We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Meandering Inn on a Vineyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Harvest Inn turned out to be the perfect choice for our first trip to Napa. We stayed in a Vineyard View room and it was large and beautiful with a grand fireplace, spa bathroom, comfortable bed and spacious patio overlooking the vineyard. The property was peaceful and serene with many paths and alcoves. Breakfast was lovely and the entire atmosphere was that of a vineyard spa resort. We will definitely return.

There is an issue with a portion of the vineyard rooms facing an area where the vines have been removed. While we did not experience any issues with our room it is advisable to inquire about accommodations facing this area. My impression is that the Inn has been forthcoming with guests and I was told it would take about a year for the view to return to normal. I wouldn't choose to stay elsewhere due to this temporary inconvenience, but I would be careful to ensure that my room was in an acceptable location.

Notwithstanding the temporary vineyard issue (see "room tips"), I consider this place a "find" and look forward to returning someday.

Room Tip: There is an issue with a portion of the vineyard rooms facing an area where the vines have been remo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd12traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear dd12traveler,

I was very pleased to read your positive comments about the amenities, grounds and service at the Harvest Inn. Our goal is to be the ultimate Napa Valley resort. and I am happy that we could deliver a great experience with items that are in our control.

The vineyards are an ever changing, living experience. Naturally, the most exciting time for this experience is the growing and harvest season, The Harvest Inn is blessed to be one of the few resorts in Napa Valley that is adjacent to an active producing vineyard, in this case we are adjacent to the famous Leonardini Vineyard of Whitehall Lane Winery and Vineyards. Our guest are exposed to all of the facets of the vineyard life cycle.

We look forward to your visit in the future when you can experience another season of the Napa Valley lifestyle.

Kevin Dimond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

What an absolutely beautiful place with excellent staff (Lauren was exceptional). I've never experienced a hotel where every single staff member we encountered gave us a big smile, said hello, and asked if there was anything we needed.

We only had 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. We spent one day wine touring and the second day lounging around and enjoying the pool (which we basically had to ourselves) and the lush hotel grounds. I love how the hotel is set up like cottages - so charming. Our room was lovely, immaculate and the bed was heavenly. The water bottles & ice delivered to our room every evening were a really nice touch - also the water bottles by the pool are a great idea.

After four fun, but tiring days seeing the sights of San Francisco, this was such a peaceful retreat and the perfect way to end our vacation. We truly felt like we were in the lap of luxury.

I think my only suggestion would be to have some music playing in the wine bar, rather than having the TV on. It would be more relaxing. Also, I'm not sure how often they have someone in to play the piano, but that would be nice entertainment while enjoying a glass of wine.

Room Tip: We were in a room close to the highway, which concerned me but it was actually fine. We rarely heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Ingrid C.

Thank you, for your very kind comments, especially regarding our most important asset, our staff. We strive daily to deliver the finest personal service and amenities to our guest so they can enjoy the ultimate Napa Valley experience.

We are continuously making improvements the the grounds, facilities and amenities to the property. In late 2014 we will be adding a full-service Charlie Palmer signature restaurant that will offer a complete food, beverage and entertainment experience. We look forward to you joining us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Four of us just came back from a 4 day Napa vacation. St. Helena is a perfect spot as central location and this small hotel was the cleanest I have ever stayed in! Very laid back and quiet, super comfortable beds and the breakfast was divine. We had a fireplace room which was very large however the artificial logs they give you don't really create a super fire. Concierge was very helpful! The only other area we might have considered staying was in Yountville.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuegoetzKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank You, for your "Perfect Vacation" comments we are so proud we could provide you with this experience. anytime you need extra large firewood delivered to your room it is just a phone call away. No need to stay in Yountville we have everything you could desire right her in St. Helena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It would be difficult to fault The Harvest Inn in any manner; beautiful setting, spacious comfortable rooms, friendly staff, nice architecture, and a solid breakfast. The pricing also represnts a good value for The Napa Valley. My impression was of a hotel that goes above and beyond in ceating a tranquil environment for thier guests while blending in perfectly with the overall wine soaked charm of the area. Special shout out to the ovrsized tubs!

Room Tip: Further from the road is better, fountain rooms surprisingly luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Travelcrafty,

It was great to read your very kind comments, I especially was happy te read that we provided an excellent value experience. Our staff is always pleased when we can create a tranquil yet invigorating environment in the Napa Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Harvest Inn is in a great spot just outside the centre of St Helena, you can walk into town in about 30 mins. The staff are very polite and helpful and their knowledge of the wineries is excellent. The rooms are spacious, have big comfortable beds, open fires and coffee machines. Breakfast is fantastic with fresh fruits and pastries and a selection of eggs and sausage. There are beautiful gardens and the whole place has a very relaxed atmosphere. It was our first visit to the Napa Valley and I would highly recommend the hotel, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear NigelPS,

Thank you for your fantastic comments. We agree the Harvest Inn is right in the center of everthing, since your stay we have added an evening courtesy car to assist you in going in and around St. Helena. Even more we are happy we could provide you with such excellent service by our staff.

Kevin Dimond
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Harvest Inn. Rooms were spacious and clean. Great breakfast in the morning. Weather was cool so we did not use the pools. Very beautiful areas to walk on property. We did arrange transportation to restaurants in the evening. Good location to get to near by cities. We were visiting off season so traffic was not an issue.

Room Tip: Our room was up a flight of stairs. No problem for us but if you have any walking issues I would ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Diane,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, no matter the season the Napa Valley is always "lovely" I wanted to make sure you were aware for your next visit that we have added a complimentary courtesy car in the evenings, so you can leave the driving to us.

Kevin Dimond,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had not realized that it has been 9 years since our last stay at the Harvest Inn. In reading my last review, I have to agree with most (but not all) of the comments I made back in 2005.

We stayed mid-week again, and at a special rate. Our impression was more favorable than our last visit and it appears:
#1 another re-model has happened since with better quality appointments in both the bedroom and the bathroom.
#2 The breakfast was much more elaborate than I had remembered from our last visit. Lovely offerings!

We cannot thank the Manager enough for the wonderful upgrade to a HUGE room facing the vineyard. The bed and linens are quite comfortable as were the towels. The shower was up there as one of the best we've had in a hotel in a long while. We were above the breakfast room but did not find the noise to interrupt us at all.

I would still recommend choosing your room carefully as some would be more affected by road noise and might be dark. The grounds are well maintained and just beautiful!!!

I will also add that the service and staff were absolutely excellent!!! Everyone was warm, friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Requests rooms facing away from highway 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear MSk6261,

It was great to hear the we have improved, and are providing an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,103 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rancho Caymus Inn
Rancho Caymus Inn
#2 of 2 in Rutherford
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#6 of 6 in Yountville
40 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,467 reviews
1.7 mi away
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
#3 of 9 in St. Helena
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £218 - £610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing