We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Napa Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our second visit to The Harvest Inn in three years - we are hard-pressed to find another property that offers such well-appointed accommodations and surroundings, unless we were looking to break the 4-figure per night range.

The immaculately landscaped grounds are a big draw, as is its central location - also known as Highway 29, but you'd never know you are on such a heavily-trafficked road thanks to all the foliage and the fact that the buildings are at a remove from the street.

Enjoyed both the pool and the hot-tub at night (no one else around!), along with the wood burning in-room fireplace during a chilly evening. Generously sized rooms and bathrooms, with C.O. Bigelow Apothecaries products. Wonderfully comfortable bed and linens.

Only negative comment echoes an earlier reviewer who noted that they apply a $35 Cancellation Fee - this fee was not disclosed when I booked the property via Hotels.com, and as I made a mistake in the booking date, I immediately cancelled the reservation - weeks before their Cancellation Policy and associated penalties took effect. Three months after the original booking and cancellation, and two months after staying at the property, I am still trying to obtain a refund for the $35 as this fee was not disclosed either prior to, during or immediately after booking, and was levied notwithstanding the fact that the cancellation occurred well outside their stated window. It's a poor and unjustifiable business practice that detracts from the otherwise terrific experience that the property offers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear DSC2014,

Thank You for your kind comments, in spite of the issue with the cancellation policy, I want the Harvest Inn to remain your Favorite Napa Property. I have contacted you separately to make sure your cancellation was refunded properly. I appreciate that you understand the value and the beauty delivered at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
There are newer reviews for Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

To take our disappointing experience a step further, I received my charge card bill today and Harvest Inn was notified on July 17th that we were cancelling our Aug vacation reservations and as of Aug 2nd (last day of any billing on my statement) they still had $933 of my money. They also still had the $35 they charged us for cancelling 5 weeks prior to our planned stay. The public needs to know these things and I am glad to post my good as well as bad experiences. They have failed to comment on my wife's post re the $35 obnoxious charge to cancel due to a family members failing health. I'd run and hide if I were them also.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank harley252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Harley,

I apologize that your request was not handled we more sensitivity, I can assure you that it is not indicative of our resort standards. If you contact my office personally on your next visit I will make sure you have a perfect stay. As of this writing you have been refunded for your cancellation fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Harvest Inn is a great place to stay. Booked our stay on Vacationist, and got a decent rate. Everything about the Harvest Inn was outstanding. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were roomy and well appointed. The setting is exquisite. As its address (One Main St.) would imply, it is convenient to the center of St. Helena. Great wineries abound with Heitz, Mondavi, Louis Martini, Rombauer and more very convenient to the inn.
Breakfast is included and my reservation stated a "continental breakfast." It was so much more with eggs, sausage, a great quiche, fresh fruit, and more.
The Inn is located adjacent to a vineyard and the rooms are divided into several buildings. It's quaint and charming at the same time.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Many rooms have fireplaces and views of the vineyard.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Phillip B,

Thank you for your wonderful and kind comments. We are glad that we could provide you with a great wine country getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved our recent visit to this special place. The wine and cheese in the evening was wonderful. My husband, who has a master in Landscape Architecture, loved the beautiful grounds. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not near street
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank smartonely89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Smartonely89,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are so glad you experienced the resort to its fullest. Please let my office know on your return stay, we would love to meet you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked two nights at the Harvest Inn in June for a August vacations. As it turned out my Sister, who has been in chemo treatments was told she only had a few weeks. I immediately notified the Harvest Inn to cancel my reservation. I was informed there would be a $35.00 cancelation fee and they would not waive it. I am sorry but when you have a family emergency and have to cancel your trip and you give them approx 5 weeks notice there should be no charge. So when we do get the St. Helena you can be sure we will NOT be staying at the Harvest Inn.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Dawn,

I apologize that your request was not handled we more sensitivity, I can assure you that it is not indicative of our resort standards. If you contact my office personally on your next visit I will make sure you have a perfect stay. As of this writing you have been refunded for your cancellation fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The owners of this property have paid attention to every detail to ensure your comfort during your stay. The landscaping and property placement keeps you surrounded by tranquil quiet inspite of it's location just next to the main route. The views of the vinyards from the property were enchanting, especially at night. The rooms are immaculately clean, the beds and bedding extremely comfortable, and the staff is exceptionally attentive. This is a very expensive place to stay, but when compared to other alternatives in the area, the price point for the quality is quite reasonable. The Napa Valley region is very expensive as far as hotels are concerned. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and families as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaFollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear LaFollette,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments, We are especially gratified to have you recognize the value we provide. Our resort is the perfect napa valley experience and we are glad you could relax and enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family stayed two nights at this wonderful inn. Though we enjoyed wine tasting immensely, we couldn't wait to get back to the Harvest Inn. The staff is very attentive and the setting is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Scammy,

We are so glad we could be your serene respite, during your brief stay. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#4 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
16.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £233 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing