We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place in St. Helena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A special place in St. Helena”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We spent three special nights here in July with friends. The rooms were spacious and well furnished. The grounds are terrific. The whole resort has a theme of understated, unpretentious elegance. Breakfast was pretty good - quiche, sausage, pastries, oatmeal and cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, coffee - enough to get you going but not heavy or overwhelming. The staff aims to please and looks for moments to "wow" you. The house car (in the evenings) is very helpful. This is a good base of operations for Napa Valley wine tastings. It is also a good place to rest after a long day of tastings.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Anthony,

We agree with you the Harvest Inn is a very special place in St. Helena and the Napa Valley. We look forward to many more visits when we can Wow you with our understated elegance. We are expanding our food & beverage selections in the coming months including the addition of a Charlie Palmer signature restaurant. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    227
    95
    59
    33
See reviews for
96
686
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here as our base for four days of wine tasting in the Napa Valley region. The location was perfect for this. Right on Rt. 29 and between Napa and Calistoga.
We loved the gardens which are beautifully maintained. The hotel is actually a number of buildings with gardens throughout. It looks like a small neighborhood. The walk to breakfast in the morning was very pleasant but we had beautiful weather the whole time. We liked the staff. All seemed friendly without being intrusive. I felt they would try to accommodate us if we asked for something. The room we stayed in was on the second floor with an outdoor walk up. The room was beautiful and very clean. Very large bathroom with a large soaking tub and large shower. They provide a refrigerator and safe for storing valuables. We had no complaints about the bed, it was comfortable. The pool was lovely. There are two pools, we only went to the one closest to our room. The exercise area was adequate with two treadmills, an elliptical and a stationary bike. There is no area outside to jog or walk and the exercise room was busy most mornings. We thought the breakfast was good. There was lots of fruit, a very good quiche (when they did not serve the powder eggs), sausage and breads to include croissants.
The price was high. We paid about $400 per night.
The one complaint we had was that we were not told we would be carrying two large suitcases up a flight of stairs to get to our room. We drove to our room from the reception area and no one offered or was available to help with it. We must have looked very fit and healthy so they didn't bother to offer. We would stay here again, but try to get a better deal. Overall it was a lovely experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank You Daytripper 39.

The harvest inn is an excellent base for all things Napa. The detail of your stay is exactly as we would like to see every guest visit go. Based on your comments we are creating a walking and jogging trail map. We are also m making sure every egg is cracked just before hitting the pan for breakfast, we want no mistake that we are serving only freshest of ingredients. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We unfortunately only had time to spend one night at the Harvest Inn, however, that one night made us want to come back very soon. The grounds at the Harvest Inn were beautiful. Our room was spacious and really nice. The included breakfast buffet was great and we sat outside with a view of the valley drinking coffee. Additionally, the Harvest Inn is located perfectly for easy access to wine tasting and restaurants in Napa Valley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbrstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear MBR Stuff,

Thank You so much for your great comments, we truly appreciate them. The entire staff is proud that we could be part of a memorable stay in Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here on July 5th for one night on our way to Healdsburg (all the hotels were booked for the July 4th weekend). I am a hotel snob and wasn't sure what to expect based on the looks of the property. The rooms were big and very clean - I give them 5 stars for cleanliness. The breakfast was great and they had complimentary bottled water by the pool. The staff was very friendly! The pool areas are older and in need of an update, but overall I was pleased with our stay at Harvest Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHBTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear CHBTX,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we are glad that we could overcome your apprehension and exceed your expectations. Our staff is always seeking to make the difference in a guests stay, and we look forward to a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I should have listened to the other reviews that described this property as a 2 star hotel disguised as a 4 star. For $1200 for 2 nights (YES $1200!) I expected a first class experience - unfortunately, the service and food were closer to a Embassy Suites experience.

We arrived a little early and asked the front desk where we could spend the next hour before our room was ready. The suggestions were to go to town and wait, where we had just come from. I asked if there was something else on site, a garden, a bar, something. Not really, no where for us to go. She was not helpful and was not focused on the experience of the clients as all.

First the good - the gardens are well maintained and really gorgeous. Lots of attention to the detail of the beautiful property.

Then the room - large, overlooking the vineyard, sort of private. Large clean bathroom and a nice tub. The bed however, was horribly uncomfortable with a fluffy topper that sunk down about 4 inches. I felt like I was sleeping in a hole, it was hot and made my back hurt. The balcony was nice but had no shade so there was no way you could really sit out there in full sun anytime after 11:00 am. The hot tub took up the rest of the patio which we did not use - it was too warm out. There was a really strong smoke smell because they don't have anything pushing the air back down the fireplace - it was annoying but we opened the patio door the whole time we were in the room and that helped.

The bar was a mess - none of the bartenders knew the first thing about wine, which is just odd to me at a very expensive Napa valley hotel. Why not have a bar where there is an actual wine country experience instead of the bar you would find at a motel? I don't get this at all. $15 glass of chardonnay served by someone who has no clue what he is pouring.

The breakfast was awful - but it was free! If you consider dry, powdery eggs and Safeway bagels a good deal after you have spent $600 to stay here. That there is no actual cooked breakfast instead of (again) a Embassy Suites style buffet is shocking to me at this price. If I was paying $200 a night, I would expect this breakfast.

I would not stay here again and would not recommend it. Sad really, it is a gorgeous place and probably was once a lovely place to call home while you visit Napa valley.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Molly N.

I truly apologize for any shortcoming you experienced, I can assure you we are continuously addressing the comments you brought up. I can assure you if you contact my office on your next stay I will personally make sure you have a perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The gardens setting is beautiful. Liked that a lot. We were greeted right away and had our bags taken to our room. That was lovely. Unfortunately, that's about it on the positive.

The actual receptionist gave a greeting as if we were taking up her time by checking in. The room was dark and cavelike. The furniture feels cheap. The walls are very thin. We heard whole conversations and were woken by our neighbor singing loudly in the shower, which wouldn't have been so bad if he wasn't so off key.

Skip the free breakfast. It was unappealing on all fronts unless you just want toast.

There are many much nicer plays in the Valley. Definitely skip this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phdandtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear PHDandtrees

I truly apologize for any shortcoming you experienced, I can assure you we are continuously addressing the comments you brought up. I can assure you if you contact my office on your next stay I will personally make sure you have a perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were passing thru Napa for one night and I had booked a King room with a vineyard view.When we arrived we were upgraded at no charge to a huge beautiful two level suite with two fireplaces and large terrace overlooking the vineyards.The grounds are lush and very relaxing after a long day.The breakfast which is included was disappointing however.It was crowded and the staff seemed overwhelmed.The food was served buffet style but was similar to breakfast I have had at Hampton Inns!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear DeeDee R,

Thank You very much for your kind comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your room breakfast and the landscaping. We llok forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing