's a beautiful room just beyond the registration area. The pools were inviting. We were able to run on the back roads next to the hotel - past vinyards - really beautiful. And St. Helena (and nearby Yountsville) had more great restaurants than we could ever visit. Overall, we came home relaxed and happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a charming stay with beautiful grounds, pleasant staff, and all the wonderful amenities that Harvest Inn provides its guests. Our accommodation of a King Vineyard view was upgraded to the Presidential Suite upon arrival. It was beautifully decorated, very clean with acres of vineyards viewed from off the balcony. We did not find time with all the Napa attractions to use the spa.

What we liked best: After a full day of vineyard tastings the quiet gardens and swimming pools on the property are a welcome haven for relaxation. The Inn offers an array of complimentary cheeses/snacks at their happy hour--sometimes with complimentary vitner tastings--all in a comfortable great room. A fire every evening and a delicious breakfast every morning lingering over coffee and newspapers--what's not to like? The St. Helena location is a real plus for exceptional vineyards, restaurants and shopping.

Our only complaint--and this is small--is that bottled water was not replenished in our three day stay. We experienced record heat combined with ample wine tastings and were drinking lots of H2O. We didn't know our initial allotment was it. This isn't the type of vacation where one hits the grocery stores being very busy with other activities so arriving back at our room we were without bottled water--with the room pricing per day a couple more bottles would have been much appreciated or I would have saved our bottles to refill had I known. I mentioned this at check out when management inquired about our awesome stay and was told that the front desk always has water--a nice touch, especially if we knew about it.

All said we would definitely return to Harvest Inn next trip to Napa Valley!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed 6 days, celebrating our 35th.
Suite was large, clean and luxurious. Beautiful 2nd floor porch facing across the vineyard and Napa Valley.
Beautiful gardens, vineyard at back and pools.
Feels like Europe.
Staff is so friendly and accommodating.
Secluded and quiet.away from town and street.

Room Tip: face the back, southwest: beautiful morning, afternoon and evening toward vineyard room 121 is perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear WILLIAM W,

Thank you for entrusting Harvest Inn for such a special occasion. We are truly honored to have had you celebrate your 35th anniversary with us!

The suites are definitely a beautiful large room with fantastic views of the vineyards beyond. Our staff will be pleased that they were accommodating during your stay.

Best to you in the next year, and we hope to see you for another anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I and our friends just returned to Texas from a weekend "get away" in Napa Valley. Our stay at this hotel was perfect - everything we could have wanted, starting with wine and visit with Cheryl the bartender right after we checked in to a tour of the gorgeous grounds with groundskeeper Brandon on the morning of our departure. We will definitely stay here again when we return to St. Helena. The hotel is simply lovely.

Room Tip: We loved the suite with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Julia D,

What fun to hear of your getaway! We are so happy to hear that Cheryl welcomed you in the wine bar directly after checking in, and that you were able to explore the grounds with Brandon.
Thank you so very much for letting us know that we were able to deliver everything you possibly wanted. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

After our third stay at this wonderful hotel in St. Helena we have decided that whenever possible we must stay here on all of our future visits. We have been fortunate to be able to visit Napa/Sonoma 5-7 times a year and have stayed in a lot of the hotels and resorts and this by far is our favorite. There are some outstanding properties in both valleys but the Harvest Inn has been able to capture the true Wine Country experience. The staff, location, grounds and rooms are amazing, not to mention you back up to a beautiful vineyard. We sometimes feel as though we are the only guest on property due to the tranquil atmosphere.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful and include a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HI1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear HI1959,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of Harvest Inn. It is a pleasure to hear that we have been able to give you the true wine country experience. From the lush grounds, the staff, and the tranquil atmosphere, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us when you come to Napa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
16.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,989 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
695 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
729 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing