We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wine Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The staff at the Wine Country Inn sincerely want your stay to be memorable. They greet you warmly, serve wine and substantial hors d'oeuvres every evening, feed you a bountiful breakfast, and offer helpful suggestions about activities. The public areas are comfortable and invite conversations with other guests. Special events, such as honeymoons and anniversaries, are celebrated with romantic surprises.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our king room had a fireplace, small balcony, comfortable reading chairs, and lovely views over the vineyards and hills. A hot tub and pool are a short walk from the main building through terraced gardens. Free WiFi is available.

Our only disappointment was that the promised ride to dinner was canceled because several staff members called in sick.

Room Tip: Specify fireplace, whirlpool tub, or view if any of those is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    143
    37
    24
    4
See reviews for
65
718
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Wine Country Inn is on an amazing piece of property nestled in Napa. Honestly, we could not have stayed in a more beautiful location. Driving up to the property is breathtaking. The rooms are older, but well maintained and clean. The decor is quaint and "country" with quilts on the beds. The room is spacious, but I would have liked more room for the bath area. No tv's... But that's not what you come to Napa for, is it? The hot tub was a great way to spend the evening after dinner. Tip: splurge on a room with a private hot tub :) The wine and cheese socials each afternoon are a fun way to meet guests and get ideas for winery visits and dinner plans. Breakfast is amazing! Fresh fruit, granola, waffles, egg casseroles, juices, scones, etc. - the gentleman preparing it and greeting the guests in the morning is so pleasant!

The rest of the staff is nice as well. Deniese (a longtime manager) and her daughter (who basically grew up at the Inn) have a lot of knowledge of the area and can steer you in the right direction. Deniese is very down to earth, and will joke with you and tease. It's not "professional"...but be prepared to be treated like "family". Hugs all around at check out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melis1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Wow! This place has beautiful gardens to stroll in, and had lovely views of a vineyward. You can walk to the Silverado trail amidst vineyards. Their breakfast is superb, I looked forward to just that. Also their wine and cheese afternoons were great. We met some fun fellow guests and had good conversations over some very fine cheese and wine. The service is impeccable and friendly. Deniese at the front office was very warm and genuinely welcoming. No phoniness here. Our room was exceptionally beautiful, we had a jacuzzi tub and a balcony overlooking the vineyard, but I think we had taken one of the nicest rooms. The rooms are country style but it seems very slighly outdated, but I think its beautiful regardless, and maybe its the country touch.

Room Tip: room 20/24 have incredible views from the main room and bath. cottages are better but more pricey. b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Selected the Wine Country Inn as a girlfriend get away during a recent visit. Spend quite a bit of time searching and we were very excited for our stay. We were both very dissapointed with our accomodations - especially for the price! The room was very tired looking. The shower curtain was drooping and saggy, the bath was in need of a paint job and incredibly cold and sparce. Used the sleep sofa and had a challenging night's sleep - very uncomfortable!!. Breakfast was just okay. Not at all what we were expecting for the price. The positives - the shuttle was very nice. Hearing a rooster in the distance added charm. Location is good.
We would not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dznr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

The Wine Country Inn in St. Helena continues to be our favorite place to stay in the Napa Valley. Between the rooms, the happy hour, the delicious breakfasts, the great location, and the delightful staff - it just never disappoints! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleGrove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

My daughter and I jst returned from a short trip to Napa Valley.The turning leaves were spectacular, as is the wine and the food, but only to be topped by our stay at the Wine Country Inn. This was our second visit and we are already planning our return. The inn is in a fabulous location, very qiuet with beautiful views and grounds. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and this time we were upgraded to an amazing cottage which had everything one could ask for.Everything is spotless and every detail is thought of. The breakfast is good and plentiful and there is a wonderful evening wine reception with more goodies and a featured winery each day. All the staff and the managment are superfriendly and make everyone feel right at home. The wine country inn is the best examle why many opt for a smaller inn with the personal attention and care, rather than staying at big hotels. Only one thing we were unhappy about:.......should have stayed longer, a week in that cottage would be heaven!!!!!! Thank you everybody!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirabelleinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were upgraded to one of the cottages and it was perfect! Gorgeous view out the back patio, comfortable bed and bath, large sitting area. The pool was rarely used, the grounds are lovely, breakfast was pleasant. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrostJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
19.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
19.2 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Property: The Wine Country Inn
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself I romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing