We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southbridge Napa Valley
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We came up to have dinner at the Meadowwood and wanted to stay somewhere close-by. Southbridge was only a ten minute drive away and was perfectly located in central St. Helena. The rating is mostly for the included breakfast (enough to fill you up rather than just stale bread and coffee/tea) and the location as the room seemed dated and the bathroom needed upgrading. Overall, the stay was fine but if you are looking for a more beautiful space, I'd keep looking. If it's location you are seeking, this was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    43
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
98
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent three nights here and enjoyed our stay. Great location - easy walk to downtown St. Helena and right across from Gott's Roadside if you need a burger fix! Our room was spacious and very comfortable - a little noisy since we were facing Hwy 29, but not a big issue for us.

The spa was wonderful - workout area/pool which you can use for free as a hotel guest and massages, while a bit on the expensive side ($130 for 50 min), were great too.

Continental breakfast was a little paltry, but there is a good b'fast place downtown called Gillwoods Cafe. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the back or facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMac322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Small, charming hotel in a perfect location. St Helena is my favorite town in the Napa Valley - it's convenient to lots of great wineries, restaurants and shops.

Southbridge has large, tastefully decorated and well-appointed rooms, each with a fireplace and small balcony. The bed was incredibly comfortable. There was a small coffee pot in the room and a well stocked minibar. Nightly turndown service was a nice touch - everything was designed with the visitor's comfort in mind.

We walked the short distance to Tra Vigne for a nightcap. It's a lovely place for a drink, and we met some interesting people in the wine business. We'll definitely stay at Southbridge again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulunolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Southbridge provided us a very pleasant stay. The location was excellent for everything we came to the Napa Valley to enjoy. The wineries and dining options were close by and easy to get to for somene who has never been to the area. The rooms were large, clean, comfortable, however minimal decor. The staff was very helpful to all of our requests for conceirge services. Everyone was eager to answer questions and help plan our days. Having free use of the health spa next door was a great benefit. The breakfast was included, similar to a Hampton Inn style of breakfast,nothing special, but it was all we needed. As with all of the Napa Valley hotels we researched, the value is not great, but it has a competitive price to other hotels in the area for the quailty of offerings

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTJTKTKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Southbridge offers the rarest of amenities in the Napa Valley and that is the ability to walk to restaurants, shops, and even some wineries! Nestled between restaurants and wineries in the heart of St. Helena, it is easy to miss the property driving up valley. This is a tranquil oasis with only 21 rooms and outstanding service. The Napa Valley Health Spa is next door and is a great place for a workout, lounging at the pool or a treatment. Rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfy beds, soft linens and fluffy pillows. A fireplace wards off the chilly evenings and each room has a balcony. Breakfast offers choices of breads, pastries, yogurt and more. The Belgian chocolates left in my room made me feel welcome as did the turn down service with more chocolate treats. The best part is that I could walk to two wineries for tastings (complimentary for guests) and there were lots of restaurants in town, a short walk away. I loved staying here and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Room 6 has lots of windows and looks out over Merryvale Winery and is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InternationalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This inn is just what you'd want to go along with a village that is so beautiful. Rooms are very comfortable beds that include very soft sheets. New large screen TV and no shortage of plugs for my iPad and cell phones charging. The Spa sits on the property and is first class from work out facilities to massages and facials. The inn is connected to a restaurant called Tra Vigne, which has a menu that is very special. Marcelle is manager and her and her staff are ready to help any time you walk by the front desk and lots of tips for wine tasting and sightseeing. Southbridge is located in the village so walking both sides of the streets visiting the stores is lots of fun. Don't miss the Model Bakery for lunch and my favorite men's store called Mario's that feature my favorite Alberto jeans, and visit Steve's Hardware no other town has one. So at the end of the day you'll be happy you experienced this hotel and visiting St Helena will take you back in time with up to date comfort.
J and J (Florida)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cousj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeadowoodNV, Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Southbridge and your visit to St. Helena. We value feedback from seasoned travelers like yourselves and are glad that you continue to return to Southbridge for your spring vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful with our bicycles but the rooms were okay but large and clean but a bit drab and in need of an upgrade and will remind you more of a Hilton or Marriot. The hotel is in what feels like an office park with cement all around you so this is not the place for you if you want a great view of the valley. Breakfast each morning was an assortment fruits, cereals and good pastries. The location can't be beat, but the price seems a bit steep for what it lacks.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirreletta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Southbridge Napa Valley, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Kind guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We recognize there are certain areas of our property that will benefit from refreshing. This is why, in late January, we added brand new fine terry guest robes to all of our rooms along with brand new linens and bedding. We will continue to debut more refreshed soft goods this coming year. We believe our location in the heart of downtown St. Helena is a highlight of our property. It’s always wonderful to hear of guests traveling with bicycles. We’re happy to make arrangements to store bicycles and encourage guests to experience the beautiful town of St. Helena on two wheels! We would truly welcome the opportunity for you to experience some of our enlivened rooms the next time you have plans to visit the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
0.9 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
2.3 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
8.8 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Napa Valley

Property: Southbridge Napa Valley
Address: 1020 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2011 (Formerly Inn at Southbridge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbridge Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbridge Napa Valley is located on Main Street in the historic town of St. Helena in the heart of America's most famous wine growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southbridge Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Southbridge Hotel St. Helena
Southbridge Inn
Southbridge Napa Valley St. Helena, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing