We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This Inn is worth the trip. The staff is so helpful and knowledgeable. The local recommendations for food are excellent. The free shuttle they provide is wonderful. The breakfast spread is not your ordinary continental breakfast- it goes well beyond that. And the evening wine tasting and snacks are fabulous (with their recipes on hand if you have food allergies, or a love for the dish and hope to recreate it at home). The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable...but the lower floor is noisy if there is an occupied room above. The sound carries through the floor well enough to make conversations nearly understandable, bathroom events obvious, and late night returns as if they were live in your room. I LOVE this spot, and would return in a heartbeat ~ but I would stay on the upper most floor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLea178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

This Inn has a beautiful location and sells itself as a romantic getaway... but the reality was a bit mixed. Our room was large and nicely furnished. When we settled in for the night and lit the fire we realized that the bed is so high that you can't see or enjoy the fire from bed. It was cold out, but keeping the fire stoked kept the room nice and warm, however by morning the baseboard heater couldn't keep the room comfortable. While the bedding was lovely, the blankets were heavy and not nearly warm enough, we both woke up chilled.
Then the bathroom - it had a large jacuzzi tub - nice! But the room was fully tiled in a cold, pure white and the room was really chilly with no heater (obviously not a problem in the summer.) But the only lighting option was two very bright ceiling lights - not even a dimmer. We had to buy a candle in the shop to get any sort of pleasant lighting going.
Then the breakfast - lots of sweet and rich options but there wasn't a single whole-grain bread choice to be found, though there was granola. Definitely not a healthy food vibe.
The staff was friendly but couldn't make up for the odd mixed-message this Inn gave out.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank wsk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

What a great suggestion--to install a dimmer in the bathroom! Thank you. We are now in the process of installing a dimmer this week. In fact, we loved your suggestion so much that we are doing the same with six other rooms. We work very hard to make sure all the details are in place for our guests, and in this case, we missed this detail. Thanks again for the great suggestion, and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We were on a road trip and had no place to stay, and we just bumped into this lovely place. We couldn´t be more satisfied with the choice. The room was big and cozy. The breakfast is amazing and the staff is just adorable. The prize was good as well. I would really recommend this!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhovik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 44th anniversary here. From the moment that we walked into the lobby late Friday evening, we knew it would be a very special weekend. The staff was marvelous, breakfasts exquisite and the wine tasting Saturday afternoon was fun.
We were lucky enough to be able to stay in one of the cottages.
You can't go too far wrong when you wake up and look out your bedroom window and see a vineyard.
What a lovely property! We got a kick out of the spa and were very grateful for the bathrobes that kept us warm.

Room Tip: The cottages are where to stay. Only three of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I had been planning a wedding proposal and was thinking of Sedona, AZ as I had picturesque memories from a prior visit. Then, I came across a travel deal from SniqueAway.com for a quaint little B&B named Wine Country Inn in Napa Valley. I had always wanted to visit Napa and we both love wine, so I gave it a closer look. It didn't take long after perusing their web site to feel confident that I had found the ideal location. I booked the trip and after a few months of anticipation, off we went. We flew into San Francisco and drove to the inn. As soon as we stepped out of the rental car, we were immediately captivated by the beautiful grounds and the smell of wildflowers and fresh herbs. My girlfriend let out a sigh of satisfaction that immediately told me I had made the right choice. When they showed us to our room, complete with a window seat and balcony overlooking perfectly landscaped grounds with a wine vineyard and mountains as a backdrop, I smiled with an overwhelming sense of satisfaction.

From the minute we arrived, the staff was friendly, genuine and very hospitable. After we checked in, I snuck down to the lobby to grab a bottle of wine and, more importantly, set the stage for the big event. When I told them what was planned and asked to have a bottle of champagne ready in the room the next night, they offered a rose petal turn down at no extra charge. They acted as friends who had known us for years and were thrilled to be involved in the event.

I couldn't have planned the weekend more perfectly. From the terrific breakfast each morning, to the afternoon happy hours with a different winery featured each day to the terrific staff that will go out of their way to make your trip memorable, it's hard to imagine a better setting for a proposal. In case you haven't figured it out already, it was a resounding YES.

Throw in the free transportation they provide to all the local restaurants and the close proximity to all that Napa Valley has to offer and you have the perfect romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ESDPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This is where you want to stay if you want to do some wonderful wineries in Napa/Sonoma and etc. You can get to just about everywhere from here. I was not initially keen on staying in a "B&B" type of a place. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how amazing this place is.

First of all, make SURE you do the 4:30 wine tasting and appetizers the Inn puts out every day. We had never visited wineries so we wanted to hit one the first day of arrival with only an hour left. We paid a ton of money trying to hit a winery before it closed and could have just stayed right in our own wonderful Inn for free and had just as much fun.

If you are new to wineries, I highly recommend you do the "Inn Wine Excursion" tour they offer right through the Inn. Marty is your tour guide, and we absolutely LOVED it. It was $200 for the two of us, but you get 4-5 wineries, a fabulous lunch and private wine tours. Marty is able to take you where the general public does not go. You will do small wineries and of course larger ones. He tailors it to whatever you want. Plus the lunch is really gourmet and delicious--and he makes it right back at the Inn for you. We had so much fun on it, we booked it for a second day with him. We told him we wanted all different wineries, so that is what he did. Worth every penny and we bought tons of wine. Marty hauls it all back to the Inn and the Inn will conveniently ship it all out at the end of your stay.

The breakfast they put out each day is totally delicious as well. I love that they have a recipe box where you can grab the recipe of something if you really liked it. I am hoping I can duplicate some of the great dips they put out at the "happy hour" each night.

The staff is so friendly and will accommodate your every need. We wanted to do something fun on my birthday, so they planned out a little day trip for us. We went to the Armstrong woods and the Korbel winery and it was perfect.

The Inn also has a great FREE shuttle you definitely want to take advantage of to go out to eat at night. They have a list of all the AMAZING restaurants they go to. The shuttle is there for you and you just call when you want a pick up--so easy. It is a plush vehicle they use too, so don't think you are riding in an uncomfortable truck. One thing I didn't know, is the food out there is another hidden treasure. Ask the locals what they recommend, you will end up somewhere GREAT for sure.

The room we had was really nice and had a giant hot tub in the bathroom which we loved. It was spacious with an extra couch, mini fridge, and a porch with a beautiful view.

We loved this place so much, we will definitely go back. We are so thankful our travel agent sent us here.

It is right in the heart of wine country, is not some rinky dink B&B like you may picture with mom and pop working it, and is definitely a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlumberPartyDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just beyond Beringer Winery on the way to Calistoga. This gorgeous country villa was warm, cozy and gave the best service we have experienced in Napa Valley. The unpretentious chef Ryan, came through time and again with elegant high quality food offerings. They have a nice new large shut tle that takes you to most surrounding restaurants. We had a room with a view and a fireplace. Rose petals on the bed, wine and brownies waiting when you opened the door. Got even better. Very romantic, try stormy weather. Hot tub is cool deal.

Room Tip: rooms with fireplaces, regardless of floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDogCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,440 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
5.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £194 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing