We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We chose this Inn because it was actually right next to a vineyard. From the time we stepped into the Inn and was greeted by Inn Keeper Tim to the time we had to drive away 2 days later, we could not have asked for a better experience. Our room was one of the "small" ones but certainly big enough. The patios were great for sharing a bottle of wine with your honey. They had wine to purchase at the Inn that was one the best we tasted even at the tastings at the other wineries. Good recommendations from the innkeeper. The afternoon wine tastings and snacks were fun and gave you another chance to enjoy the view. Oh, and their chef was awesome! They grow their own vegetables and use them in very intriguing ways. The egg/zucchini/sun dried tomato bake covered with a tomato based sauce that we had for breakfast was out of this world. Had to go back for seconds. They have a shuttle to all the restaurants in town so getting to and from was easy and we didn't have top worry about parking. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank TheToyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Terry, thank you very much for the very kind words about your recent stay. It was a pleasure hosting Cliff and yourself. I really enjoyed our chats about food/wine, etc. And whew--I was pleased that Chef Ryan passed the "guacamole test" as the bar was set very high by you two Texans! We hope to see you both again soon. Cheers,
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

So glad WCI was recommended to us, it was the perfect place for us to stay. Super friendly staff, beautiful grounds, fantastic breakfasts (lots to choose from) and daily wine tasting (with more yummy food!). The right-size property and overall cozy feel (loved the wood floors) of the Inn made it hard to leave! They run an excellent 'ship'!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AddisonGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Absolutely loved this place! Super friendly staff, beautiful grounds, and fantastic breakfasts! Truly enjoyed the daily wine tasting and meeting new people during that time. The free shuttle service to local restaurants is so helpful, so that you can enjoy wine during your meal. The setting of the pool/hot tub is beautiful. The overall cozy feel of the Inn made it hard to leave! They have thought of everything!! We will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We discovered The Wine Country Inn in 1995 and have been going back ever since. We love it! The staff is so friendly and completely dedicated to making every guest's visit special. Ryan's breakfasts are sumptuous and a great way to start the day. The afternoon wine tastings are really fun--great hors d'oeuvres, great wine and great company!! The accommodations are inviting and always comfortable--try the cottages as well as the rooms; they're all beautiful!! The views are spectacular, but you needn't look any further than the front door for the most vibrant and lovingly designed gardens and landscaping. There are great restaurants for all kinds of dining, and The Wine Country Inn will provide the transportation. Janelle will do the driving, and she’ll make sure you will have the fun. All of this and more is masterfully orchestrated by Tim, the General Manager, who will make sure your visit is unforgettable! It just doesn't get better than this!

Room Tip: Definitely try the cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Barbara, THANK YOU for the very, very kind words regarding your recent stay at The Wine Country Inn. It is always a pleasure to host such wonderful people as yourself and Jim. Personally, I enjoy chatting with you two about restaurants (Mustards, Market, Goose and Gander, etc.) and of course, wineries (Bennett Lane, that Hunter III cab that we carry that you all tried, etc.). We will see you both again that same week next August. And if you two do want to sneak out again in February as we discussed, you have my email and phone number to help with arrangements as needed. Cheers!
Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A comfortable room with all the amenities one could desire. A view of paradise from our balcony and a staff dedicated to creating a memorable stay..........transportation to area restaurants for dinner is a courtesy provided with the cost of your room....what a pleasure to be able to dine and not be concerned about the ride home.....providing sample menus was well appreciated and helped us make our restaurant selection.....the afternoon wine tasting gave us the opportunity to meet other guests and the atmosphere lends itself casual conversations....our first visit and it will not be our last

Room Tip: The Brandy Barn provides privacy with easy access to all the amenities...pool, main house....love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have been to the Wine Country Inn a couple of times. I don't know that we will ever stay anywhere else in wine country. We have stayed in the regular rooms and the individual cottages. The accommodations have always been superb. I must say though that the number one reason that we live the Wine Country Inn is the staff. They are simply amazing in every aspect from breakfast to shuttle services to the guided tours they cannot be out done. The atmosphere at the Inn has also led us to meet and become friends with other couples on each and every occasion. What else can I say? We LOVE it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgruett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was our second stay, and the friendliness of the staff, the service, and the buffet breakfast and late afyernoon wine tastings

with hors d'oeurves were outstanding, along with the vineyard views from our room and the inn. The grounds are kept up beautifully. We'll go back the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medstar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,076 reviews
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
758 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,081 reviews
5.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £215 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing