We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus. Ohio
Level Contributor
303 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Yes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a remarkable place to rest, relax, and renew. It's on the southern outskirts of St Helena and right on the main drag, but you'd never know it. As soon as we turned onto the grounds, the world went still. Rooms were sumptuous, with fireplaces, large baths [with separate tubs and walk-in showers], and comfy beds. The grounds were verdant, lush, and beautifully cared for. Staff were wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. The breakfasts were pitch perfect. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I honestly don't think there's a bad unit in the place. Some overlook the vineyards, others...
See more room tips
Green Features: My sense is that they're environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Peebs777,

The entire staff appreciated your remarkable comments, we are all pleased that that our location in paradise and facilities could be matched by our caring staff. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    227
    94
    58
    33
See reviews for
94
683
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I took a group of friends to wine country to enjoy a long weekend. I had stayed at the Harvest Inn a couple of times over the last few years. Its an oasis in the middle of the sometimes very hectic valley. This trip was by far the best experience I've had there. I found the staff to be more attentive, more engaged and paying attention to the little things that make the difference between a good stay and a great stay. Hector (who I saw playing several roles while there) comes to mind instantly. He was so attentive and I could tell that he took it personally that I had an outstanding experience the whole time I had my group there. Bravo and well done!

Room Tip: The fountain view rooms provide a nice ambiance...I could hear the fountain from my room. Very rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear DM.

It is a great pleasure to respond to your wonderful review. We are so glad that we could improve upon your previous stays. We are always striving to to create new levels of excellence, in all things large and small. We are also proud and pleased that Hector could make such an impression on you and enrich your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Lobby, quaint bar, main guest areas, brickwork, buildings and grounds are phenominal! The garden settings and walkways are lovely and peaceful. The main accent in our beautiful room was the huge brick Fireplace, which we enjoyed on a cool evening in July. Our patio was a view of the vineyards. The breakfast was great and had everything you could want. Wish we had stayed much longer there and will definitely be back!

Jackie W
Mission Viejo, CA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaclin1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jackie,

We truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Not only because your was so excellent but because you had a chance to experience our continental breakfast. We look forward to your return visit. We will work on making even more improvements in that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The harvest inn is a quiet (although close to the main road) hotel in the heart of napa valley. Wine tasting is possible close to the hotel. The hotel serves a breakfast buffet which is decent although not the best I've ever had. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere of the hotel is great. I would visit this place again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Marc,

Thank you for your great feedback. You are right we located next to everything. I will certainly promise you that we are continuing to make improvements to our breakfast everyday. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We spent three special nights here in July with friends. The rooms were spacious and well furnished. The grounds are terrific. The whole resort has a theme of understated, unpretentious elegance. Breakfast was pretty good - quiche, sausage, pastries, oatmeal and cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, coffee - enough to get you going but not heavy or overwhelming. The staff aims to please and looks for moments to "wow" you. The house car (in the evenings) is very helpful. This is a good base of operations for Napa Valley wine tastings. It is also a good place to rest after a long day of tastings.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Anthony,

We agree with you the Harvest Inn is a very special place in St. Helena and the Napa Valley. We look forward to many more visits when we can Wow you with our understated elegance. We are expanding our food & beverage selections in the coming months including the addition of a Charlie Palmer signature restaurant. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here as our base for four days of wine tasting in the Napa Valley region. The location was perfect for this. Right on Rt. 29 and between Napa and Calistoga.
We loved the gardens which are beautifully maintained. The hotel is actually a number of buildings with gardens throughout. It looks like a small neighborhood. The walk to breakfast in the morning was very pleasant but we had beautiful weather the whole time. We liked the staff. All seemed friendly without being intrusive. I felt they would try to accommodate us if we asked for something. The room we stayed in was on the second floor with an outdoor walk up. The room was beautiful and very clean. Very large bathroom with a large soaking tub and large shower. They provide a refrigerator and safe for storing valuables. We had no complaints about the bed, it was comfortable. The pool was lovely. There are two pools, we only went to the one closest to our room. The exercise area was adequate with two treadmills, an elliptical and a stationary bike. There is no area outside to jog or walk and the exercise room was busy most mornings. We thought the breakfast was good. There was lots of fruit, a very good quiche (when they did not serve the powder eggs), sausage and breads to include croissants.
The price was high. We paid about $400 per night.
The one complaint we had was that we were not told we would be carrying two large suitcases up a flight of stairs to get to our room. We drove to our room from the reception area and no one offered or was available to help with it. We must have looked very fit and healthy so they didn't bother to offer. We would stay here again, but try to get a better deal. Overall it was a lovely experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank You Daytripper 39.

The harvest inn is an excellent base for all things Napa. The detail of your stay is exactly as we would like to see every guest visit go. Based on your comments we are creating a walking and jogging trail map. We are also m making sure every egg is cracked just before hitting the pan for breakfast, we want no mistake that we are serving only freshest of ingredients. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We unfortunately only had time to spend one night at the Harvest Inn, however, that one night made us want to come back very soon. The grounds at the Harvest Inn were beautiful. Our room was spacious and really nice. The included breakfast buffet was great and we sat outside with a view of the valley drinking coffee. Additionally, the Harvest Inn is located perfectly for easy access to wine tasting and restaurants in Napa Valley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbrstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear MBR Stuff,

Thank You so much for your great comments, we truly appreciate them. The entire staff is proud that we could be part of a memorable stay in Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing