We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southbridge Napa Valley
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Southbridge is a bit of a hidden jewel.
It is located off Main St. in St. Helena in what appears to be a business park ( Although it is in the same building as Pizzeria Tre Vigne which is also the source for room service).
Parking is generally easy to find although it can get busy during business or peak dining times.
The staff was friendly and VERY helpful at check in.
The deluxe room was spacious, as large as most suites in other hotels. With a very high ceiling ( We were on the 2nd floor) and as a result the bathroom was very light and airy.
Like other places we've visited the fireplace added a less than ideal scent from past use and it wasn't something we were going to use on a warm summer evening.
We were busy visiting family and didn't have time to use the spa.
The bed was comfortable and lots of extra pillows were delivered promptly upon request. We enjoyed a wonderful nights sleep.
The location can't be better, you can walk to everything in town.
Because we have family in the area we have stayed in a variety of places throughout the valley. In general we are unimpressed and stay once and don't return. The only exception has been the Harvest Inn, but now Southbridge will be another.

Room Tip: Try the rooms on the 2nd floor, HIGH ceilings and tall windows.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Southbridge Napa Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We love the location, walking distance to all the fun shops and restaurants of St. Helena, and the large rooms. The chocolate covered cookie put out at turndown service should be sold in the giftshop! The spa quite lovely with great services. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast included not so impressive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Surprised at low ranking deserves much more. We visited for husbands' birthday and received complimentary upgrade to the suite ,wine ,chocolates, water and fruit in our room. Couldn't ask for more ,couldn't find fault at all. Room lovely beautiful linens , clean and fresh feel real ,open fire in our lounge. Free access to spa , free parking,complimentary breakfast. Despite other reviews to the contrary, very worthy of small luxury hotels of the world and of similar standard to other small luxury hotels that we have stayed at in Europe. Good location for the wineries and a stroll down Main Street of St Helena. Would return in an instant.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mutlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just arrived in area yesterday and our favorite inn is just like we left it last time, beautiful! If you like France and Italy you will love this small hotel and spa that is situated in a wonderful town of St. Helena. You can't help but to make the comparison looking at the stucco exterior walls that have blooming vines and balconies on the second floor. Walking around town is able to be done by just walking a few yards away. Great help from front desk on things to do and where to go to visit wine tastings. We'll back again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cousj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Southbridge Inn is located in an attractive, interesting complex at the south end of St. Helena, on the east side of Hwy. 29 and the railroad tracks where the Wine Train travels. The nicely landscaped, fountain-filled complex that has a creative mix of older buildings and contemporary ones is home to Southbridge, Tra Vigne restaurant and their separate Pizzeria (which provides the in-room dining for Southbridge), Health Spa Napa Valley, Merryvale Winery, and the small tasting room of Handwritten Winery. We had lunch at Tra Vigne’s Pizzeria and their ravioli and pizza were both fresh and tasty. The excellent location of Southbridge provides guests with an array of dining, wine tasting, and shopping choices. Just walking thru the complex as well of strolling St. Helena’s Main St. is a fun experience.

My choice of Southbridge for lodging was single-minded, however. It’s a sister property of nearby Meadowood Resort and we were celebrating a special occasion with dinner at The Restaurant at Meadowood. I had read on Southbridge’s web site that there was a complimentary car service to and from Meadowood and that seemed ideal for our situation. When I called Southbridge initially, the rep didn’t seem to be fully aware of the car service and I had to pursue the arrangement. All was then taken care of and we had prompt, very congenial service from the Meadowood drivers the night of our dinner. Our dinner was absolutely perfect in every way and we even received a short tour of the kitchen at the end of the evening.

Back to our Southbridge experience: We arrived a couple hours prior to the official check-in time of 4 p.m. and our room was ready. The check-in process was a breeze and the reception staff couldn’t have been warmer or more helpful. This continued throughout our stay. There is ample parking in front of the building with designated parking spaces for inn guests. The exterior of the building has an unembellished, contemporary look. The lobby and reception areas didn’t occupy a large space and possessed a serene ambiance; furnished simply but attractively.

All guest rooms are located on the 2nd floor and there is an elevator if one wants to bypass the stairs. Our room was #11 located about mid-way down the hall in the same building as the lobby. It was a comfortable size (425 sq. ft. according to the description). The vaulted ceiling, French doors and angled wall made the space seem even more airy and spacious. My favorite feature was the little Juliette-style balcony that over looked the courtyard. Trellises and walls were covered with beautiful wisteria--both white and lavender varieties. The vines were quite large and the blossoms’ sweet scent drifting thru the courtyard and into our room when we had the French door open. It was a very special treat! Altho’ our doors faced directly toward busy Hwy. 29, the sound proofing was excellent and only a very soft, muffled sound of traffic could be heard when our French doors were shut. At night--and this seems incredible--I heard no traffic at all because there wasn’t any. I was up at 12:30 a.m. and was gazing out for at least 5 min. and never saw a single vehicle on the highway. Needless to say, sleep was very peaceful.

Furnishings included: King bed, 2 bedstands, a small desk and chair, 2 upholstered arm chairs and a small table, and a large bureau chest with 3 drawers (TV was on top of the chest). I did notice a few small nicks and scrapes on the wooden furniture, but in general things looked well-maintained. Amenities included: Fireplace (not gas, a real one that used pressed logs), large flat panel Sony TV, (2) phones, iPod dock, clock radio, in-room safe, hairdryer, 2 spa robes, single-serve coffeemaker, honor basket with a small selection of snacks, small refrigerator with honor bar liquors, wine (limited selection) and sodas. Complimentary bottled water, 2 chocolate-topped cookies and 2 crisp apples were provided in the room. I have to say that the Illy coffee maker was the most inconvenient and difficult to use in-room machine I can recall ever having. Added to that, I had the ill luck to have popped in a defective coffee cartridge that didn’t puncture, so all I got (twice) was a cup of steaming water. Fortunately, the coffee in the downstairs breakfast room was really good! The wi-fi was spotty at times and I usually had to walk closer to the lobby stairs to get a strong signal. Wi-fi and net connection were free.

Decor and colors were subdued, natural and contemporary. Soft yellows, greens and browns were the predominant colors. Artwork on walls was varied but restrained: B/W vintage-look photographs of vineyards, watercolor prints of rural landscapes, and a mundane map of Napa Valley wineries above the hearth.

There was a rather small closet, made even smaller since it housed the in-room safe. The space would be cramped for hanging clothes if one were staying more than a couple of nights. A single luggage rack and limited hangers were provided.

Not enough electrical outlets were available. I found only one unused outlet in the main area of our room and there were none at desktop level. Multiple devices would need to be charged at the coffee bar or in the bathroom--not exactly convenient. The lamps on the bedstands, desk and small table provided limited light. They really weren’t bright enough for comfortable reading at night. Ceiling spotlights provided overall area lighting.

A wall thermostat controlled heat and A/C. With a minor adjustment, the temperature remained comfortable during our entire stay. The system’s fan was pretty quiet too.

Our bath was fairly small but functional. What took it beyond the ordinary was the 2-story light well with skylight that flooded the room with brightness during the day and made the space seem twice as large as it actually was. At night a wall sconce and a light bar above the counter area provided adequate, even lighting. The wall-mounted magnifying mirror had its own light. The bath had white tile flooring, rustic looking, ochre colored concrete counter and backsplash, and soft yellow painted walls. A couple of patches of paint were chipped/worn and the a floor tile was also chipped. I don’t recall any artwork at all in the bath. There was a standard shower/tub combo (the length of the tub did seem longer than most). A really nice, practical feature was the shower curtain rod which bowed outward, providing much more comfortable space instead of allowing the curtain to press in on you. The water temperature held steady, but the hot setting needed to be turned up to the maximum to achieve a comfortable temperature. Water pressure was borderline due, I assume, to the low-flow showerhead. Counterspace plus a ledge above the toilet was limited, but together provided enough space for storage of our cosmetic/bath items. There wasn’t a manual fan, only ventilation registers, but they got the job done effectively and there was no steam buildup when the shower was used. There was one aggravating thing--the showerhead dripped for a long period of time and the water drops fell directly onto the tub faucet, making a high-pitched tinny sound that resonated thru the entire room. It took a while before I figured out what was causing the annoying sound and stopped it by putting a towel over the faucet.

The next morning we were still pretty full from our superb dinner at Meadowood, but sauntered into the breakfast room (adjacent to the reception area) to avail ourselves of the complimentary Continental breakfast that is set out each morning at 7 a.m. We arrived about 8 a.m. and there were ample amounts of everything: Coffee, orange juice, dry cereal inc. a granola, soy milk as well as regular, hard-boiled eggs (shelled), a very nice assortment of various pastries, muffins, crunch rolls and bagels, and a fruit bowl filled with delicious fresh strawberries and pineapple chunks. I wished that I had been hungrier!

During our brief stay, we walked into the Health Spa located right across from Southbridge’s entrance and took a peek at the outdoor lap pool and the fitness center (both looked inviting). Altho’ we didn’t take advantage of the amenities, Southbridge guests have complimentary access to the pool, whirlpool, steam bath and exercise equipment.

Southbridge’s convenient location, interesting complex, comfortable and quiet rooms, friendly and helpful staff all contributed to our very enjoyable stay. Without a doubt, I would love to go for a return visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It was certainly not a "luxury" hotel but got the job done. I paid for the room prior to my stay but Southbridge charged me again during checkout. Southbridge did recognize the problem and assured me the pending status of the second charge "would not clear my account and to call if there was a problem." Well, there were many problems. I was charged and it took a week and SEVERAL phone calls from both me and my bank before they reversed the charges. Their accounting/billing department is antiquated and they acted as though they were inconvenienced by my persistence in getting this matter handled. It's a nice location but don't stay here! Plus there were ants in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBLafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Southbridge is the place to stay if you are visiting the Napa Valley. It is right one the Main Street in St. Helena and close to everything you would want to do during your stay. Their rooms are amazing and their staff is extraordinarily accommodating. I will be staying here every time I visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
0.9 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
9.1 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
8.8 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#4 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
17.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Napa Valley

Address: 1020 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2011 (Formerly Inn at Southbridge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £193 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbridge Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbridge Napa Valley is located on Main Street in the historic town of St. Helena in the heart of America's most famous wine growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Southbridge Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Southbridge Hotel St. Helena
Southbridge Inn
Southbridge Napa Valley St. Helena, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing