We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
North Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Honeymoon”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Wine Country Inn is on an amazing piece of property nestled in Napa. Honestly, we could not have stayed in a more beautiful location. Driving up to the property is breathtaking. The rooms are older, but well maintained and clean. The decor is quaint and "country" with quilts on the beds. The room is spacious, but I would have liked more room for the bath area. No tv's... But that's not what you come to Napa for, is it? The hot tub was a great way to spend the evening after dinner. Tip: splurge on a room with a private hot tub :) The wine and cheese socials each afternoon are a fun way to meet guests and get ideas for winery visits and dinner plans. Breakfast is amazing! Fresh fruit, granola, waffles, egg casseroles, juices, scones, etc. - the gentleman preparing it and greeting the guests in the morning is so pleasant!

The rest of the staff is nice as well. Deniese (a longtime manager) and her daughter (who basically grew up at the Inn) have a lot of knowledge of the area and can steer you in the right direction. Deniese is very down to earth, and will joke with you and tease. It's not "professional"...but be prepared to be treated like "family". Hugs all around at check out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melis1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    151
    39
    25
    5
See reviews for
67
751
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Wow! This place has beautiful gardens to stroll in, and had lovely views of a vineyward. You can walk to the Silverado trail amidst vineyards. Their breakfast is superb, I looked forward to just that. Also their wine and cheese afternoons were great. We met some fun fellow guests and had good conversations over some very fine cheese and wine. The service is impeccable and friendly. Deniese at the front office was very warm and genuinely welcoming. No phoniness here. Our room was exceptionally beautiful, we had a jacuzzi tub and a balcony overlooking the vineyard, but I think we had taken one of the nicest rooms. The rooms are country style but it seems very slighly outdated, but I think its beautiful regardless, and maybe its the country touch.

Room Tip: room 20/24 have incredible views from the main room and bath. cottages are better but more pricey. b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Selected the Wine Country Inn as a girlfriend get away during a recent visit. Spend quite a bit of time searching and we were very excited for our stay. We were both very dissapointed with our accomodations - especially for the price! The room was very tired looking. The shower curtain was drooping and saggy, the bath was in need of a paint job and incredibly cold and sparce. Used the sleep sofa and had a challenging night's sleep - very uncomfortable!!. Breakfast was just okay. Not at all what we were expecting for the price. The positives - the shuttle was very nice. Hearing a rooster in the distance added charm. Location is good.
We would not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dznr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The Wine Country Inn in St. Helena continues to be our favorite place to stay in the Napa Valley. Between the rooms, the happy hour, the delicious breakfasts, the great location, and the delightful staff - it just never disappoints! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleGrove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My daughter and I jst returned from a short trip to Napa Valley.The turning leaves were spectacular, as is the wine and the food, but only to be topped by our stay at the Wine Country Inn. This was our second visit and we are already planning our return. The inn is in a fabulous location, very qiuet with beautiful views and grounds. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and this time we were upgraded to an amazing cottage which had everything one could ask for.Everything is spotless and every detail is thought of. The breakfast is good and plentiful and there is a wonderful evening wine reception with more goodies and a featured winery each day. All the staff and the managment are superfriendly and make everyone feel right at home. The wine country inn is the best examle why many opt for a smaller inn with the personal attention and care, rather than staying at big hotels. Only one thing we were unhappy about:.......should have stayed longer, a week in that cottage would be heaven!!!!!! Thank you everybody!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirabelleinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were upgraded to one of the cottages and it was perfect! Gorgeous view out the back patio, comfortable bed and bath, large sitting area. The pool was rarely used, the grounds are lovely, breakfast was pleasant. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrostJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

From the moment we arrived, I was impressed by the attention to detail. They had everything you could think of. Great breakfast and wine excursion. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank given2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
907 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#6 of 6 in Yountville
737 reviews
15.7 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing