We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens can't make up for the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The gardens setting is beautiful. Liked that a lot. We were greeted right away and had our bags taken to our room. That was lovely. Unfortunately, that's about it on the positive.

The actual receptionist gave a greeting as if we were taking up her time by checking in. The room was dark and cavelike. The furniture feels cheap. The walls are very thin. We heard whole conversations and were woken by our neighbor singing loudly in the shower, which wouldn't have been so bad if he wasn't so off key.

Skip the free breakfast. It was unappealing on all fronts unless you just want toast.

There are many much nicer plays in the Valley. Definitely skip this one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phdandtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear PHDandtrees

I truly apologize for any shortcoming you experienced, I can assure you we are continuously addressing the comments you brought up. I can assure you if you contact my office on your next stay I will personally make sure you have a perfect experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were passing thru Napa for one night and I had booked a King room with a vineyard view.When we arrived we were upgraded at no charge to a huge beautiful two level suite with two fireplaces and large terrace overlooking the vineyards.The grounds are lush and very relaxing after a long day.The breakfast which is included was disappointing however.It was crowded and the staff seemed overwhelmed.The food was served buffet style but was similar to breakfast I have had at Hampton Inns!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear DeeDee R,

Thank You very much for your kind comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your room breakfast and the landscaping. We llok forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at Harvest in for the weekend. Service was very good. Two issues; room Rose 101 was close to the road and had a lot of traffic noise and our balloon ride was miss-scheduled which left us waiting for a 5 am pick-up that never came. I would recommend this for couples and groups just avoid room 101 and make your own excursion arrangements

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

I am pleased to hear the location and property were so pleasing, I do apologize that your room location was not secluded enough for your liking and there was a problem with your excursion booking, certainly not our intention. We want every guest to experience the best of the valley in a seamless manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

They didn't tell us the 4th of july fireworks had been cancelled until the day they got to keep the money for one night of our 3 night stay for all 3 suites if we cancelled ( 4 days prior to check in) No one would return our calls for a week.
When we did finally get a hold of someone, they were rude to us. We lost over a $1,000.
After staying here dozens of times over 10 years, we will be staying elsewhere now.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Marigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Marigator,

I am sorry that you you did not have all of your expectations met for your Napa Valley stay.
The fire works were actually never cancelled, for environmental reasons they were moved 2 blocks north in St. Helena. I would like to rebuild the relationship, please contact my office on your next visit and I would like to make sure you have a perfect visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were so looking forward to a special time at this inn but ended up finding it to be nothing more than motelish-style rooms with dull colors and worn carpets. There was no style to suggest it was a wine country room. The bathroom had linoleum flooring. We asked to change rooms and were charged an upgrade for nothing more except a fireplace that made the room smell like smoke. The grounds were pleasant but the advertised rose garden was overrun by weeds and the vineyard was removed. We didn't even stay for breakfast after looking in the window that evening and seeing the muffins already out and not even covered. We would definitely not book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Victoria,

I am truly sorry and apologetic that we disappointed you on your recent stay, The Harvest Inn features completely modern facilities and unfortunately you did not experience us at our best. I would appreciate you contacting me personally on your next visit so we can make sure you have an incredible experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This old English Tudor style inn has lovely grounds, small cottage holding 2 to 3 rooms, some of the rooms have fireplaces and others have a small porch facing the orchard and the mountains. Some of the rooms are old and dark.

A word of caution - I was very surprised when the front desk allowed a family member to enter our room without even asking for any type of ID...so much for security !

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 530Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Maria,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. and you found the environment pleasing. I sincerely apologize for the apparent lack of security, it is not our intention nor are normal practice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel and can say the greeting at the front entrance was great. The rooms was comfortable but smelled of smoke. View of vineyard was non existent since they were replanting the entire field. The a/c unit was not working when I arrived but the maintenance guy worked very hard to fix once he arrived. Breakfast which is included was good and had a good selection of hit and cold food. But remember location location location near wineries makes this place prime.

Cons: gym is tiny..3 pieces of cardio equipment. Pool could use a vacuuming and shock treatment.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank kmcmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear KMC,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments they are appreciated. Our fireplace are one of our greatest features and we are ever vigilent to make sure we minimize any residual smoke smell. The vineyard is ever changing with the seasons and the planting cycles and gives our guest a first hand look at the finer points of a working vineyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
7.9 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
760 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,432 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,077 reviews
16.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £188 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing