We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wine Country Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Connroe, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Wine Country Getaway”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Harvest Inn is a great place to stay. Booked our stay on Vacationist, and got a decent rate. Everything about the Harvest Inn was outstanding. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were roomy and well appointed. The setting is exquisite. As its address (One Main St.) would imply, it is convenient to the center of St. Helena. Great wineries abound with Heitz, Mondavi, Louis Martini, Rombauer and more very convenient to the inn.
Breakfast is included and my reservation stated a "continental breakfast." It was so much more with eggs, sausage, a great quiche, fresh fruit, and more.
The Inn is located adjacent to a vineyard and the rooms are divided into several buildings. It's quaint and charming at the same time.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Many rooms have fireplaces and views of the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Phillip B,

Thank you for your wonderful and kind comments. We are glad that we could provide you with a great wine country getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    227
    95
    59
    33
See reviews for
96
686
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved our recent visit to this special place. The wine and cheese in the evening was wonderful. My husband, who has a master in Landscape Architecture, loved the beautiful grounds. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not near street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartonely89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Smartonely89,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are so glad you experienced the resort to its fullest. Please let my office know on your return stay, we would love to meet you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St peter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I booked two nights at the Harvest Inn in June for a August vacations. As it turned out my Sister, who has been in chemo treatments was told she only had a few weeks. I immediately notified the Harvest Inn to cancel my reservation. I was informed there would be a $35.00 cancelation fee and they would not waive it. I am sorry but when you have a family emergency and have to cancel your trip and you give them approx 5 weeks notice there should be no charge. So when we do get the St. Helena you can be sure we will NOT be staying at the Harvest Inn.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Dawn,

I apologize that your request was not handled we more sensitivity, I can assure you that it is not indicative of our resort standards. If you contact my office personally on your next visit I will make sure you have a perfect stay. As of this writing you have been refunded for your cancellation fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The owners of this property have paid attention to every detail to ensure your comfort during your stay. The landscaping and property placement keeps you surrounded by tranquil quiet inspite of it's location just next to the main route. The views of the vinyards from the property were enchanting, especially at night. The rooms are immaculately clean, the beds and bedding extremely comfortable, and the staff is exceptionally attentive. This is a very expensive place to stay, but when compared to other alternatives in the area, the price point for the quality is quite reasonable. The Napa Valley region is very expensive as far as hotels are concerned. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and families as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaFollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear LaFollette,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments, We are especially gratified to have you recognize the value we provide. Our resort is the perfect napa valley experience and we are glad you could relax and enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family stayed two nights at this wonderful inn. Though we enjoyed wine tasting immensely, we couldn't wait to get back to the Harvest Inn. The staff is very attentive and the setting is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Scammy,

We are so glad we could be your serene respite, during your brief stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Idyllic surroundings - the landscaping is fantastic and the architecture is charming. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is hearty and offers a great selection. The rooms are clean and comfortable - excellent amenities and loved all the extra touches. Refreshing pool, great views, quiet and serene. Centrally located near amazing wineries and restaurants. You can't miss with Harvest Inn.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from any children, if this is important to you, as their voices carry...
See more room tips
Green Features: Pleased with this hotels' commitment to the environment!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forloveofthevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear for the love of the vine,

It was great to hear that an experienced wine country visitor like yourself. found our resort to be so relaxing and refreshing. On your return visit I would like to meet with you personally so we could learn how to make your visit a true 5 star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Harvest Inn in July 2014. Upon arrival, we loved the beautiful surroundings with the large sequoia trees and woodsy environment. The Inn is set back somewhat from the Hwy which is nice and the grounds are very well maintained. The staff was extremely nice. We were greeted everywhere we went around the Inn and asked if there was anything that they could do to make our trip better. It was nice to see the attention that they gave and how friendly everyone was. Our room (#408) was an upstairs Garden View room. It had a king bed, fireplace, private balcony and very spacious bathroom. We loved it. It was not cramped and we'd stay there again. Bathrooms are always a big deal as so many hotels don't give you any space and or counter room. There was plenty of counter space in addition to a large tub and separate walk-in shower. In the evening, we had a turn down service which was nice and they provided us with a wonderful complimentary bottle of wine that was delicious. The complimentary breakfast each morning was also a nice benefit before we headed out on our wine tasting tours. The location of the Inn in St Helena was also perfect in getting to and from everywhere in the Valley. We highly recommend the Harvest Inn and will stay there again ourselves. If we had one concern it would be to make sure you don't get put in a room on the perimeter towards the highway. We could see the noise being an issue along the Highway.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms along the Highway as they could have more traffic noise. The Vineyard view r...
See more room tips
Green Features: The property is quite large with lots of gardens and tall trees. It is very relaxing.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Wow

Thank you for your kind and most descriptive comments of the Harvest Inn We are so glad we could be part of your getaway in Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing